Innocent Life: A Futuristic Harvest Moon PSP

Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
Buy On
  1. PSM3 Magazine UK
    85
    It won't convince some, but the more open-minded will revel in these calm, cheerful, engaging fields. Gorgeous. [May 2007, p.68]
  2. Official Playstation 2 Magazine UK
    80
    Takes time to blossom but grows into the kind of game PSP was made for. One to enjoy little and often rather than in long sessions. [Mar 2007, p.109]
  3. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    80
    This is a gentle, heartwearming experience that perfectly suits the PSP format. Blissful. [June 2007, p.102]
  4. AceGamez
    80
    Ironically for what is essentially a farming sim, what some will find most off putting about Innocent Life: A Futuristic Harvest Moon is the very nature of the game and its slow paced, limited action approach. Consider it a story wrapped around a non-aggressive resource management game and you'll have a good idea of what to expect.
  5. PSM Magazine
    80
    Really, Harvest Moon isn't about leveling up skills, getting rich, or beating the system; it's about enjoying idyllic surroundings and having some old-fashioned, farming fun in the process. [July 2007, p.82]
  6. There are no words that can perfectly convey what this game will do to you. It initially seems basic, short, and maybe a little childish. But if you stay long enough to learn how to harvest crops (which takes no more than 10 minutes), you’ll be around for another 10 hours and beyond.
  7. There's not too much negative to say about the design of this game. Extremely good looking graphics, a solid formula, and beautiful music really make this game seem like one you would really want to check into. But I would caution those that pick this one up, simply because the gameplay becomes a little strained.
  8. 76
    While it was nice to see some new things for the Harvest Moon series, Innocent Life just didn't give me the thrill I was hoping for. There were some good ideas, but they were poorly executed.
  9. Innocent Life is a good fit for the PSP, working well in short bursts or long doses, but too many elements drag down the pacing and prevent true agricultural greatness.
  10. It doesn't possess the same can't-put-it-down addictiveness as Friends of Mineral Town, the series' greatest portable success, but I have found myself coming back to it day after day, moving the story along at an unhurried pace. The setting and ambience are captivating and entirely unique, its presentation is undeniably excellent and the gradual exploration of the island is compelling.
  11. Yes, Innocent Life succeeds in going in a new direction for the Harvest Moon series, but isn’t as compelling nor entertaining as the best games of the franchise. It’s also not a recommended introduction for folks who haven’t played one before.
  12. Play UK
    70
    A far more generic title that is sure to disappoint fans. [Issue#154, p.80]
  13. 65
    The game begins much too slowly to really captivate. Which is a shame because a lot of gamers who might really appreciate Innocent Life's vibe could very likely put the game down before it's ever really begun.
  14. 65
    The unbalanced level of exploration, slow development of the story and nonsensical character development (coupled with his virtual isolation) makes the game one of those titles that appeals to an even smaller niche of this niche genre.
  15. Games Master UK
    62
    Will only entertain Moon newbies. [July 2007, p.70]
  16. A futuristic re-skin can't hide the flaws from appearing in one of this usually reliable series' weakest titles. Budding, but no full bloom.
  17. 60
    Artepiazza has developed a rather special game, and for that I wish I could reward them with a better score. But it would be a disservice to gamers if I ignore the fact that wading through the uneventful days can feel like trudging up a long hill leading nowhere.
  18. Despite its flaws, Innocent Life is an interesting and fun take on a familiar game. With a few tweaks to the pacing and goal structure, ArtePiazza could have made a strong entry into this strange farming sim.
  19. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    58
    Too much of the good stuff (unlocking new areas, upgrading equipment, and raising livestock) happens either by accidental discovery or hours into the game--after most people will have lost interest. [July 2007, p.97]
  20. Innocent Life is a watered-down Harvest Moon game without the series' trademark depth and charm.
  21. 50
    Once the initial enthusiasm fades, there's very little to keep a player's interest. The plot is inconsistent and the pace of the game is too discontinuous to be truly appreciated.
  22. Pure Magazine UK
    40
    A seriously cut down version of the title that has managed to take all the fun out of the game. [Mar 2007, p.76]

Awards & Rankings

#16 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2007
#11 Most Shared PSP Game of 2007
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Oct 13, 2011
    10
    ****
  2. JoeB.
    Jan 3, 2008
    10
    I love the game and I tend to look at the "professional" opinion of the UK magazines and laugh. It never fails for them to shoot down a good I love the game and I tend to look at the "professional" opinion of the UK magazines and laugh. It never fails for them to shoot down a good game yes all games have their tweaks but that's why we love them, but it still doesn't hold a candle to the SNES version. Full Review »
  3. LouiseL.
    Jul 31, 2007
    9
    May be a bit repetitive, but adventure mode is really fun and original.