User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 27
  2. Negative: 4 out of 27

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 16, 2012
    10
    Despite being an otome ("for girls") visual novel, Hakuoki is definitely a great game regardless of your sex. Providing a deep, interesting historical backdrop (Japan before the Meiji age) and some memorable characters, the game enthralled me since the first hour, and I had to complete it two times (different paths are in there) because of how awesome the writing and story were. It's definitely the best visual novel localized in a long time, and something not a single lover of Japanese games should miss. Expand
  2. Feb 26, 2012
    10
    Although Hakuoki is an otome game - a game where you develop a romantic relationship with one of the male characters and try to end up with them at the end of the game - I think it's a great game to own, whether you're a boy or a girl. The story completely pulls you in, and you become extremely attached to the characters along the way. Each one of them has personality traits that you may or may not enjoy - such as Hijikata's snarkiness and Saito's calm attitude. If you're a fan of these kinds of games, or just enjoy a good story - Buy this game. No question. Expand
  3. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    People may think this game is only about romance but most of the story line is about a war. The only downside I think is the music. Some scenes are long (which is good) but the music will be looped several times. Other than that I love that they left the voice actors in Japanese because frankly English voice actors can be pretty bad. This is mainly due to companies picking celebrities over professional voice actors but I digress. The art is beautiful. They characters are amazing and developed. I really hope that others will BUY this game to show support to the companies and this will hopefully encourage them to translate more to English. Expand
  4. May 12, 2012
    10
    Truly a great game, its been a long time since i enjoyed such a good story. I have finished it only with Heisuke ending, but im 100% sure that i will play it more and try to finish it at every possible way.
  5. Apr 14, 2013
    10
    Great visual novel, even though it's marketed towards women it's a great game if you enjoy a great story with romance this game's for you! As a gamer, please support this game don't pirate it, buy it and support not only aksys but also the psp in general, as of early 2013 the psp is practically dead, let's try to keep it alive at least until 2015 guys!
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Mar 14, 2012
    70
    Less game, more interactive narrative: this curious and very distinct release weaves a lengthy tale of samurais and love to good effect.
  2. Feb 15, 2012
    80
    Compelling to read and very well-translated, Hakuoki invites players to experience all six of its character storylines.
  3. Feb 14, 2012
    80
    Hakuoki: Demon of the Fleeting Blossom brings the world of Japanese girl's romance games to America-but is a game that both sexes could find a lot of enjoyment in.