User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 461 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 85 out of 461
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. HarryD.
    Oct 30, 2006
    10
    Its an awesome game with great graphics. I'm suprised that they could fit such a good game on that small disc.
  2. JamesF.
    Nov 5, 2005
    9
    Without a doubt one of the best handheld games I have played, a true return to form for GTA. It feels like a trip back to the old skool rules of GTA3. I see many have complained about the controls, I see no problem with them, it all feels fluid and cars drive like a dream. Ok so sometimes you might shoot a fat granny instead of a theiving pimp, but I cant recall a GTA where that Without a doubt one of the best handheld games I have played, a true return to form for GTA. It feels like a trip back to the old skool rules of GTA3. I see many have complained about the controls, I see no problem with them, it all feels fluid and cars drive like a dream. Ok so sometimes you might shoot a fat granny instead of a theiving pimp, but I cant recall a GTA where that doesn't happen. Great fun, get it and cause havoc till ya eyes bleed. Expand
  3. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    It is even better than Grand Theft Auto III because you can play this game on the go on your PSP. It is mostly the same as GTA3, but there is little wrong with that.
  4. DonNoddy
    Nov 7, 2005
    10
    The first game for adult gamers on the move. Who on earth wants to rub and talk to their game machine in public, and forever be branded a Fag. GTALCS is more than a game but a status symbol with excellent control and great graphics. Put aside your your blind faith in an archaic gameboything and be Somebody.
  5. Jan 22, 2014
    9
    I LOVE the PSP version and still play it to this day. It is fun GTA carnage on the go. It may feel like a watered-down clone of San Andreas (which is my favorite), but its on a handheld. Sadly the same can't be said about the PS2 version. That version sucks. This version doesn't.
  6. Joeyboy
    Nov 4, 2005
    9
    I'm sorry but i don't inderstand what people are expecting rating this game below an 8...the game is amazing for a handheld and the multiplayer is some of the best i have played ...and including ur own music for radio stations is great.
  7. Er81hui
    Oct 31, 2005
    10
    This is the coolest game in PSP, the whole city fit into one pocket...i cant stop playing it...those who critic the game must be lousy gamers...
  8. GDB
    Oct 30, 2005
    10
    It's not a watered down port but full blown GTA. Anyone who calls this overrated, just doesn't get GTA. For fans of the franchise, this is a must have. It's THE reason to buy a PSP.
  9. TK.
    Oct 7, 2005
    10
    It is a FULL gta game on such a small disc, it is GTA 3 plus loads more, it lasts 4 hours and has no load times exept at game start up and when traveling between islands and those loads are only about 15 seconds and it has seven multi player modes for up to six players, whats not to like?
  10. ThembanN.
    Feb 6, 2006
    9
    the game good and playable.good graphic and tricky stants.
  11. TayE.
    Mar 25, 2006
    10
    This game is great, all of the Grand Theft Auto mayham in the palm of your hand. Bringing back the First PS2 maps brings back memories. I like that they added the motorcycles and the old school games.
  12. Barry
    Mar 5, 2006
    10
    finaly you can play grand theft auto on a handheld computer (psp) grafics are good like the gameplay and the fack u can play multi player on it as well so keep it up rockstar.
  13. JipR.
    Jul 5, 2006
    8
    it are really good graphics and the missions are fun but san andreas is a lot bigger with more extras why did they drop things like eating and getting stronger.
  14. Sonny
    Nov 1, 2005
    10
    What does GTA offer, If we had to look at the single elements of the game we can compaire them to other games like Crazy Taxi, Burnout,stuntman,Emergency,Chase HQ, as you can guess its also non af those games but GTA. The controls are not as bad as everybody is talking about and at the end of the day if you ever fancy some bloody carnage just get GTA for your pocket.
  15. BenJ.
    Nov 14, 2005
    10
    Simple fun and nothing wrong with it
  16. Red
    Nov 1, 2005
    10
    Very impressive game i mean all those mag reviews and theres scores cant be all wrong can they. well can they PUNK.
  17. ArticMonkey
    Nov 4, 2005
    9
    I Know its been said but this is a handheld game not a full console, it does have console quality graphics the controls are fine after a quick adjustment(they can be customised) and to those who moan about the missions, save points and shallowness remember this has never been achived before, they have already announced a second GTA and things can and will improve, GTA III wasn't I Know its been said but this is a handheld game not a full console, it does have console quality graphics the controls are fine after a quick adjustment(they can be customised) and to those who moan about the missions, save points and shallowness remember this has never been achived before, they have already announced a second GTA and things can and will improve, GTA III wasn't perfect but we loved it. A year ago you wouldn't have believed this at all.... Expand
