• Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Jun 8, 2010
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 322 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 322

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 11, 2011
    10
    oh my god... this game has sooo much content... like 80 hr of content.... its all great, more of a console game than a handheld game. the most bang for your buck. the only problem is initially overcoming the controls, once u get used to them tho its all amazing. teh best psp game avaliable
  2. Nov 29, 2011
    10
    Art in its purest form ....

    Story, design, sound, music, strategy, control, everything is perfect ... the perfect portable Metal Gear ....

    Some people will find a bit odd the control, but with practice it becomes very comfortable ... believe me .... Only the legendary Metal Gear Solid: Snake Eater and Metal Gear 4 outgrow it .... cool ...
  3. Sep 3, 2010
    9
    This game is a really good game with one of kojima's best stories yet. The story and graphics are incredibly detailed. Especially for a PSP game. The controls can be a little bit clunky at times but once you'll get used to it, and then its not noticeable anymore. The missions are fun with good level design and mixtures of stealth and action. Again this is a truly great game and should beThis game is a really good game with one of kojima's best stories yet. The story and graphics are incredibly detailed. Especially for a PSP game. The controls can be a little bit clunky at times but once you'll get used to it, and then its not noticeable anymore. The missions are fun with good level design and mixtures of stealth and action. Again this is a truly great game and should be bought by anyone with a PSP. Expand
  4. Oct 10, 2011
    10
    How do they expect me to play this? The controls are perfect instead of being all awkward and stupid like Monster Hunter, the stealth and action are both effective and fun, and there isn't nine hours of cutscenes! Just awful. Do not buy.
  5. Dec 4, 2011
    10
    Another Metal Gear Solid games,but in result,it was awesome,i can`t even describe it......the sound effects,the graphics,the gameplay,all of them was impressive.....and of course there`s a lot things we can do.And i think the fans of Metal Gear Solid would like this game,and of course,Monster Hunter,OMG.....
  6. Apr 12, 2011
    9
    The controls are horrible. Just like 90% of PSP games. The game itself is amazing in every other aspect. Story, graphics even some moments where the controls aren't so horrible the gameplay feels good.
  7. Aug 17, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. MGS Peace Walker is quite simply one hell of an achievement on the PSP. With gargantuan boss fights, a refined gameplay experience and a very solid Metal Gear brandishing, Peace Walker is simply incredible. The only gripe is with the controls being hit or miss and that some of the serious hallmarks didn't make the cut i.e hiding in lockers and movement whilst crawling. But in all this metal gear game is right up there with the series' greats and that is remarkable for a PSP game. Expand
  8. Jul 24, 2011
    9
    I thought this was a brilliant game as it gives players a chance to experience the tactical espionage that comes from all metal gear games by playing through the story and watching as Snake accepts his heritage as Big Boss and the birth of Outer Heaven. Also players have a chance to do extra missions gain weapons and capture enemy tanks and helicopter to use in your own army of soldiersI thought this was a brilliant game as it gives players a chance to experience the tactical espionage that comes from all metal gear games by playing through the story and watching as Snake accepts his heritage as Big Boss and the birth of Outer Heaven. Also players have a chance to do extra missions gain weapons and capture enemy tanks and helicopter to use in your own army of soldiers without borders Expand
  9. Aug 28, 2010
    10
    I bought my eyes closed,
    Because the game is very, very do not need any comment
    O & photography and the story, and cartoons, sounds and review of music and at the beginning of the game when it started
    Frankly, everyday to be on 3 and Sony high-definition
    by / adil khojah - saudi arabia jeddah city
  10. Aug 26, 2010
    10
    This game completely blew me away. Everything about was top notch. The graphics are on par with the PS2 and the game-play has nearly no problems. Aside from slightly clunky controls, there is absolutely nothing wrong with "Peace Walker". The thing I found most impressive was how involved you are in the role of "Big Boss". In between missions you have to organize your staff so you canThis game completely blew me away. Everything about was top notch. The graphics are on par with the PS2 and the game-play has nearly no problems. Aside from slightly clunky controls, there is absolutely nothing wrong with "Peace Walker". The thing I found most impressive was how involved you are in the role of "Big Boss". In between missions you have to organize your staff so you can develop weapons, keep morale up, discover new inventions, and even watch over soldiers in the brig and sickbay. This game has managed to combine stealth, shooter, and role-playing elements all into one package whilst still having a decent story from Kojima himself and keeping variety amongst levels, enemies and bosses. There is one thing newbies to this game should know though: this game is very difficult until you have truly mastered its controls ( three layouts to choose from) and gotten a feel for its unique style. After you have done that you wont be able to keep this game away from you. Its horribly addicting, especially for a "Solid" fan like myself. If you have a PSP buy this game. If you don't have a PSP, go buy a PSP and then get this game with it. It's that good. Not only is it fun, addicting, and innovative for the PSP, its length (15-20 hours), bonus missions and multi-player will have you playing this one for a long time to come. All I can hope is that a sequel is made, because Kojima has once again outdone himself. Expand
  11. USG
    Nov 22, 2010
    9
    My favorite PSP game; it has hours of content, a good and lengthy story, and does not feel like it's just a portable game. The co-op mode is a great addition along with your home base. But the difficulty of Peace Walker can be a little intimidating at times especially with no difficulty settings. It could easily be up-scaled to a console installment because it has so much content.
  12. Jun 30, 2011
    9
    This game is really GOOD, but the one thing you need is a little bit of patience !! At the first i found it boring but when i started playing it, i found the plot really nice. For a PSP this game is like a pool of water in a desert. It has more than 70-80 hours of gameplay. The graphics are amazingly nice for a PSP and for a game this big in length of playing time. The controls are aThis game is really GOOD, but the one thing you need is a little bit of patience !! At the first i found it boring but when i started playing it, i found the plot really nice. For a PSP this game is like a pool of water in a desert. It has more than 70-80 hours of gameplay. The graphics are amazingly nice for a PSP and for a game this big in length of playing time. The controls are a little horrid compared to previous versions of MGS. I would recommend it - BUY IT !! Its worth the money. Expand
  13. Jan 12, 2011
    9
    Great PSP game. Lots of content and fun missions. The only problems is that the missions are short, you can't save in-game and sometimes aiming can be a pain. Even with these flaws, its still a very fun PSP game.
  14. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    i didn't get to play this game on a psp, but i got it on the psn store on my ps3 and am now playing it on my vita. this is the best handheld game i have ever played; awesome missions, amazing story and leveling up your team becomes incredibly addicting. i had read that the controls were bad, but mapping the controls to the vita's second analog stick makes controlling this game a dream. iti didn't get to play this game on a psp, but i got it on the psn store on my ps3 and am now playing it on my vita. this is the best handheld game i have ever played; awesome missions, amazing story and leveling up your team becomes incredibly addicting. i had read that the controls were bad, but mapping the controls to the vita's second analog stick makes controlling this game a dream. it feels great and truly is the best game on my vita right now. i liked unit 13, but it can't come close to MGSPW in amount of awesome things to do and depth of gameplay. it's been a long time since i have played a game this comprehensively fun. this is one of those games that just makes you glad to be a gamer. Expand
  15. May 25, 2011
    10
    I am personally the biggest metal gear fan I know, and i must say that this is my favorite metal gear game. I have played and beaten every metal gear game and Peace Walker is simply amazing. It has so many amazing features like the amazing story mode, hundreds of extra ops, managing mother base, sending troops to outer ops and even making your own Metal Gear! I think all these amazingI am personally the biggest metal gear fan I know, and i must say that this is my favorite metal gear game. I have played and beaten every metal gear game and Peace Walker is simply amazing. It has so many amazing features like the amazing story mode, hundreds of extra ops, managing mother base, sending troops to outer ops and even making your own Metal Gear! I think all these amazing features as well as the awesome weapon upgrade system make Peace Walker the best yet in the series. It was the legendary Hideo Kojimas first PSP game and I believe he gave it the traditional look and feel that any Metal Gear fan should love. Expand
  16. Aug 8, 2013
    9
    In the final days of the PSP, this masterpiece came about. This game is the ending fanfare to the great (albeit flawed) PSP.

