• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metal Gear Acid Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 68 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Offering gameplay based on strategy and sharp decision-making skills, Metal Gear Acid is a turn-based, tactical espionage game requiring players to collect cards and strategically construct their own decks to complete various missions and objectives. Metal Gear Acid takes place in 2016 onOffering gameplay based on strategy and sharp decision-making skills, Metal Gear Acid is a turn-based, tactical espionage game requiring players to collect cards and strategically construct their own decks to complete various missions and objectives. Metal Gear Acid takes place in 2016 on Lobito Island, located in the fictitious Tejan Republic of South Africa. Players once again take the role of Solid Snake, the famed top-secret agent, who has been called out of his retirement when a plane is hijacked over U.S. airspace. Tasked with infiltrating an unknown terrorist organization holding passengers hostage thousands of feet in the air, players must diffuse the situation to save hundreds of innocent lives. While playing through the game, Solid Snake encounters numerous dynamic characters, including a new playable female heroine. Players will have the ability to strategically control both Solid Snake and the new female character to defeat their enemies. [Konami] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. The play mechanics are well realized and thankfully add something new the to genre. If you're a Metal Gear fan, the card collection aspect alone will make it worth you time for nostalgia's sake.
  2. Easily one of the best turn-based strategy games to come along in years. It offers a deep and flexible system of deck building and card playing, and, better still, it contains everything that has made the Metal Gear franchise so popular over the years.
  3. A rewarding experience that rewards the player for how well they play in a stage, and with an intruguing storyline.
  4. Card gameplay has some good moments but eventually just becomes monotonous.
  5. Don’t get me wrong, I’d choose real-time play over card battles any day, but that doesn’t change the fact that Acid is a unique, strategic approach to the Metal Gear universe, with enough depth to keep you coming back for more.
  6. The card battle experiment was a novel one, but the result is an unbalanced, unforgiving mess that will test your patience while you try to piece through a convoluted story. Strategy fans may dig it, but everyone else will do well to stay away.
  7. Metal Gear Acid is a decent tactical card battling game, but it is not a true Metal Gear title, and for me I expect no less.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 42
  2. Negative: 13 out of 42
  1. TOniH.
    Mar 18, 2005
    10
    Best game ever. Maybe best in Series.
  2. SenkoS.
    Apr 4, 2005
    10
    It's a great steath turn based action game.
  3. Dec 9, 2011
    10
    If you love turn based games this is a must have for the PSP. As Turn Based is a dying genre I'm glad they created Metal Gear Acid (and partIf you love turn based games this is a must have for the PSP. As Turn Based is a dying genre I'm glad they created Metal Gear Acid (and part 2). Storyline is good (8/10), graphics are quite good for a handheld (8/10) and gameplay is where this game shines (10/10). Winning cards and completing a good deck makes the game with a high replayability value. Custom missions with 'kill all enemies' takes a complete different deck then 'stay undetected'. Glad to have found the origional game in the stores today cause it really makes my collection of games for the PSP complete. Expand
  4. N!CL
    Mar 9, 2005
    8
    I haven't played the game but I have spent hours finding as much as I could about the starting lineup of the PSP including AC!D. As youI haven't played the game but I have spent hours finding as much as I could about the starting lineup of the PSP including AC!D. As you should already know, it is a card game. Most people would think that thats all nerdy... BUT i am not one of those people. Cardgames are great but the problem is that Metal Gear's are suposed to be stealth action, not [insert card game] meets [insert something else]. It will mostlikely be a great game with a deep story, but I would sugjest holding out untill all the raitings are in... (Also, check the March 2005 issue of Electronic Gaming Monthly for some breif raitings of the PSP starting line-up) Expand
  5. AB
    May 5, 2005
    6
    The PS2 has God of War, the GameCube has Resident Evil 4, the Xbox has Forza Motorsport, and the PSP has...well, it ain't Metal Gear The PS2 has God of War, the GameCube has Resident Evil 4, the Xbox has Forza Motorsport, and the PSP has...well, it ain't Metal Gear Acid, that's for sure. The level of disappointment I exhibited while playing MGA was unreal. I tried to enjoy the card-based gameplay, but enjoying a tedious bore-fest like this may be impossible. Even so, the story is still cool, and it still has the neat Metal Gear style, it just isn't as good as the console games. Expand
  6. JM
    Jun 16, 2005
    3
    Ok, I like the fact that it is Metal Gear and I've always wanted to play it, I won't play this. I have heard about how great this Ok, I like the fact that it is Metal Gear and I've always wanted to play it, I won't play this. I have heard about how great this game is, why in the heavens above did they make this the most boring game in the world!!!! Almost no one likes or ever will like card battle games, and I heard that the intro lasts for 45 MINUTES!!! WTF?!!! If you play this, you either have a bunch of time and have nothing better to do, or you were hypnotized by its name. If only this were an FPS. Expand
  7. MarcD.
    Mar 26, 2005
    0
    Mr Kojima's last 2 MGS games have left me cold. He needs to return to his old formula. The 1st and 2nd games are classics in gaming Mr Kojima's last 2 MGS games have left me cold. He needs to return to his old formula. The 1st and 2nd games are classics in gaming lore...where on earth is the series heading with this card based nonsense? Expand

See all 42 User Reviews