  18. DAVES.
    Nov 4, 2005
    10
    Genius accomplishment, superb multi-player
  19. SteveK.
    Nov 4, 2005
    10
    Compared to the other games on PSP, this by far, hands down, the best. It is very addicting and extremely fun to play. I agree with other people that the PSP reviews should be written comparing PSP games and not comparing PSP games versus console counterparts. Compare apples to apples not apples to oranges. A PSP game can not compare to a consule game due to the screen size and sound Compared to the other games on PSP, this by far, hands down, the best. It is very addicting and extremely fun to play. I agree with other people that the PSP reviews should be written comparing PSP games and not comparing PSP games versus console counterparts. Compare apples to apples not apples to oranges. A PSP game can not compare to a consule game due to the screen size and sound capabilities, so don't compare the two, da!!! Expand
  20. Brad
    Nov 5, 2005
    10
    This game is so far beyond what I thought I'd be playing on the PSP. The minor quibbles people are bringing up are so forgivable on the PSP its not even worth debating. I've played the GTA series both on my PC and my PS2 (where those earlier gripes make more sense) and surprisingly, I'm more addicted to playing GTA LCS on my PSP than all of them combined. I guess its This game is so far beyond what I thought I'd be playing on the PSP. The minor quibbles people are bringing up are so forgivable on the PSP its not even worth debating. I've played the GTA series both on my PC and my PS2 (where those earlier gripes make more sense) and surprisingly, I'm more addicted to playing GTA LCS on my PSP than all of them combined. I guess its because I'm getting a full GTA experience on my handheld. I love that the missions are quicker and things are more geared to quicker gameplay. It suits the PSP perfectly. This is the first game that made me happy to own a PSP and if you haven't played this game yet, you owe it to yourself to see how Rockstar Games/Leeds raised the bar on this one.. Expand
  21. Looney
    Nov 5, 2005
    10
    You cant beat the feeling of sitting down on the toilet and playing GTA. Or for the more adventures out there pick it up after you have pleased your woman and enjoy GTA . basicly there is no where on dry land that you cant play GTA. fantastic game and worth every penny.
  22. GarthT.
    Nov 6, 2005
    10
    I love gta and have played them all. But LCS is just so playable and i can play it anywhere, just whip it out and 5 seconds later im in a virtual little world. i even just drove around in 1st person simulation style, and was amazed to see the realistic traffic obeying rules, with the occasional hoodlum going nuts then taking chase and smashing them off the road, very satisfying road rage.I love gta and have played them all. But LCS is just so playable and i can play it anywhere, just whip it out and 5 seconds later im in a virtual little world. i even just drove around in 1st person simulation style, and was amazed to see the realistic traffic obeying rules, with the occasional hoodlum going nuts then taking chase and smashing them off the road, very satisfying road rage. This game has equal depth to a console gta but in my pocket. And whos kidding who? Slithy, you are obviously ONE jealous DS owner who keeps posting 3-4 bad reviews in a row every few days. You havent played the game which is evident by your comments and you say the same thing in all of your 20 reviews at least entertain us with some witty negative comments but your attitude is getting old. The controls are not really a problem it plays well. All i can say is, if your a mature gamer with a PSP and you dont have LCS yet then go buy it now. Expand
  23. PSPHater
    Nov 7, 2005
    10
    One of the bst games you can get on your PSP. and a quick note to a previous post( how would a nintendo touch twig improve this game DUH!!.)
  24. Revu
    Nov 7, 2005
    10
    After reading all the mag reviews i have to say that they cover most points and that there review scores are spot on, intresting that all the nintendo reviewers give this game anything below a 3 and the people who have actually played the game have given it 8 and above.
  25. Brian
    Nov 7, 2005
    10
    Fantastic game and worth every penny. great playability great music and great graphics. I see there have been plenty of posts from our nintendo friends, i wonder why they are posting negative reviews for a game they cant play i wonder if its because they dont like the idea of sony making the handheld market popular like they did with the console market.
  26. PeterT.
    Nov 7, 2005
    10
    You would have to be a complete DS owner not to have this game on your PSP. love the graphics and it just goes to show you how powerful the PSP is.
  27. Me
    Nov 7, 2005
    10
    when a new games machine is launched you always get that one game that makes you think " I didnt know this machine was capable of making such technically impressive games" and the good thing about this game is that is has oodles of gameplay in it.
  28. Wisdom
    Nov 9, 2005
    10
    An excelent game, driving any vehical is just a treat and the size of the game is amazing. regarding battery life i use the standard battery you get with the PSP and i get excatly 3 hours 37 mins out of it, maybe im one of the lucky few who get a good charge out of my battery. the whole idea of a hand held system is thats its ment for more of a pick up and play not your marathon gameingAn excelent game, driving any vehical is just a treat and the size of the game is amazing. regarding battery life i use the standard battery you get with the PSP and i get excatly 3 hours 37 mins out of it, maybe im one of the lucky few who get a good charge out of my battery. the whole idea of a hand held system is thats its ment for more of a pick up and play not your marathon gameing session like you used to have on your ps2. Expand
  29. Mark
    Dec 4, 2005
    10
    Wow. This game blew me away with what is possible on a handheld. It is superoir to GTA III in every way. Oh, and as for handheld gaming to be a kid thing, why do you think Sony included all the features such a music, upgrades, web browsing, videos, pictures? Maybe they are trying to prove that handheld gaming isnt a kid thing. Or maybe we should throw all that out the window in exchange Wow. This game blew me away with what is possible on a handheld. It is superoir to GTA III in every way. Oh, and as for handheld gaming to be a kid thing, why do you think Sony included all the features such a music, upgrades, web browsing, videos, pictures? Maybe they are trying to prove that handheld gaming isnt a kid thing. Or maybe we should throw all that out the window in exchange for a couple of Pokemon games. (sarcasm). Expand
  30. PaulC.
    Oct 25, 2005
    10
    Don't listen to these bad reviews. The game is technologically incredible. I felt like I was playing GTA on my couch it was so pixel perfect. New missions,new storyline in GTA III's world makes for a fun time on the go. Bottom line: If you own a PSP, you need this game.
