User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 421 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 85 out of 421

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Manny
    Jan 2, 2006
    4
    The Grand Theft Auto games for the Playstation 2 were all flawed masterpieces. For the most part, the oddly unresponsive and wonky controls were made up for by an innovative open ended world and lots of things to do. Unfortunately, I can't say the same about this new mini version. First of all, the controls have been made even worse--partly because of the ridiculous analog pad, and The Grand Theft Auto games for the Playstation 2 were all flawed masterpieces. For the most part, the oddly unresponsive and wonky controls were made up for by an innovative open ended world and lots of things to do. Unfortunately, I can't say the same about this new mini version. First of all, the controls have been made even worse--partly because of the ridiculous analog pad, and partly because the controls are even more unresponsive and troublesome than before. This might be excusable if they were able to bring the gamplay to the small screen intact, but that's just not the case. Sure, the mindless violence is here, and you'll have fun for a while messing around in Liberty City, but the game is more limited and the missions blander. Not only that, but it's also more uneven. some parts are too hard and many too easy. Expand
  2. Spyhunter
    Nov 1, 2005
    2
    The camaera bugs out on me when I shoot.
  3. DonkeyKong
    Nov 1, 2005
    3
    Shallow and repetitive. This was not a very good personal introduction to the series.
  4. Katjya
    Nov 7, 2005
    3
    Proves once and for all that any version of a 3D Grand Theft Auto will get high score no matter how flawed.. I find it hard to believe that none of the problems have been fixed from previous games : ( They should have made a new, smaller city and focused on mayhem, not story and made the characters control better. This is just a rehash to make money and I'm ashamed to have bought it.
  5. J.G.
    Nov 6, 2005
    0
    They need dual analogs. The whole series was built around it, so you can't just port it to a system that doesn't let you use two analog sticks.
  6. alwaysright
    Dec 8, 2005
    4
    Hmm, I'm glad to see the reviewers who waited to post their reviews (AKA, those who actually spent some time with it...) are giving some more realistic marks to this mediocre game. Of my 12 PSP games, I actually play this one the least, and it's one of the reasons I bought the PSP. Look past the graphics and you'll see a game that suffers from floaty gameplay and a boring story.
  7. Sep 6, 2013
    4
    la historia de este juego es poco especial y prohiben mas cosas que en el primero siendo que grand theft auto se destaca por el espacio de juego y la comodidad en este un mala hazaƱa por parte de Rockstar games
  8. Jun 9, 2014
    0
    Some things are good, but poor plot bad characters, and not up to standard with other gta games

