Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 67
  2. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. My favorite PSP game. It has beautiful visuals, wonderful songs, cute characters, simple gameplay that’s easy on the go, and a lot of replay value.
  2. 95
    When I play this game, it feels utterly complete. I don't find myself thinking that they should have had this thing or left out that thing, because every single bit of it just belongs.
  3. One could blast through the game in a few hours, but that would be missing the point. LocoRoco is meant to be a game where one sits back, relaxes, and enjoys a simple game to unwind with.
  4. 94
    There is no denying that LocoRoco is the landmark PSP title. The effortless charm and relentless happiness hide one of the most complete games we've ever had the pleasure of playing. [Issue 142, p.72]
  5. The happiest game on PSP will cheer you up to no end. It's simple to pick up and play and equally hard to put down. This is the strongest handheld title we've played, well, ever. [July 2006, p.100]
  6. A refreshingly original platformer. The levels are magnificent and the physics work perfectly. [Aug 2006, p.43]
  7. A large part of what makes Loco Roco such a joy is its complete lack of traditional gaming obstacles. Levels are largely squishy, curvy, cushioned affairs with no holes of doom to fall down or bad guys to shoot. [Aug 2006, p.69]
  8. A stunning achievement in modern gaming. It is entirely in 2D and uses only three buttons, but it is one of the best games available on the PSP.
  9. A success due to a number of reasons including an inspired artistic style that is simple but strikingly beautiful, characters that are both eccentric and charming, and a catchy soundtrack that you won't get out of your head.
  10. Aside from experimental unlocks and silly novelties, the LocoRoco experience is one of undiluted fun. If the tilting, blob moving puzzle-platforming doesn't warm your heart, then the catalogue of alarmingly addictive psychotic J-Pop tunes will have you dancing around the living room.
  11. You could breeze through the game in a few short hours, but it really doesn't matter. Those few hours will be some of the most joyous of your gaming life.
  12. A beautifully blended oddball collage of colour, sound and playability. Original and inventive - it's PSP gaming at its best. [July 2006, p.86]
  13. Gloriously cheerful and refreshingly original rock 'n' roll fun.
  14. It's the game that's finally got me using the PSP again, as opposed to just my DS. Unlike so many PSP ports and rehashes, it's perfectly suited to the system and perfectly suited to handheld gaming.
  15. The best thing on PSP by some way, LocoRoco is pure fun on a little silver disc. Destined for cult status – buy it now, before everyone else tells you to. [Aug 2006, p.110]
  16. Rock-and-roll gameplay to a J-pop beat, LocoRoco is a perfectly rounded handheld puzzler.
  17. It's extremely funny but at the same time littered with dark moments as your Locos are attacked by nasty black spikey things from your childhood nightmares.
  18. If they gave this game to depressed people Xanax would be over the counter. [Sept 2006, p.66]
  19. With gameplay that you would expect to see on the DS instead of the PSP, Loco Roco is easily the most accessible title available to date and is easily one of the best titles to be seen on Sony’s handheld since its debut.
  20. 90
    It's vibrant, cheery and serves no other point than to make you smile. But, like candy, Locoroco also ends sooner than you want it to end. Still, it's fantastic while it lasts and just the kind of game you want in your pocket.
  21. So simple and challenging at the same time that it just keeps players coming back for more.
  22. With imaginative levels on snowy landscapes or inside whales, LocoRoco uses charm and simplicity of design to create something near perfection. But it’s a small perfection, charming in its childlike whimsy but as insubstantial as a summer breeze.
  23. Simplistic but addictive gameplay and bright visuals makes this an easy choice.
  24. What we have here is elementary yet cutting-edge game design, coupled with some of the cutest visuals and music you will ever experience. The game has longevity to spare as well, with numerous secrets, mini-games, and hidden paths to seek out.
  25. LocoRoco is a bit shallow, but it’s a real treat to play. Earnest and ebullient, it’s tough not to get sucked in by its atmosphere, and equally difficult to stop playing once you’ve figured it out.
  26. While the audiovisual presentation is amazing – and to be honest probably worth the price of admission – the actual gameplay can get a little stale after long gameplay sessions.
  27. All you need to do is spend a few minutes with these little creatures and you'll likely be hooked. LocoRoco is simple, inspiring, original and fun.
  28. It’s also the only title I know of that made me happy while playing it. How often can you say that about a videogame?
  29. Much like Katamari Damacy, the simple goals and controls pulled me in, and the high production values kept me playing.
  30. I could only think of one way to share how I feel about it -- mix happiness, cheerfulness, smiles and a heaping spoon of sugar and you have LocoRoco.
  31. One of the most unique games to hit all the systems. Aside from not being very long, everything else in the game works wonders, whether it be the soundtrack, graphics, or controls.
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 81 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. BogdanS
    Oct 29, 2008
    10
    Best. Game. Ever. Not only for the PSP, best game on any console. The fact that i, as a hard-core gamer that enjoys Halo, RPG's and Best. Game. Ever. Not only for the PSP, best game on any console. The fact that i, as a hard-core gamer that enjoys Halo, RPG's and Action games can enjoy this title as much as my 3 year old son says it all. If it was the only title available for the PSP it would still warrant a buy of the system. It's that good. Get the demos out there on the net and try it out for yourself. Full Review »
  2. TomD.
    Apr 19, 2007
    10
    Finally a PSP game that seems like it was made for a portable system (load time, simplicity, and addictiveness). The DS knows the formula of Finally a PSP game that seems like it was made for a portable system (load time, simplicity, and addictiveness). The DS knows the formula of portable games and this is the only PSP game out there that is any good. The music is the best ever since FFIII. Full Review »
  3. May 11, 2015
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it............................ Full Review »