  31. BillK.
    Oct 26, 2005
    10
    The bad user reviews you are seeing are most likely the 12 year olds that get caught up in the silly PS2 vs. XBox or Halo vs GTA or PSP vs DS debates. Bottom line is this is THE best game for the PSP out right now. Period. After being heart broken that Madden 06 had major bugs, I am just elated that I have a full-fledged GTA complete with full "living," expansive city to roam freely The bad user reviews you are seeing are most likely the 12 year olds that get caught up in the silly PS2 vs. XBox or Halo vs GTA or PSP vs DS debates. Bottom line is this is THE best game for the PSP out right now. Period. After being heart broken that Madden 06 had major bugs, I am just elated that I have a full-fledged GTA complete with full "living," expansive city to roam freely in....ON A HANDHELD. Simply amazing. Expand
  32. Mattmattz_1223
    Oct 26, 2005
    9
    What people are forgetting is that this game is unable to provide the power of the console series because it is on a handheld but i believe that Rockstar Leeds have done a near-perfect job of pulling it off, some minor issues with controls which you'll get used to. Plus the game is so big, and multiplayer is fantastic.
  33. KevinT.
    Dec 7, 2005
    10
    this game got a 7.2 are you guys serious?...maybe you should get the download for the custom sound tracks....[www.1up.com]....awsome game, the missions are challenging but not too long, it's perfect for potable gaming...a must have...
  34. MiguelG.
    Oct 27, 2005
    10
    I don't get some people. This is a portable machine (PSP) it has a battery - it's suppose to run down..., the controls are diferent (PS2 controlers are the size of this machine itself)... This is a great technical achievement, I really hope developers keep doing their best (as they did with this LCS) and do not strip down the games for battery life sake, or load times, or I don't get some people. This is a portable machine (PSP) it has a battery - it's suppose to run down..., the controls are diferent (PS2 controlers are the size of this machine itself)... This is a great technical achievement, I really hope developers keep doing their best (as they did with this LCS) and do not strip down the games for battery life sake, or load times, or whatever, just push the machine to the limits, I'll buy a spare battery, and I'll get use to the controlls. Forget about this PS2 old timers. Expand
  35. JohnnyB.
    Oct 27, 2005
    9
    The critics of the load times and controls are just being overly critical- I picked up the controls in a matter of minutes and the load times are shorter than any of the load times on the GTA PS2 games and shorter than many other PSP titles. Sure, the game has some of the same flaws as of the other GTA titles- the cars don't handle very well at times, the camera angle isn't The critics of the load times and controls are just being overly critical- I picked up the controls in a matter of minutes and the load times are shorter than any of the load times on the GTA PS2 games and shorter than many other PSP titles. Sure, the game has some of the same flaws as of the other GTA titles- the cars don't handle very well at times, the camera angle isn't always the best, and aiming when shooting can be frustrating- but Rockstar has done a remarkable job in fitting a GTA game on a UMD and despite it's flaws, GTA:LCS is easily the best game yet for the PSP. Expand
  36. Brodie
    Oct 27, 2005
    8
    If you've played GTA3, then you've played this game before. Also, you probably enjoyed it more when you had it on the big screen powered by your PS2. That being said, this is still a very enjoyable GTA experience. It's by far the most ambitious PSP game to come out since launch, and definatly in the top 5 of must haves for the system. It took me almost no time to adjust to If you've played GTA3, then you've played this game before. Also, you probably enjoyed it more when you had it on the big screen powered by your PS2. That being said, this is still a very enjoyable GTA experience. It's by far the most ambitious PSP game to come out since launch, and definatly in the top 5 of must haves for the system. It took me almost no time to adjust to the controls, im really not sure why so many are complaining about them. The auto lock-on is the same unreliable targeting system its always been on the consoles, nothing new there. The graphics are nice and clean, and the voice actingdialogue is what you'd expect of the series. If your burnt out of GTA, this game has nothing new to offer you. But if you want some mini-gta mayhem on the go, with the promise of dozens of fun filled hours, this is a great great buy you won't regret. Expand
  37. DougK.
    Oct 28, 2005
    10
    I never expected to even like this game, since i got it for free. but i havent played anything else since. HELP im totally addicted .
  38. Mobius
    Oct 28, 2005
    9
    A great game that captures what GTA is all about. this review ignores all other versions and assumes that the user has never seen GTA before.. OMFG what a great game the controls are exactly what you can expect from a hand held system, the graphics are may look odd but if you have seen other versions of gta then they are the same, but the PSP realy shows just how much information the PSPA great game that captures what GTA is all about. this review ignores all other versions and assumes that the user has never seen GTA before.. OMFG what a great game the controls are exactly what you can expect from a hand held system, the graphics are may look odd but if you have seen other versions of gta then they are the same, but the PSP realy shows just how much information the PSP can throw about. so great sounding great controls and great graphics. if you are one of those people who feal threatend by the PSP well go and buy a Nintendo DS along with nitendogs and you go and have a a game with the other 6 year olds who posted crank reviews for this game. GTA is for Adults only. Expand
  39. TonyM.
    Oct 30, 2005
    10
    Best game ever!!! i cant stop playing it!