    dawdawdawdawdawdawdawdawdawdawdawdawdawdawdawdawddwwswsw
  9. Fred
    Nov 9, 2005
    3
    "Older gamers have usually shunned them [Ed: Again, how do you figure?]" It's a fact. Market research has shown most older games prefer spending their freetime outside the home doing things other than playing video games, while kids bring their gameboys to school or wherever they are forced to go. this is why sony had to sweeten the deal with media functions And This is why"Older gamers have usually shunned them [Ed: Again, how do you figure?]" It's a fact. Market research has shown most older games prefer spending their freetime outside the home doing things other than playing video games, while kids bring their gameboys to school or wherever they are forced to go. this is why sony had to sweeten the deal with media functions And This is why Nintendo has had so much success with games like pokemon. Which brings me back to my first point: this game is not appropriate for a handheld system. It's akin to putting adult content on the Disney channel. Expand
  10. D.W.
    Oct 25, 2005
    4
    I've been playing for a few days and there are like 3 missions that I liked, the rest are really bad. and what's up with the battery life? sony needs to release a better battery if they're going to keep making games like this.
  11. JasonL.
    Oct 25, 2005
    3
    LCS is the definition of a rehash. It adds nothing new and does everything WORSE than the console games.
  12. GregS.
    Oct 26, 2005
    4
    People seem to be giving this game good reviews because it's a handheld game. but if rockstar wants us to think its as good as the console versions, then im going to judge it like a console game. The controls are bad. Really bad. And there aren't enough good missions.
  13. SonyGaming
    Oct 28, 2005
    3
    The "free roming" aspects are toned down. this game is good to pick up and play for a few minutes to play through a mission or two. You'll get bored with it after a few days, though. I sure did.
  14. BillyBraggBint
    Oct 30, 2005
    1
    An immeasurably clumsy, glitchy mess of a videogame. Persistance is necessary; I found it hard to fight the urge to turn this off for a very long time. And then I did. Don't believe the hype, kids. This sucks.
  15. Dylan
    Oct 30, 2005
    4
    Wow, the "pros" really overrated this one. Everyone I know who is a GTA fan has already gone back to San Andreas. The controls are terrible! And none of the missions are as cool as any in VC or SA. This happens all the time--the media hypes a game to death, then to save face, they give it a high score. In a month, they're all going to run stories asking why we're not buying this Wow, the "pros" really overrated this one. Everyone I know who is a GTA fan has already gone back to San Andreas. The controls are terrible! And none of the missions are as cool as any in VC or SA. This happens all the time--the media hypes a game to death, then to save face, they give it a high score. In a month, they're all going to run stories asking why we're not buying this game. I think gamers are smart and know a watered-down hack job when they see one. Expand
  16. falcom
    Nov 6, 2005
    2
    this one is like a bad ripoff game, Its not even made by the same folks who made the GTA games. If this didn't have the Grand Theft name nobody would buy it. I'm ashamed I did. GOod thing gamestop gave me lots of money for it. I'll put it towards Legend of Heroes, which should be sweeet.
  17. Madmouse
    Nov 6, 2005
    3
    Kudos for trying. they fit the whole city in the little psp. too bad it wasnt up to the task. framerates drop and the camera blows. and the little nub isnt good for driving.
  18. Bloom
    Nov 6, 2005
    3
    Let's be honest here. THis isn't the same as the other GTA games. Nearly everything is scaled back. Once the awe of playing this game on the PSP wears away, you're left with a game that is seriously lacking in a lot of categories. Gameplay, for example. I thought the controls when you are driving were fine, but shooting and walking around is pathetic. And the person who Let's be honest here. THis isn't the same as the other GTA games. Nearly everything is scaled back. Once the awe of playing this game on the PSP wears away, you're left with a game that is seriously lacking in a lot of categories. Gameplay, for example. I thought the controls when you are driving were fine, but shooting and walking around is pathetic. And the person who made the save points should be banished from making games ever again. I don't want to leave my PSP on all night just to keep my position. Expand
  19. FredD.
    Nov 6, 2005
    3
    Since an editor found the need to insert comment into my READER review, I think I should explain more clearly. I do think that handhelds are marketed to a younger group than console. Older gamers have usually shunned them, and that's why Sony tried to woo them with media features. Still, the average PSP owner is younger than a PS2 owner, and that's why I think this game isSince an editor found the need to insert comment into my READER review, I think I should explain more clearly. I do think that handhelds are marketed to a younger group than console. Older gamers have usually shunned them, and that's why Sony tried to woo them with media features. Still, the average PSP owner is younger than a PS2 owner, and that's why I think this game is innapropriate. I dread to think how many underage kids are getting ahold of this game. And if the PSP owner is also a PS2 owner, why would he or she need this game? It's a new story, but it's the same city. And you do most of the same things. Expand
  20. Strated
    Nov 7, 2005
    3
    I bought this game for the online stuff, but am disappointed. rockstar doesn;t even seem to care that their servers suck.
  21. ChrisB.
    Oct 25, 2005
    1
    Hmm...it sounds like we should all be going for Virtua Tennis instead...that game seems oodles more fun!
  22. Horatio
    Oct 25, 2005
    4
    Why this game is getting good scores is beyond me. i guess these professional game reviewers forgot about gameplay and are impressed with the graphics.
  23. Squigly
    Oct 27, 2005
    3
    Let's get one thing out of the way...this aint the GTA you are used to. Liberty Citry Stories means well, but it just doesn't FEEL like the other games. You are limited in playing "cops n robbers" like in the older games, so all you have to do after a while is do the missions, which have bad writing and bad controls.
  24. PaulClarke
    Oct 27, 2005
    4
    First things first. It ain't a "free roaming game" - There simply isn't anywhere you want to roam.

    Second the control method is not very good. Wear your wrist strap if on the move when playing this. ONe oway or another you'll drop your PSP when trying to get your head around the dodgy controls Battery life isn't really an issue. For less than 20 quid i got a
    First things first. It ain't a "free roaming game" - There simply isn't anywhere you want to roam.

