• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Nov 15, 2005
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Negative: 4 out of 18

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 20, 2011
    3
    The best part of this game is the graphics, there phenomenal, probably one of the best looking games on the system, the voice acting is hit or miss, and the story is nothing you haven't heard before, add some boring and frustrating gameplay, and the fact that it's boring, and you've got yourself a crappy game.
  2. annomous
    Aug 3, 2007
    4
    im not sure what i missed, but i must first state that i play a fair amount of RPG's to know that the story in this game is horrable. it has substance and i give the game credit for that, but after you have spent hours of wandering around, not know that you could walk this path, or not knowing where the heck you are, then you have no choice but to give up and move on. The combo im not sure what i missed, but i must first state that i play a fair amount of RPG's to know that the story in this game is horrable. it has substance and i give the game credit for that, but after you have spent hours of wandering around, not know that you could walk this path, or not knowing where the heck you are, then you have no choice but to give up and move on. The combo system works, but not the way i expected. you can put any combo that you wish to put together, but you need freestyle scroles in order to do that and i think that there are only 4 of those. oh and don't forgett the constantley respawning enemies. in the beginning its fine because you can tare through them with ease, but later in the game, you encounter over sized beast that seem to have an infinant amount of health. and to add insult to injury, they come in numbers!! this game is fun for a while, but with little to ride upon, then this game isn't worth picking up because its a "good game". but if you should so happen to decide to buy a new game for a familly member or friend, then choose this one because its pprbly dirt cheap. oh, and after your friend or family member begins to hate you for the rest of ur life, you can make it all better for them by buying them a copy finall fantasy 2 and a lollie pop to make it all better. ps, this game is perfect for long trips because it will help you get some shut-eye. Expand
  3. NathanQ.
    Aug 30, 2007
    10
    Great game, tons of moves that you can put together to form your own combos and sweet spells for you to level up!
  4. BenH.
    Dec 9, 2005
    9
    Very cool game. Only problem is that it takes a bit of patience before you actually start getting into some action. But if yu can handle the slow start and persist you will find this is probably one of the best titles on the PSP at the moment. Well done whoever made it. Im looking forward to Tenchu.. it is looking to be good.
  5. Shin-SekaiSamurai
    Jan 11, 2006
    9
    I've been hooked on this game since I got it. The gameplay presents a very Wu-Shu-Stylized combat method that completely enthralled my Asian-fascination. I could ask for more depth but, as compared to something as dull as Untold Legends, I can't really ask for more yet other than a sequal to expand and bring more depth to the game and world! Very enjoyable and more than worth I've been hooked on this game since I got it. The gameplay presents a very Wu-Shu-Stylized combat method that completely enthralled my Asian-fascination. I could ask for more depth but, as compared to something as dull as Untold Legends, I can't really ask for more yet other than a sequal to expand and bring more depth to the game and world! Very enjoyable and more than worth the 39.99. So far this is my favourite game on the psp. Expand
  6. JamesH.
    Apr 28, 2006
    9
    Very involving game with fantastic graphics, an involving storyline and plenty of action.
  7. sinneroftheworld123foolycooly
    May 25, 2006
    10
    I was hooked to this game as soon as i started it. i gota admit the begining wasnt that great but wen i was able to do more [in a short period of time] it was a blast!
  8. ZemZ.
    Jun 28, 2007
    3
    This game should not be on the PSP. it wants to be a full fledged console game vut knew it would die if it was relesed on any other console. the cut scenes go on forever & when they end you know less then you did in the begining. the plot twists are so pathetc i saw ever single one coming. the combat is dull & repetitive but & sadly the highlight of this game however it takes you a good This game should not be on the PSP. it wants to be a full fledged console game vut knew it would die if it was relesed on any other console. the cut scenes go on forever & when they end you know less then you did in the begining. the plot twists are so pathetc i saw ever single one coming. the combat is dull & repetitive but & sadly the highlight of this game however it takes you a good half hour to get any uninterruptid time with it. also your objectivezs are vague, & ever single character is visualy unapealing. this is quit simply a bad game but if you're game starved, & very patient, you maybe able to sques a couple of drops of fun from this lemon of a game. Expand
  9. Ack
    Nov 21, 2005
    8
    PRO: good graphics, smooth motion, cool combat system CON: long load times when moving to new areas, no "JUMP", kinda difficult at the beginning.
  10. Saber
    Dec 24, 2005
    10
    Awesome game, although brings some basic graphics, but the handheld screen hides that all, super animation, absolutely fantastic Kung-Fu oriented gameplay and great oriental story, a must have for any handheld owner. I give it a perfect 10 !
  11. Jay
    Dec 28, 2005
    9
    Under rated. It was a very good game. The plot seems to jump around in places but it was still very nice and rather original. The fighting system is pretty orignal and allows tons of expansion and variety. If you are a fan of action/rpg games a must have.
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
  1. 78
    Kingdom of Paradise offers an interesting, complex combat system and blends it with above-average production values. Combat, while not perfect, is rewarding and the 15-hour quest offers a decent story and nice visuals.
  2. While Kingdom of Paradise does have several faults, the most hindering being the camera and the lack of a proper blocking mechanism, the game is still the best RPG on the PSP, and also one of the handheld’s better games.
  3. A grand RPG with a great combat idea. It is certainly deserving of more than a mere look by PSP owners and RPG fans are likely to be enthralled with the create-a-combo pack idea.