  40. LeeR
    Oct 5, 2005
    10
    This is the reason I purchased the PSP the day it came out. Sony is known for getting Grand Theft Auto on any system they put on the market. I Have been a fan of the series since day one. I only need a NBA, NFL, and Grand Theft Auto game to keep me happy on any system. Murder on the go is the perfect stress release. Besides if I wanted to play games with crappy grafics I owuld have a DSThis is the reason I purchased the PSP the day it came out. Sony is known for getting Grand Theft Auto on any system they put on the market. I Have been a fan of the series since day one. I only need a NBA, NFL, and Grand Theft Auto game to keep me happy on any system. Murder on the go is the perfect stress release. Besides if I wanted to play games with crappy grafics I owuld have a DS right now. DS=N64=crap. Game Cube made portable= good system if they can get there hands on GTA. Expand
  41. mikeg
    Jan 3, 2006
    10
    excellent game, controls are BETTER than most psp games to date, hint:use left and right on your pad to switch targets while holding R1 Pressfield. Controls while driving are better than some of the racing games currently out for the psp (ex. nfs).Storyline is fun, custom soundtracks are an excellent idea, hope more psp games allow in future. If you haven't played this game,excellent game, controls are BETTER than most psp games to date, hint:use left and right on your pad to switch targets while holding R1 Pressfield. Controls while driving are better than some of the racing games currently out for the psp (ex. nfs).Storyline is fun, custom soundtracks are an excellent idea, hope more psp games allow in future. If you haven't played this game, you're missing out, unless, you didn't like the ps2 titles, which are still the best action/racing games out there. Expand
  42. DrewG.
    Jan 7, 2006
    9
    Was a very good well rounded game which was entertaining as well as providing a challenge. Also 2 player mode is a lot of fun. A must buy.
  43. ChrisA.
    Feb 5, 2006
    10
    This is a good game for serious gamers. it dosnt take much to get into it but after a while it gets alittle boring.
  44. Adultgamer
    Nov 11, 2005
    10
    this game is great fun and being at the ripe old age of 45 its great to see. games like this just go to show you that there is a market for adult gamers. the controls for this game are perfect and the graphics are spot on overall a fantastic game and dont let any fuddy duddy tell you that your to old for games..
  45. Copycat
    Nov 11, 2005
    10
    GTA: Liberty City Stories is the first game in the series to hit the PSP, and you can bet it won't be the last. Given the dismal crop of PSP titles currently available, an original PSP-only GTA game couldn't have arrived at a better time. And the good news is, Liberty City Stories is a real Grand Theft Auto game, through and through. Whether you love the GTA series or despite GTA: Liberty City Stories is the first game in the series to hit the PSP, and you can bet it won't be the last. Given the dismal crop of PSP titles currently available, an original PSP-only GTA game couldn't have arrived at a better time. And the good news is, Liberty City Stories is a real Grand Theft Auto game, through and through. Whether you love the GTA series or despite it, the fact is that Liberty City Stories is on the same quality level as its bigger brothers on the PS2, Xbox, and PC. You'll be surprised by how few compromises Rockstar made in order to bring the world of Grand Theft Auto to the PSP. Expand
  46. FredH.
    Nov 11, 2005
    10
    Hey Fred this is a good game and I am 35 and regarding your comments my PSP currently has GTA in it as well as some hardcore porn vids two albums and a handful of pictures containing nude women on it, its people like you who haven
  47. Monkeyman
    Nov 1, 2005
    10
    Hmmmmmmm let me see, it
  48. GrantMcDonald
    Nov 3, 2005
    10
    This review page is one of the funniest on the net, people who obviously havent played the game but have a DS in their pocket have some crazy desire to ridicule this FUN game. Why? This game is real good in fact i still dont know how they fitted it all in. The profressional reviewers all seem to agree that this game is a 9 even with cruddy controls so how can it be rated under 5, the only This review page is one of the funniest on the net, people who obviously havent played the game but have a DS in their pocket have some crazy desire to ridicule this FUN game. Why? This game is real good in fact i still dont know how they fitted it all in. The profressional reviewers all seem to agree that this game is a 9 even with cruddy controls so how can it be rated under 5, the only reason is to bring down the average. which is quite sad but makes for some funny reading. Expand
  49. RonJohns
    Nov 3, 2005
    9
    After a short time the controls become an extension of my very own limbs of my personal little wrecking machine. He runs here and there making mayhem as he goes. This lifts Handheld gaming into the stratosphere.
