• Publisher: Namco
  • Release Date: Mar 21, 2006
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 49
  2. Negative: 1 out of 49
  1. The title, although a bit short in the level variety, certainly is worth its price in other content, including one of the best senses of humor to be found in a game.
  2. Does a great job of replicating the magic of the two PS2 titles on the PSP system. Due to the controls and the repetitive level design, the game won't be stealing the spotlight of the PS2 titles, but at the same time it's still a great game that can now be played on the go. [JPN Import]
  3. Despite the lack of level diversity towards the later part of the game, everything else fits nicely into place. The control scheme efficiently uses the PSP's solo analog setup, and there are plenty of different objects, unlockable characters, and presents just begging to be discovered.
  4. 86
    A wonderfully unique offering from our wonderfully inventive friends in Japan. [Apr 2006, p.94]
  5. It captures the magic and provides the quirky, unique gameplay in portable form as faithfully as humanly possible. And there's nothing wrong with that.
  6. There is no real feeling of "competing for the conclusion" that most games have. This is really just mindless, goofy fun.
  7. Me and My Katamari disappointed me just a wee little bit with it’s limited level variety and frequent mid-level load times, and because of these faults the game isn’t as great as it could’ve and should’ve been.
  8. 8 / 9 / 8 / 8 - 33 [Dec 2005]
  9. Even though the drawbacks make for a shorter game overall, in the end, Me and My Katamari continues the already brilliant kookiness of the series, delivering a quick portable ball-rollin' fix.
  10. While it is a bit awkward at first; having a handheld Katamari game outweighs the controls compromise.
  11. Terrific fun, though sadly let down by dodgy controls and the repetition of environments. Still, in short bursts, it's one of the best games you'll get for your PSP. [Apr 2006, p.79]
  12. 80
    From the first notes of the opening tune ‘Katamari on the Funk’ to the sight of the King of All Cosmos gyrating, it’s clear this is Katamari Damacy and all fans of the franchise are sure to enjoy its first portable outing, even if the controls are not as fluid as in the previous incarnations. [JPN Import]
  13. That it’s the same game as before – albeit with new levels – isn’t that important; that you can take it with you wherever you go and enjoy it at virtually any time is. [JPN Import; Mar 2006, p.108]
  14. If you haven't already been hooked by Katamari's mad charms, then this really is the perfect place to start. [June 2006, p.87]
  15. It may have little grounding in reality, but Me & My Katamari is so unique and delightful – from the very germ of the idea through to its jaw-dropping, coherent and bursting-with-character execution – that it's one of those games you simply must play.
  16. Though a few technical concessions have been made to fit the game onto a PSP, the charm of the series still shines brightly.
  17. Thankfully, great writing and an interesting location twist keep the gimmick fresh, and the solid technical execution makes this just as playable as the original. [May 2006, p.112]
  18. Combine addictive gameplay with fun, colorful graphics and a wacky soundtrack and you have a recipe for a good time – even if it has all been done before.
  19. Perhaps a bit less imaginative than its PS2 counterparts, the game's still a quirky example of pure fun. [May 2006, p.93]
  20. Not as essential as the PS2 version, but terrific ball-rolling fun that you can enjoy anywhere you go.
  21. Portability is the game's strongest sale point. Deep down, Me & My Katamari may be the same old Katamari Damacy you've played on the PS2, but now you can play it anywhere.
  22. The lack of imagination is a big disappointment after "We Love Katamari's" colourful racetracks, fireflies and snowballs. [June 2006, p.74]
  23. 76
    Its small stage design, propensity for backtracking, and obvious slowdown and camera issues certainly keep it from being one of the premier PSP titles -- but that doesn't mean it isn't fun.
  24. A fun game when played in small doses. It's not very long and even the multi-player mode won't garner a lot of replay value.