    Second the control method is not very good. Wear your wrist strap if on the move when playing this. ONe oway or another you'll drop your PSP when trying to get your head around the dodgy controls

    Battery life isn't really an issue. For less than 20 quid i got a replacement battery (as well as other stuff) and the game lasts nearly 4 hours with it. Even newer batteries with (supposedly) twice the capacity again are available. Battery life is no more of an issue with this than with most other PSP games

    Finally, missions are not up to the standard of GTA3 never mind its successors. Quick and boring.

    Overall. Dissapointing. MAybe I would think better of it if it wasn't GTA. But my expactations certainly have not been met (and they were realistic - i know the PSP isn't going to complete with my £1800 PC and San Andreas, or even the PS2) - but to fall this far short is not what I was expecting

    Shame
    Expand
  25. Simplered
    Dec 8, 2005
    4
    This decent, open-ended game is utterly ruined by controls that are just below passable. If you struggled with the controls of the console games, watch out, this one's ten times worse. The analog stick (or whatever it is) isn't up to the task of controling running and driving. They tried to fix the aiming, but it's kinda wonky.
  26. TerryP.
    Oct 29, 2005
    1
    I've never played a Grand Theft Auto game before. Not my thing, I guess. But the recent game drought for the PSP left me with no choice. I've heard good things about the series, so I gave it a try. Big mistake. The "story," if you can call it that is stupid and insulting in many ways. The game lets you roam around and do stuff, but you are still very limited, and the various I've never played a Grand Theft Auto game before. Not my thing, I guess. But the recent game drought for the PSP left me with no choice. I've heard good things about the series, so I gave it a try. Big mistake. The "story," if you can call it that is stupid and insulting in many ways. The game lets you roam around and do stuff, but you are still very limited, and the various events are too scripted and simple (jack a car, kill these people, etc). I like the open-ended gameplay, but it's just not implemented well in this game. Expand
  27. Rockstar
    Oct 29, 2005
    4
    A watered-down version of the popular franchise. Liberty City Stories gets all the small things right, but leaves out the fun. I'm actually forcing myself to play this game, because I spent $300 on a PSP just for this game. It's so repetitive that I don't even want to play it for more than a half hour at a time. Every one of the mission has you doing just one thing. And the A watered-down version of the popular franchise. Liberty City Stories gets all the small things right, but leaves out the fun. I'm actually forcing myself to play this game, because I spent $300 on a PSP just for this game. It's so repetitive that I don't even want to play it for more than a half hour at a time. Every one of the mission has you doing just one thing. And the story is the worst of all the GTA games. Expand
  28. ToddL.
    Oct 29, 2005
    4
    The problems with the targeting system needed to be ironed out. You shoot some old grandma when you're aiming at the bad guys. Any game that doesn't do what you want it to do gets annoying real quick. I think the free roam aspects are good, though. And to Liam, who said it's "unfair to compare this with a console version," it was Rockstar who originally said it was The problems with the targeting system needed to be ironed out. You shoot some old grandma when you're aiming at the bad guys. Any game that doesn't do what you want it to do gets annoying real quick. I think the free roam aspects are good, though. And to Liam, who said it's "unfair to compare this with a console version," it was Rockstar who originally said it was everything the console versions are. They invited the comparisons. Expand
  29. TrevorH.
    Oct 31, 2005
    1
    One word: buggy. Sometimes, the game just keeps loading, without starting. The screen will go black at strange times, like when you're trying to aim. And there the polygons go crazy sometimes. No thank you.
  30. Nissen
    Oct 31, 2005
    4
    After struggling with the controls for this game for a few days, I'm about to give up. And I've been playing Vice City since it came out! Sometimes you mess up just because the damn game shot someone you didn't want to be shot.
  31. Katja
    Oct 31, 2005
    3
    Rockstar leeds continues to mangle rockstar games on the PSP. First they release midnight club with its horrible loading times and now they do a new gta set in the exact same city as gta3. but they forgot the fun! where's the crazy action? everytime it gets exciting the framerate goes down! do your fans a favor, rockstar, leave the 3d gta games on the ps2.
  32. GuyAbbott
    Jan 9, 2006
    3
    Dont buy a psp because the games are quite sub-par and u shuld definity not by one just to play liberty citie stories, its just a capatilist ploy devised by sony to make u buy the PSP,why should you give in to them?
    Hopefully sombody creates a modified pc version and freely destibutes it to everybody,you may call this communisim but actulay its freedom!!!!!
    !Power To The People! Guy
    Dont buy a psp because the games are quite sub-par and u shuld definity not by one just to play liberty citie stories, its just a capatilist ploy devised by sony to make u buy the PSP,why should you give in to them?
    Hopefully sombody creates a modified pc version and freely destibutes it to everybody,you may call this communisim but actulay its freedom!!!!!
    !Power To The People!
    Guy Abbott-New Zealand
    Expand
  33. Nydas
    Nov 1, 2005
    4
    Reading the reviews, it seems that people, even the professional reviewers, see the same problems as I do. There are only three places you can save and that gets to be a problem when you want to shut the game off. And the PSP's analog nub leaves a lot to be desired. But I'm not going to overlook all this just because it's a handheld game. I bought the PSP for Reading the reviews, it seems that people, even the professional reviewers, see the same problems as I do. There are only three places you can save and that gets to be a problem when you want to shut the game off. And the PSP's analog nub leaves a lot to be desired. But I'm not going to overlook all this just because it's a handheld game. I bought the PSP for console-quality games in the palm of my hand, not watered down trash. Expand
  34. RayM
    Nov 27, 2005
    0
    This game gets a 0, here's why:

    I picked this up in an airport, really psyched to play it. Was headed home for Thanksgiving with my PSP. The price was a bit inflated because it was an airport shop, but I figured it would be worth it to while away the 5 hour flight plus the wait in the airport and the rides and down time at home and the trip back. I put the disc in, and it told
    This game gets a 0, here's why:

    I picked this up in an airport, really psyched to play it. Was headed home for Thanksgiving with my PSP. The price was a bit inflated because it was an airport shop, but I figured it would be worth it to while away the 5 hour flight plus the wait in the airport and the rides and down time at home and the trip back.

    I put the disc in, and it told me I needed a system update to play it! If I weren't in an airport, I might have flipped out, but I didn't want to get dragged away by security. It said *nowhere* on the package that it required any specific version of firmware. It should be *required* to put that information on the box. Even if I could find a networked computer in the airport, I hadn't brought my USB connector. So I ended up dropping $59 on a game that I couldn't even end up playing.

    I couldn't return it because I'd opened it, but I wouldn't have opened it (or even bought it in the first place) if the package had informed me the update was requird.

    Lame. Just plane lame.
    Expand
  35. Suzanne
    Nov 4, 2005
    2
    Lame, lame, lame. How could they do this to my Grand Theft Auto? This has got to be the worst story ever in a game, and the main character is pathetic. He was even pathetic when he was a minor character in GTA3. There is almost nothing to do that hasnt already been done in the series and everything is done half-assed (oh wait, it's never been done on a screen so small! Big deal!). At Lame, lame, lame. How could they do this to my Grand Theft Auto? This has got to be the worst story ever in a game, and the main character is pathetic. He was even pathetic when he was a minor character in GTA3. There is almost nothing to do that hasnt already been done in the series and everything is done half-assed (oh wait, it's never been done on a screen so small! Big deal!). At the very least they could have made a new city, but no...this should have been a $15 expansion pack for the PC version, not a reason to buy a $250 handheld. Expand
  36. FredD.
    Nov 6, 2005
    3
    From a christian perspective, let me tell you this game is trash. Never have I seen violence glorified on a gaming machine meant for kids. [Ed: Dubious assumption?] Handhelds are supposed to be for the younger set. [Ed: How so?] Morals aside, I found this game to be fun for a few hours...but I prefer a game with real design, not this "do anything you want" stuff. Shooting people and From a christian perspective, let me tell you this game is trash. Never have I seen violence glorified on a gaming machine meant for kids. [Ed: Dubious assumption?] Handhelds are supposed to be for the younger set. [Ed: How so?] Morals aside, I found this game to be fun for a few hours...but I prefer a game with real design, not this "do anything you want" stuff. Shooting people and running people over isn't fun. Sorry Expand
  37. Plato
    Nov 6, 2005
    1
    Woooooow this game looks good. Until it starts moving! The game gets jerky as hell and the blurriness hurts my eyes! there are lots of glitches graphicically too, like things disappearing and clipping issues.
  38. TouchDS
    Nov 6, 2005
    0
    It's the same as the other games. on a small screen. would be better with innovative touch technology.
  39. Strandedinmadison
    Nov 6, 2005
    1
    I went on a trip with this game and after three hours of playing it the battery died...i had to wait for the end of my 7 hourt bus ride to charge again. james, i did the math and you do not get 20 hours on one charge. have some of you people not even played the game?
  40. DSesDaddy
    Nov 6, 2005
    3
    Strange they used "Stories" in the title, because this is the weakest GTA story ever. Who cares about toni????I didn't want to advance the story, just mess around. I guess these games are good for that after a while.
  41. GirlGamer
    Oct 26, 2005
    4