  50. Monty
    Nov 4, 2005
    10
    Ive read all the user reviews and have come to the conclusion that most of them havnt even played the game. i picked up my copy on day of release and this is what i found. many reviews tell you about the control method, well there is nothing wrong with the controls, driving is spot on and walking and running has no issues either. Targeting the bad dudes is piss easy aswell, you hold the RIve read all the user reviews and have come to the conclusion that most of them havnt even played the game. i picked up my copy on day of release and this is what i found. many reviews tell you about the control method, well there is nothing wrong with the controls, driving is spot on and walking and running has no issues either. Targeting the bad dudes is piss easy aswell, you hold the R button to target and you use left or right to select a new target. the radio station are great aswell, the graphics are better than the original GTA III and the issue about saves isnt a problem because even if your on a mission you can just power off your PSP and say in 24 hours time u swtch it on again you wait 5 seconds and your back in the game exactly where you left off( this works for all PSP games as long as you havnt removed the disk) the only issue is that there is a blur when moving about but thats to be expected. do you remember when you first played GTA III and you got that feeling of awe, well stick in GTA LCS and you will get that old feeling back. overall a impressive game. and i prefere the short mission because im just happy running and driving about causing mayhem. 10/10 Expand
  51. JodyM.
    Nov 4, 2005
    9
    To be honest, this is better than San Andreas (only because GTA SA was pish of the bitterest sort) Come on, its GTA on the way to St. Marys, Limavady, it makes school better, what more can you ask for. And I havent even played multi-player yet!!!
  52. KArgo
    Nov 4, 2005
    9
    This game is a lot of fun, but really gets unnerving in how difficult it is. And it's not difficult because the missions are hard, but because the controls make them hard. I love it, but sometimes it makes me want to break my PSP. Yaaaahhhh! I ran over the hooker, now I'm gonna loose cause she's knocked down and can't give me my money!
  53. James
    Nov 5, 2005
    10
    So the battery life sucks does it?!! On full charge I played for an hour and was expecting(because of other reviews) to be on 60% power but no 95% power!!! 5% power for an hour!!! You do the math. The controls do take time to get used to, only because of the size of the stick. On the last 3 GTA holding down the 2 shoulder buttons would give you the camara angle from both sides and the So the battery life sucks does it?!! On full charge I played for an hour and was expecting(because of other reviews) to be on 60% power but no 95% power!!! 5% power for an hour!!! You do the math. The controls do take time to get used to, only because of the size of the stick. On the last 3 GTA holding down the 2 shoulder buttons would give you the camara angle from both sides and the rear, on this one you have to hold L & left, right or down on the stick!!!!!!!! the stick, which is controlling the vehicle!!!!! WHAT A SHOCKER!!!!. Think of it like this, you're driving to a crossroad, you want to look left so you hold L and move the stick to your left, you are then hit by a car from your right AAARG!! The poor control setup has ruined the game for me!!! BUT and it's a big but, a simple push of the start button brings up the menu with the map, brief, stats, CONTROLS, audio, display and the brand new multiplayer sections. Go to "Controls" and change it from Control Setup 1 to Control Setup 2, now it's fixed, now it's the GTA I love. Now when driving to look left, hit L to look right, hit R to look behind you, hold both. Now you can do your drive-bys Tier2 Greek. Simple as you like. Also in this section you can swap the stick with the D-pad (I use the stick because the D-pad is a bit stiff for me) With this setup the handbrake is moved from the R button to pressing X & Square which makes for amazing power slides around corners, and leaving your index finger for grip, for better control. This setup is key because setup one is useless. Right the graphics, they are quite stunning, let down only by the blur due to the frame rate being lower than the PS2. This only occurs when on foot or on a bike and is more noticeable when Tommy is wearing black. The targeting system is fine and much improve on GTA 3 locking onto the nearest threat, NOT ONCE have I shot anyone by mistake in a heated shoot out. While holding down the Target button (R) and hitting down on the D-pad you get free aim which didn't feature in GTA 3. When in free aim mode holding down L slows down free aim giving you more control, ideal when using the stick. It's only the camara that sets the targeting apart from VC or SA. If only there was another stick! Nobody here has mentioned the sound, it's almost perfect!!! Although the radio does sound slightly like it's being streamed from the internet, but that's only because of the compression that's needed to fit on this tiny, tiny disc!! Also two words CUSTOM TRACKS!!! Go to the Audio section and it says Custom Tracks: Unavailable? Go to www.rockstar.com and download the program that converts your CDs into Custom Tracks, and listen to your favourite songs as you do a drive-by!!!! How cool is that!!!! So the only CONS of this game are: The bluring, the hard to control (on-foot) camara and (nothing to do with the game) the stick is hard to use on this game being very small, but you do get used to it. Once you get used to the controls and camara, you'll see What a fantastic game this is!!! To fit all of this on a disc that you could swallow is a miracle! The 7 multiplay levels(new to all GTA games) adds another dimension to the series. Buy it now! Someone said has nobody noticed how sparse the islands are? Yeah, sparse when I've run everyone over!!! Expand
  54. NitramTriumph
    Nov 5, 2005
    9
    Absolutely incredible! What they've managed to squeeze onto this tiny disc is awesome. When we played the GTA3 on the ps2 for the first time, who would of thought we'd get something like it on a handheld within a few years?!? The controls system is flawed, there are collision & slow-down issues.... but this should not distract from what is a remarkable achievement.
  55. JoeG.
    Nov 6, 2005
    10
    Controls better than a touchscreen. Looks better than a puppy in an empty room. With hours and hours of music it sounds better than ..."woof".
  56. General
    Nov 6, 2005
    10
    Great Game you would be a fool not to add it to your collection. WANTED: disillusioned Nintendo owners to write reviews for the PSP. Must be able to score rival handheld games with unrealistic low scores.
  57. Bill10
    Nov 6, 2005
    10
    If your a gamer and you like the GTA series so far then i bet your gonna like this .forget the issues with the controls because they simply dont exist. the people who complain about the controls must have boxing gloves for hands.
