Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 68 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 77 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Step into LittleBigPlanet and discover a world of endless possibilities, where imagination is everything. Whatever you can see, you can enhance. And whatever you don’t see, you can invent. All you need is curiosity, creativity and a thirst for fun: LittleBigPlanet provides the rest! Set off with Sackboy to explore an incredible array of environments, where every object is ripe for investigation and interaction. Overcome all manner of bamboozling obstacles to gain the skills you need to build your own unique creations, then share them with the world. LittleBigPlanet brings the revolutionary PlayStation 3 hit to PSP in stunning style. Featuring the same iconic look and ground-breaking game design, with LittleBigPlanet for PSP, the power of play is in your hands. [SCEE] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 68
  2. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. LittleBigPlanet is a staggering work of game design genius. Wonderfully inventive, devilishly fun and dizzyingly vast, it deserves a little big home on every PSP on the planet.
  2. LittleBigPlanet makes a near seamless jump to the portable. While some of the content and gameplay is lost to the hardware's limitations, the presentation is as infectiously charming as ever. A robust campaign is rounded out by infinite content through user-created levels. SackBoy's new home is a perfect fit!
  3. SCEE Cambridge has done Media Molecule proud and fans of the original game won't be disappointed. PSP owners who missed out first time around should be sure to give it a go, as LittleBigPlanet is undoubtedly one of the standout titles for Sony's handheld.
  4. Little Big Planet on the PSP is a wonderful adaptation from the PS3 edition that won over our hearts last year.
  5. LittleBigPlanet PSP is a marvelous example of how a game should be adapted from one console to another even when there is a huge gap between the two in terms of processor. There is almost everything we’ve seen in the PS3 version here, all greatly adapted to Sony’s portable.
  6. LittleBigPlanet has certainly made a pretty good translation to the PSP as more of a single-player-focused experience, but that also brings with it more of a reliance upon great community levels and/or developer support with DLC to help give it replay value to be worth $40.
  7. In the original, full-sized LBP, creating more than a few seconds of playable level was a significant and time-consuming effort. Here, with slightly reduced options and at a near microscopic scale, it's much, much harder. [Jan 2010, p.93]

See all 68 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. tahsins
    Dec 3, 2009
    10
    "why should anyone prefer LittleBigPlanet PSP over the PS3 version, choosing the very same game with some unavoidable compromises regarding the editor?" because some people don't have ps3 eurogamer italy! and I still find it very enjoyable since this is the exact same game that we played and loved on ps3 and this is portable. lack of multiplayer is the only let down here. Expand
  2. May 18, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. es el mejor juego que e jugado es interesante con mini juegos es uno de los mejores juegos de psp según yo ya que también me gustan otros pero no interesa ya que este juego en el final hay que pelear contra king Kong Expand
  3. JamesD
    Dec 9, 2009
    10
    Screw the multiplayer component, SONY Cambridge has nailed the look and feel of the LBP universe and it has become one of the best PSP games this year, of which there have been many, but I think this is the best this year. Expand
  4. ColtinF
    Nov 19, 2009
    9
    As someone who played the first LBS single player (I only have a dial-up connection), LBP PSP was a lot of fun. However, I would never create levels on the PSP version because it's sort of a pain. But, the levels made by Sony Cambridge are a lot of fun. And seeing as there aren't many other games on PSP worth playing right now (Motorstorm is good, though), it's a must have. Expand
  5. Sep 9, 2013
    9
    Incredibly charming and full of replay value, LittleBigPlanet is a unique puzzle-platformer with gorgeous sound and level design. Tons of unlockables, tons of online content, tons of fun. One of the PS3's best exclusives. Expand
  6. Oct 13, 2011
    9
    This is one of the most re-playable, freshest experiences the PSP has to offer. Although not as good looking as it's counterpart on the PS3, LittleBigPlanet delivers in every way it should, with the whole concept being unlimited. Definitely a worthy contender of the best PSP game of all time. Expand
  7. May 30, 2012
    2
    I have no idea how this game hasn't recieved one negative review. There's so much I could say that's wrong with this game but let me just sum up my experience with it. I have never played the console version, as I don't have a ps3, so I ended up getting this to compromise. First of all the game looks quite similar to the ps3 version and plays very fluently, not to mention the developer levels are pretty fun. The problems don't begin until we get to the level editor, which I assume is the reason people buy the game.... It's a completely broken mess. Tools don't do what they're supposed to about 80% of the time, bolts, springs, pistons, even PREMADE objects like switches slowly fall apart each time you load the level, forcing you to have to delete and reconstruct over and over. By far the biggest problem is a crash bug that occurs at random when opening a project. Not only will the game crash, but corrupt the entire save data. I had to restart the game about 3 times before giving up. About half a year later I gave it another try because they released several patches to fix the various bugs, but lo and behold the crash/corrupt bug happened only a few hours into tinkering around in create mode. I'm not making any of this up, it's the most broken game I've ever played in my life and shouldn't have been released in this condition. I only gave it a 2 because at least the developer levels were playable. I really wish the best for the vita version coming out later this year, and hope it turns out better than this failure. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Games of 2009

    The Best Games of 2009 Image
    Published: December 9, 2009
    Metacritic's Best of 2009 coverage kicks off with Games. We reveal the best-reviewed games of 2009, and rank the performance of each game platform for the year.