Invizimals PSP

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Oct 12, 2010
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
Buy On
  1. 72
    Invizimals is a game that 'll please young and old. It's fluent, easy to learn and fun, entertaining FMV's carry it throughout its gameplay. Leveling your Invizimals is addictive and catching them never gets boring because of the large variety in Invizimals. The limitation is in the lighting, but if you manage to keep that in mind, you'll enjoy this rather inventive game.
  2. Jan 7, 2011
    71
    As it sits now though, the bigger question in the end is whether it's fun or not. In short bursts, the answer is certainly yes, especially for the pre-teen set. But, if you are looking to spend hours living the mantra "gotta catch them all", then Invizimals is one catch you'll want to let back into the wild.
  3. Games Master UK
    71
    A brilliant twist on Pokemon but it'll only appeal to youngsters. [Christmas 2009, p.78]
  4. Play UK
    71
    A quirky, engrossing and fun little portable offering. [Issue#187, p.81]
  5. Invizimals won't be toppling the house that Pikachu built, but it's at least an innovative competitor.
  6. 70
    While Invizimals' technology can't quite deliver on its ambition, it works enough of the time avoid condemnation. The real issue is the restrictiveness of the mission structure and ultimate lack of real depth to the critter combat.
  7. It's cute and clever, then, but still more than a little clunky.
  8. It's a fun game that has enough novelty value for gamers to look past its flaws. Not for adults, but kids will enjoy the mix of real world and virtual world gameplay.
  9. Invizimals is an interesting game, where you can apply with genius characteristic of PSP.
  10. Invizimals is a great idea perhaps realised too soon. It never feels as cohesive as it should due to technology limitations, and for that reason it's hard to promote it as a well constructed gaming experience. But we'd sure love to see a sequel that irons out the bugs.
  11. PSM3 Magazine UK
    62
    Will only captivate the very young. [Jan 2010, p.94]
  12. Dec 23, 2010
    60
    Invizimals wows for a while with its augmented-reality visuals, but the limits of the technology and some baffling design decisions soon shatter the illusion.
  13. 60
    Developer Novarama deserves praise for what they've accomplished with "augmented reality" gameplay on the PSP. Even though the actual game isn't anywhere near as engaging as it could be, it definitely brings more to the table than what I've seen from most other Pokemon knock-offs.
  14. The camera technology can't keep up with the game's ambition, but at least this Pokemon clone has some.
  15. Invizimals has a lot of potential as a diverse and inventive game for younger gamers. Sadly, the game shoots itself in the foot. The feeling of searching your own creatures turns into an attempt to cheat the camera and the battles are unbalanced and boring. We would welcome a sequel that improves on these points.
  16. Edge Magazine
    50
    The inadequacies of the PSP camera shatter what little illusion is conjured. At one point, Brian Blessed whispers. All is not right in the world. [Jan 2010, p.96]

Awards & Rankings

34
15
#15 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2010
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Pedro
    Nov 18, 2009
    9
    Excellent. Excellent. Excellent. These rare pearls are the ones that keep hooked to the game world. This is the first of many games that will Excellent. Excellent. Excellent. These rare pearls are the ones that keep hooked to the game world. This is the first of many games that will come with extended interface. Full Review »
  2. John
    Nov 14, 2009
    10
    Very innovative gameplay modes. A truly unique experience, using the psp as it had an accelerometer or inclinometer is quite surprising. The Very innovative gameplay modes. A truly unique experience, using the psp as it had an accelerometer or inclinometer is quite surprising. The combat is deeper than it seems at the beginning, as it becomes more complex as you keep playing. Overall a great new experience, you should have seen the face of my children. Full Review »
  3. Nov 20, 2015
    9
    I played this for ages when I first got my PSP. it had pretty good graphics compared to other games on its system, and its gameplay was alsoI played this for ages when I first got my PSP. it had pretty good graphics compared to other games on its system, and its gameplay was also fun. It may have been just walking around your house and doing mini games, but that's all Mario Party is practically. I highly recommend this game if you like games like Pokemon. Full Review »