  58. nintendofan
    Nov 6, 2005
    10
    Nintendogs is one of the best games to to found on the DS and the graphics are amazing so life like and how the cute little puppys walk up to the screen. its so cute. but then again i would prefere to be playing GTA picking up hookers killing cops and doing the normal hit and run thing.
  59. Hope
    Nov 6, 2005
    10
    Fantastic ive only 2 other games Ridge Racer and everybodys golf, and this game just make my collection all that much better. not dissapointed at all.
  60. TheTruth
    Nov 6, 2005
    10
    I was a little concerned after reading some of the poor reviews in here but after picking it up anyway and having all my doubts dissapear all i can say is that some people are complete idiots and i wish they would write review for there Nintendos and stop dissing a game they will never own. oh hang on they do have GTA on the Nintendo, maybe they are jelous that theres is a top down I was a little concerned after reading some of the poor reviews in here but after picking it up anyway and having all my doubts dissapear all i can say is that some people are complete idiots and i wish they would write review for there Nintendos and stop dissing a game they will never own. oh hang on they do have GTA on the Nintendo, maybe they are jelous that theres is a top down version. I laugh at their misguided purchaces. Expand
  61. Yarnbgarn
    Nov 7, 2005
    9
    Besides a few minor quibbles, this is the best portable game since Tetris rocked my world all those years ago.
  62. GeoffM.
    Nov 7, 2005
    10
    Look slackers just go away, how can you give this brilliantly crafted game a 3 or less, you must be jealous as hell. This is the fastest loading GTA yet, has all the bells and whistles of its big brother but its all in my pocket. The Holy Grail of portable entertainment is here.
  63. Maxpower
    Nov 7, 2005
    9
    The controls are OK, The camera drops the score since its a bit awkward at times but mostly fine. The gaphics and sound are clear and smooth. Go now to EB to try and buy a modern classic.
  64. DSHater
    Nov 7, 2005
    10
    Great game with no slow down what so ever, good controls and plenty of playability. I get just over 4 and half hours gameplay out of my PSP before the battery goes flat.
  65. JohnB.
    Nov 7, 2005
    10
    This game is huge. well just as big as the original version. i was exspecting some of it to be watered down to cope with the amout of information, but NO this game has the same amount of traffic and people in it. and a plus is that it actually has a better redraw distance than the original GTAIII had.
  66. Follower
    Nov 7, 2005
    10
    great game nothing wrong with the controls and nothing wrong with the game. picked up my copy on Nov 4 and been playing it non stop.
  67. FredT.
    Nov 9, 2005
    9
    Lot's of hours of gameplay and challenging game. The graphics and sound are excellent for a handheld game. The city is pretty big and it all fits in the palm of my hand. This is a great time killer when im at work and it is slow or on the bus waiting in traffic. Only downside I can think of is that it sucks the power right out of the battery.
  68. Joey
    Dec 27, 2005
    10
    GTA Liberty City Stories is one of the best games I've ever played! The packages are a little harder to find but that doesn't make the game any less great. The graphics are fantastic and it's highly highly highly highly highly reccomended!
  69. BobbyB
    Oct 24, 2005
    10
    The best game you've ever played on your PSP! GTA: Liberty City Stories has great graphics,game play,character,locations TOP NOTCH! Go and get it now!
  70. HeavyD.
    Oct 26, 2005
    9
    Great game, Controls were a little difficult to get used to at first, (Used to playing the orginials on PS2) but quickly became used to new controls. Just as fun and entertaining as the first. Great buy, FINALLY a good platformer.
  71. Wongit
    Oct 26, 2005
    9
    Finally there's a good game on the PSP. This is the first great game for the PSP. Its nothing short of the masterpieces you play on the console versions. Its got everything thats in GTA3, and the nice little touches from Vice City. Its got great voice acting, great control, and a interseting story. It has graphics that pretty much surpass any other PSP title. The story missions dont Finally there's a good game on the PSP. This is the first great game for the PSP. Its nothing short of the masterpieces you play on the console versions. Its got everything thats in GTA3, and the nice little touches from Vice City. Its got great voice acting, great control, and a interseting story. It has graphics that pretty much surpass any other PSP title. The story missions dont bother me at all. their your typical fun GTA missions. The side missions are great, and there is alot to do outside of your normal missions, like run around and create havock. This is a definite must own for any PSP owner. Its everything you cherish and love in a GTA game in the palm of your hands, honestly what more could you ask for. Expand