    Being on a handheld is no excuse for being a bad game. LCS is just the worst game in the series since GTA3. I had prolems with the controls and stuff, sure, but what really kills this game is that it was made to be played in short intervals. That's fine (especially since the Battery life leaves much to be desired) but best part of GTA was spending hours on the interesting misisons Being on a handheld is no excuse for being a bad game. LCS is just the worst game in the series since GTA3. I had prolems with the controls and stuff, sure, but what really kills this game is that it was made to be played in short intervals. That's fine (especially since the Battery life leaves much to be desired) but best part of GTA was spending hours on the interesting misisons and random action. LCS strips most of the fun out of the games. The reviewers saying this game is just like the PS2 games must not be noticing how sparse the islands are and how damn short the mission are. Expand
  42. JaretM.
    Oct 26, 2005
    3
    I can't get used to the controls. what's the point?
  43. EricS.
    Oct 28, 2005
    1
    Rockstar took out all the things that made Vice City and San Andreas, and we were left with a GTA III (by far the worst of the last 3 installments) clone. I didn't expect it to be quite on par with the console versions in terms of content, but they should have compensated for this by putting in something new. Oh, and the taxi system is useless because you lose all your weapons. Rockstar took out all the things that made Vice City and San Andreas, and we were left with a GTA III (by far the worst of the last 3 installments) clone. I didn't expect it to be quite on par with the console versions in terms of content, but they should have compensated for this by putting in something new. Oh, and the taxi system is useless because you lose all your weapons. Don't listen to the reviews. There are certain series that the critics automatically assign high ratings to, regardless of quality and GTA is one of them. Wait for the next console installment. Expand
  44. Kaplan
    Oct 29, 2005
    2
    The controls are real floaty, and using the d-pad to aim is weird. And how are you supposed to move the camera while running? I appreciate the effort, but maybe they could have put more thought into the gameplay.
  45. MichaelL.
    Oct 31, 2005
    4
    I've been looking forward to this game for a long time, but I'm having a hard time getting much enjoyment from it for several reasons. First of all, they need more save points! This is a MAJOR problem since it's a portable game. Second, the controls are iffy. I hate the new targeting system and the camera is hard to manage. Besides these problems, it's the same old I've been looking forward to this game for a long time, but I'm having a hard time getting much enjoyment from it for several reasons. First of all, they need more save points! This is a MAJOR problem since it's a portable game. Second, the controls are iffy. I hate the new targeting system and the camera is hard to manage. Besides these problems, it's the same old GTA. Nothing is really added to the series to make veterans like myself come back for more. Expand
  46. MansourMansour
    Nov 26, 2005
    0
    Psssss. Save your money, you truly don't need a head ache. This game to me was bought as a presant from my beloved mom :) I played it for abour approxamately 25 min. when my batterry went out. Good thing the battery was low because the game sucked more than a vaccum in a desert. Seriously it's like playing as a drunk, no controll. Story has problems, and many glitches in thePsssss. Save your money, you truly don't need a head ache. This game to me was bought as a presant from my beloved mom :) I played it for abour approxamately 25 min. when my batterry went out. Good thing the battery was low because the game sucked more than a vaccum in a desert. Seriously it's like playing as a drunk, no controll. Story has problems, and many glitches in the game. This game has made a clown of me <@:)
    It's hard for me to rate a GTA game that harshly, i thought that this day was never going to come:(
    Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 65 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 65
  2. Negative: 0 out of 65
  1. As a value proposition, there's nothing on PSP that comes close. It's a gigantic game; the core gameplay will probably take you 40 or 50 hours to get through, and it has 33 additional "games" that have the potential to occupy you another five or even 10 hours, if you really want to push it.
  2. Although flawed, Liberty City Stories is a remarkable achievement; it shames the efforts that many other developers have put into their PSP games.
  3. 90
    While rough around the edges, Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories offers a deep, console-like GTA experience. There's so much to see and do that finishing the main story portion leaves around 60% of the game to experience.