  25. Weird and funny. It suffers from clunky controls and PSP's small screen. The special missions are a nice addition, but overall thte game is too repetitive. [Aug 2006, p.53]
  26. It doesn't take much for this game to make you smile, with its signature visual style, stunning(albeit reused)soundtrack, and overall charming presentation. [Jun 2006, p.86]
  27. This is portable Katamari, and it's fun in small spurts. Under the surface, though, there's an inescapable feeling that the series is losing some of its magic.
  28. Be warned that the control scheme is quite frustrating and the levels are reused more often than they should.
  29. In short, it’s a game with its spirit, its satisfaction and its structure intact. [Jan 2005, p.88]
  30. The bottom line is that, despite the lack of variation and awkward controls, Me & My Katamari is a genuinely addictive yet simple concept that meant that for once I was the person telling my girlfriend to 'put that down and come help with the washing up!'
  31. If you love the personality and the gameplay of the series, you'll find it all here. And if you've never played a Katamari game before, you're in for a wonderful surprise.
  32. The problem with the game lies in the fact that something so fresh 18 months ago suddenly feels a little crusty around the edges and suspiciously soft in the centre.
  33. With the most bizarre humour you're ever likely to see in a videogame, the same simple premise, the strangely hypnotic tunes and a functional stab at getting the basics right, Me & My Katamari is a thoroughly recommended title for fanatics and newcomers alike.
  34. 70
    While it may be the most lackluster chapter to date, it's still pretty entertaining -- but only in small doses. Just be aware that the price is too high and the replayability is too low.
  35. It's almost impossible to play Me & My Katamari without the Prince developing a bizarre drunken stagger, veering constantly to the right or left as you play. As Me & My Katamari retains the occasionally-unforgiving time limits of the original game, this can lead to a lot of frustrating retries.
  36. 70
    The lack of precision in controlling your Katamari really stands out when you are trying to maneuver within very tight areas.
  37. If you’re willing to relearn how to roll a Katamari and put up with some thumb strain Me and My Katamari brings everything you love about the series on the PSP. [JPN Import]
  38. 70
    While the controls aren't as counterintuitive as many have claimed them to be, the game has minor draw distance problems when you're Katamari gets too big and there're too many big objects on screen. You'll find that the game doesn't load the smaller items and you're Katamari will pick up objects that aren't even represented onscreen.
  39. This is a Katamari game in all its glory, only a bit truncated. It doesn't have the longevity or the broad appeal of its predecessors, but it has the basic spirit, which is what counts.
  40. 70
    There's plenty of ball-rolling fun to be had here, as long as you keep it to brief intervals, or as often as the pain in your hands will allow.
  41. The number of levsls has shrunk with the rest of the package, a bummer revelation that casts a minor cloud on this tropical beach party. [July 2006, p.89]
  42. But the lack of ingenuity and appealing new level designs simply spell this out as Katamari Portable instead of a blazing new experience.
  43. 68
    If all you really wanted out of life was to be able to roll up new objects and read what someone writes about them when they've been given the go-ahead to be as wacky as possible, Me & My Katamari might be enough to keep you satiated.
  44. Here's the sticking point--the game is neither as fun nor as well-made as the other Katamari games. [May 2006, p.57]
  45. This may be blasphemy, but I have a feeling Me & My Katamari would have been a really excellent game...on the Nintendo DS.
  46. The magnificence of rolling around, attaching yourself to everything that moves or doesn’t move is lost on you so called gamers, too afraid of the words of us game journalists to buy something unique, entertaining and insanely brilliant as this. Even if it isn’t great on PSP.
  47. Me & My Katamari doesn't move the series on at all - in fact, it sort of rolls it backwards a bit, what with the smaller levels, slightly shonky control system and limited multiplayer modes. Not to mention the fact that you're constantly having to play through environments you've already explored, which is just tiresome.
  48. The shortness of the experience is very disappointing, especially as this is the last game in the series, and the lack of original music simply adds to the feeling that Me & My Katamari simply isn't the game it could have been.
  49. 40
    The lack of variety in the levels was a major factor. But even more so was the constant loading and unnatural, abrupt transitions.

There are no user reviews yet.