  72. MarkG.
    Oct 26, 2005
    10
    To bring a polished Liberty City to the PSP along with 10 radio stations, motorcycles and more, Rockstar deserves applause. We all know that this game will sell the PSP. Don't give Liberty City Stories a bad review because the control is not great - Rockstar is just working with what they've got. Fact is, once you get used to the PSP, there's nothing cooler than being able To bring a polished Liberty City to the PSP along with 10 radio stations, motorcycles and more, Rockstar deserves applause. We all know that this game will sell the PSP. Don't give Liberty City Stories a bad review because the control is not great - Rockstar is just working with what they've got. Fact is, once you get used to the PSP, there's nothing cooler than being able to play Grand Theft Auto anywhere!!!! It looks good, sounds good, and once again has a well-written story with fantastic voice acting. 10/10!!! Expand
  73. elchuyD
    Oct 26, 2005
    9
    I think rocksar made a great job puting this game in the psp. for those people rating it very low I say to them. keep in mind that this is the first time a game of this kind is playable in a hand-held system. I don't know how many gaboy game they have seen that are even close to gtalcs. if you try to compare it to gta in ps2 you might be disappointed but agian keep in mind this is a I think rocksar made a great job puting this game in the psp. for those people rating it very low I say to them. keep in mind that this is the first time a game of this kind is playable in a hand-held system. I don't know how many gaboy game they have seen that are even close to gtalcs. if you try to compare it to gta in ps2 you might be disappointed but agian keep in mind this is a psp. Well Great job with this game I'm enjoying it. Expand
  74. BillS.
    Oct 27, 2005
    9
    Notice something about these reviews - Poor battery life? Bad controls? Little quips about gaming and Sony? These are fanboy reviews. Nintendo fanboys. This game is spectacular, the control is fully configurable. The critiques here are copied from web forums wherein Nintendo fanboys bash and cry over a game they will never see on the DS. They hate GTA, because they can't have it. Notice something about these reviews - Poor battery life? Bad controls? Little quips about gaming and Sony? These are fanboy reviews. Nintendo fanboys. This game is spectacular, the control is fully configurable. The critiques here are copied from web forums wherein Nintendo fanboys bash and cry over a game they will never see on the DS. They hate GTA, because they can't have it. Meanwhile, as the REAL critics are saying, this is a fantastic achievement on a handheld. Incredible depth of environment and freedom of action, hours on hours of jobs and missions. I've been driving around and doing odd things just like I did at first when I initially got into GTA:VC on the PC. It's eerily similar -- but on a handheld, which is amazing. Now, the game does suffer from a few issues immediately apparent - such as some mild LCD smearing, which most PSP games with high framerate seem to exhibit. The analog nub is somewhat touchy, but there have been posts indicating that reversing steering/walking seems to work wonders. Neither of these elements serve to taint the overall experience or the jawdropping feat of a full-scale GTA game on a handheld. Loading times are quick, there's no loading pauses, the city isn't broken down into tiny segments as some feared/predicted. It's an amazing game and will sell GOBS of PSPs. A true must have AAA-level game, as IGN, GameSpy, EGN, 1UP and all the others are saying thus far. Do not believe teh fanboy comment-pirates!. Expand
  75. StephenJ.
    Oct 27, 2005
    10
    Absolutely Unbelievable. I pulled out GTALC at work today and was totally in awe that here i was playing a GTA game with all its complexity while i should be working. The framerate is smooth, the widescreen view is Pixelisious. I love it. Try playing this on your DS Fanboys. Is it just one loony posting all those negative comments since they are posted in little groups.
  76. Matty
    Oct 27, 2005
    10
    It is the best game for psp the graphics r amazing dont listen to these stupid people who give it a low rating if u have a psp go and buy it. ok the controls take a bit getting used to but the rest is excellent i cant stp playing on it.
  77. qwerty
    Oct 28, 2005
    10
    Simply marvellous.
  78. Gtafan
    Oct 28, 2005
    10
    Best handheld game evar!!!
  79. LukeS.
    Oct 28, 2005
    10
    Exactly what R* said they delivered. This is a full on GTA with nothing left out in fact even more stuffed in than i thought possible.
  80. Guy
    Oct 28, 2005
    9
    How would you sort out the camera view problem. There is only one analogue. I think they've done well with what they have got.
  81. DickS.
    Oct 31, 2005
    10
    This GTA is a classic and will sell lots.
  82. KenD.
    Oct 31, 2005
    10
    There seems to be 2 groups of people those that LOVE Liberty City and a few misguided souls that keep repeating the same review again and again. To these children i say, just go play the best handheld with the hugest screen and now with the best portable game EVER.
  83. HenryJ.
    Oct 31, 2005
    9
    Yes you need to get used to the controls but unless you are totally incompetent, then just buy a simple nintendo toy not an executive gadget. The graphiics are simply fantastic 30fps most of the time and a good draw distance. The music is OK and the disc jockeys are funny. I just played Crazy Taxi for hours and this is just 1 small part of this game. i can see myself pulling this out in Yes you need to get used to the controls but unless you are totally incompetent, then just buy a simple nintendo toy not an executive gadget. The graphiics are simply fantastic 30fps most of the time and a good draw distance. The music is OK and the disc jockeys are funny. I just played Crazy Taxi for hours and this is just 1 small part of this game. i can see myself pulling this out in years to come and still finding something new. A modern masterpiece. Expand
  84. MikeT.
    Oct 31, 2005
    10
    This game is great. Everybody is rating this like a full blown ps2 game. Just remember that this time last year we were all playing side scrolling Mario on the gameboy advance. All i am saying is: rate this game as a GTA handheld game and not like a PS2 sequel to San Andreas and you will see that this game really is pushing the PSP's hardware to the max and we should all be thankfull This game is great. Everybody is rating this like a full blown ps2 game. Just remember that this time last year we were all playing side scrolling Mario on the gameboy advance. All i am saying is: rate this game as a GTA handheld game and not like a PS2 sequel to San Andreas and you will see that this game really is pushing the PSP's hardware to the max and we should all be thankfull for a great 3D, free roaming handheld GTA. Sure they could have fixed some bugs here and there but the psp's UMD can only hold 1.8GB and Rockstar Leeds had already coded all of the game in a special way to give us all of this extreme detail without sacrificing the bone structure that made GTA great on home consoles and that is a great feat. This is the best PSP game out and when your rating it, rate it for what it is... a HANDHELD game. Expand
  85. AlexL.
    Jan 18, 2006
    10
    think about it its a portable GTA game, it might not have helicopters but theres a way to do that.
