Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 68 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 81 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Step into LittleBigPlanet and discover a world of endless possibilities, where imagination is everything. Whatever you can see, you can enhance. And whatever you don’t see, you can invent. All you need is curiosity, creativity and a thirst for fun: LittleBigPlanet provides the rest! Set off with Sackboy to explore an incredible array of environments, where every object is ripe for investigation and interaction. Overcome all manner of bamboozling obstacles to gain the skills you need to build your own unique creations, then share them with the world. LittleBigPlanet brings the revolutionary PlayStation 3 hit to PSP in stunning style. Featuring the same iconic look and ground-breaking game design, with LittleBigPlanet for PSP, the power of play is in your hands. [SCEE] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 68
  2. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. LittleBigPlanet is a staggering work of game design genius. Wonderfully inventive, devilishly fun and dizzyingly vast, it deserves a little big home on every PSP on the planet.
  2. LittleBigPlanet makes a near seamless jump to the portable. While some of the content and gameplay is lost to the hardware's limitations, the presentation is as infectiously charming as ever. A robust campaign is rounded out by infinite content through user-created levels. SackBoy's new home is a perfect fit!
  3. SCEE Cambridge has done Media Molecule proud and fans of the original game won't be disappointed. PSP owners who missed out first time around should be sure to give it a go, as LittleBigPlanet is undoubtedly one of the standout titles for Sony's handheld.
  4. Little Big Planet on the PSP is a wonderful adaptation from the PS3 edition that won over our hearts last year.
  5. LittleBigPlanet PSP is a marvelous example of how a game should be adapted from one console to another even when there is a huge gap between the two in terms of processor. There is almost everything we’ve seen in the PS3 version here, all greatly adapted to Sony’s portable.
  6. LittleBigPlanet has certainly made a pretty good translation to the PSP as more of a single-player-focused experience, but that also brings with it more of a reliance upon great community levels and/or developer support with DLC to help give it replay value to be worth $40.
  7. In the original, full-sized LBP, creating more than a few seconds of playable level was a significant and time-consuming effort. Here, with slightly reduced options and at a near microscopic scale, it's much, much harder. [Jan 2010, p.93]

See all 68 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Feb 6, 2011
    10
    This game is extremely fun. It is like the portable version of the ps3 version. it is so fun it is like they just copied the ps3 one. i love the game and it is probably the best psp game ever Expand
  2. Sep 9, 2013
    9
    Incredibly charming and full of replay value, LittleBigPlanet is a unique puzzle-platformer with gorgeous sound and level design. Tons of unlockables, tons of online content, tons of fun. One of the PS3's best exclusives. Expand
  3. Oct 13, 2011
    9
    This is one of the most re-playable, freshest experiences the PSP has to offer. Although not as good looking as it's counterpart on the PS3, LittleBigPlanet delivers in every way it should, with the whole concept being unlimited. Definitely a worthy contender of the best PSP game of all time. Expand
  4. Feb 12, 2014
    9
    Littlebigplanet PSP
    Gameplay: Guerrilla Cambridge (Formerly known as SCE Cambridge) captured the essence of what made the original game
    impressive: the gameplay! The controls are fluid and Sackboy's movements are responsive. LittleBigPlanet PSP perfectly emulates its PS3 counterpart, which is, in no way, a bad thing!

    Graphics: The graphics are phenomenal; Guerrilla Cambridge did not compromise the graphical quality by bringing the series over to the PSP. The story levels and backgrounds are as vibrant and as artistic as before!

    Level Editor: The level editor is excellent! If you loved creating levels on the PS3 version, then you'll love creating them on the PSP! The tools are solid and work well. The mere thought of creating levels on-the-go should be intriguing to any fan of the series.

    Cons: The story mode is very short and the storyline is bland. In addition, this version has one less "layer" to traverse, only allowing you to play within two "layers." A huge missing feature is the ability to play online with another player. Instead, you will have to download another player's level and play it on your own.

    Verdict: This game is absolutely phenomenal! I highly recommend this game to any LittleBigPlanet fan or anyone who has yet to experience it. The level creator is solid and is perfect for anyone who is creative. The community is still around and continues to create new levels! This is a standout title and a must have PSP game!

    P.S. Search "Embodied_Requiem" on the community levels! My levels will not disappoint!
    Expand
  5. Jun 2, 2011
    8
    I find ups and downs in this game. Negatives: no pod or multiplayer.
    Positives: most of the same building materials and items of the ps3
    version. It could be better. Expand
  6. Jul 6, 2011
    8
    The LittleBigPlanet franchise is unique, cute and fun to say the least. The PS3 version is excellent, and this version being virtually the same is excellent, as well. The graphics are very good for being on a portable gaming system, and the charm is not lessened in any way. The story mode is a bit short, and I managed to collect roughly 90% of the items on the first go around. You can go back and play the levels to increase your high score though. The gameplay is the same as the original and that is a good thing. The platforming is superb and never feels boring. After the story mode, you can go on to download more levels that other players created. The creativity is just exploding in most of the levels. You can also make your own levels as in the first game using the items you collect in the story mode or online. Though I prefer LittleBigPlanet on the console, the portable version is just as fun and should be picked up if you even slightly enjoyed the original or the sequel, or if you never got to experience the original in the first place. Collapse
  7. May 30, 2012
    2
    I have no idea how this game hasn't recieved one negative review. There's so much I could say that's wrong with this game but let me just sum up my experience with it. I have never played the console version, as I don't have a ps3, so I ended up getting this to compromise. First of all the game looks quite similar to the ps3 version and plays very fluently, not to mention the developer levels are pretty fun. The problems don't begin until we get to the level editor, which I assume is the reason people buy the game.... It's a completely broken mess. Tools don't do what they're supposed to about 80% of the time, bolts, springs, pistons, even PREMADE objects like switches slowly fall apart each time you load the level, forcing you to have to delete and reconstruct over and over. By far the biggest problem is a crash bug that occurs at random when opening a project. Not only will the game crash, but corrupt the entire save data. I had to restart the game about 3 times before giving up. About half a year later I gave it another try because they released several patches to fix the various bugs, but lo and behold the crash/corrupt bug happened only a few hours into tinkering around in create mode. I'm not making any of this up, it's the most broken game I've ever played in my life and shouldn't have been released in this condition. I only gave it a 2 because at least the developer levels were playable. I really wish the best for the vita version coming out later this year, and hope it turns out better than this failure. Expand

See all 16 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Games of 2009

    The Best Games of 2009 Image
    Published: December 9, 2009
    Metacritic's Best of 2009 coverage kicks off with Games. We reveal the best-reviewed games of 2009, and rank the performance of each game platform for the year.