  86. Spike
    Jan 26, 2006
    10
    GTA:LCS is one of the best GTA games it is better than vice city but not san andras its a good game but it is a hard game to beat.
  87. Ross
    Jan 4, 2006
    8
    it is a good game but there are not so much missions as in the other GTA's which i think brings my rating down as i have done them all and am gwtting bored of wandering around killing random people and looking for my extra 50% to comlete.Does anyone fell the same way?
  88. MitchMatch
    Feb 19, 2006
    8
    San andreas made this game seem wak, this game has to many barriers, and you cant swim which makes it unrealistc, i also dont like how it rains about every 2 mins, besides that its good.
  89. BobE.
    Jun 12, 2006
    10
    This game is skill and it does have helicopters in it. also just because its the same doesn't mean its suks.
  90. FreddieT.
    Jul 13, 2006
    9
    Awesome game, graphics good, vehicles fun to ride and endless mini missions to keep you going along with an excellent story line. Only down point is no houses or businesses to buy ( or at least so far in my game! ) except safehouses given to you.
  91. RickyB.
    Sep 18, 2006
    10
    The game stays true to form. You simply get lost in the experience and forget you are holding a PSP. The game is nearly flawless and can only improve with some new camera work. GTA is simply the greatest gaming series ever and will remain that way as long as there are video games.
  92. CraigS.
    Nov 14, 2005
    10
    Being Australian is great but the delays for GTALCS were driving me insane. Last week I happened across a U.S. copy and paying top dollar, grabbed it. From a full charge I play for close to 4 hours, which really is quite impressive and more than enough for me. The game itself is simply GTA with little compromises, the control of the cars is the best of the series so far. All this talk of Being Australian is great but the delays for GTALCS were driving me insane. Last week I happened across a U.S. copy and paying top dollar, grabbed it. From a full charge I play for close to 4 hours, which really is quite impressive and more than enough for me. The game itself is simply GTA with little compromises, the control of the cars is the best of the series so far. All this talk of crap controls is just an excuse to give ridiculous scores, with the nub, a fine level of movement can be achieved when walking or running. Targetting is quick and painfree. I expected the graphics to be real n64 like, with blurry textures, but everywhere you go its crisp and clean, and you can read all the writing on shops. My favourite PSP game and likely to become my favourite GTA game too. Expand
  93. VictorB.
    Nov 3, 2005
    9
    Greatest psp game yet.
  94. KellyS.
    Nov 3, 2005
    10
    Really Awesome
  95. JeffP.
    Nov 3, 2005
    10
    Good control. Great introduction to the series. A fine conversion from the console original. Not watered down trash but full and complete. They added so much its GTA on Steroids
  96. Gazcomsat
    Nov 4, 2005
    10
    Anyone who has played the PS2 version of this game and may be concerned by some of the reviews on here need not worry. Everything about GTA LCS is amazing. The Graphics are big & bold and the controls are simple once you've played for an hour or two. I do miss the right analogue stick to look around but the left shoulder button does an ok job. This really is GTA on a hand held and Anyone who has played the PS2 version of this game and may be concerned by some of the reviews on here need not worry. Everything about GTA LCS is amazing. The Graphics are big & bold and the controls are simple once you've played for an hour or two. I do miss the right analogue stick to look around but the left shoulder button does an ok job. This really is GTA on a hand held and actually betters the PS2 equivilent. Even the cut scenes look great with the mouths actually moving in sync with the words for once. Incredible. Expand
  97. Cammac
    Nov 6, 2005
    10
    Spot on, great handheld carnage..
  98. Bob
    Nov 6, 2005
    10
    Great game and its good to see it on the PSP. ive found no issues with the controls and the graphics are better than the original PS2 version. i like the minimal story means i dont get in the way of the main reason to play GTA and thats to just cause carnage.
  99. Martine
    Nov 6, 2005
    10
    Cant see any real diffrence between this and the original version except its more playable.
  100. Grounder
    Nov 6, 2005
    10
    Game like this just go to show you just how powerful the PSP is. the game hasnt been out of my PSP since i got it.

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2005
#1 Most Shared PSP Game of 2005
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 65 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 65
  2. Negative: 0 out of 65
  1. As a value proposition, there's nothing on PSP that comes close. It's a gigantic game; the core gameplay will probably take you 40 or 50 hours to get through, and it has 33 additional "games" that have the potential to occupy you another five or even 10 hours, if you really want to push it.
  2. Although flawed, Liberty City Stories is a remarkable achievement; it shames the efforts that many other developers have put into their PSP games.
  3. 90
    While rough around the edges, Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories offers a deep, console-like GTA experience. There's so much to see and do that finishing the main story portion leaves around 60% of the game to experience.