    Can you believe that the biggest MGS game is on the small PSP? And yes, this is everything you'd expect from an MGS game. The biggest addition is the management of your base. You may spent 60% of your time here, but trust me, it's FUN. You can also capture enemy
    In the final days of the PSP, this masterpiece came about. This game is the ending fanfare to the great (albeit flawed) PSP.

    Can you believe that the biggest MGS game is on the small PSP? And yes, this is everything you'd expect from an MGS game. The biggest addition is the management of your base. You may spent 60% of your time here, but trust me, it's FUN. You can also capture enemy soldiers and recruit them (yep, just like Portable Ops). The story is also quite emotional. You however should play MGS3 before playing this, as the story is heavily based on it. See how Big Boss deals with and confronts his past, and how he created Outer Heaven.

    If you have a PSP, get it. If you don't have a PSP, then it's on the MGS Collection for PS3 and 360, so you have no excuse. That said, get the PS3/360 version as the controls are better.
    Expand
  17. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    Metal Gear Solid : Peace Walker takes place before metal gear and after MGS:portable ops , MGS Games or series is the game for every HARDCORE GAMER and MGS GAMES will really give you a great experience
    (@*"Review part"*@) ------> "This game has a really thrilling and amazing story it really clears the story of big boss and it's really exciting , Well for the gameplay you must really use
    Metal Gear Solid : Peace Walker takes place before metal gear and after MGS:portable ops , MGS Games or series is the game for every HARDCORE GAMER and MGS GAMES will really give you a great experience
    (@*"Review part"*@) ------> "This game has a really thrilling and amazing story it really clears the story of big boss and it's really exciting , Well for the gameplay you must really use your brain in it because it's tactical or maybe you could just be on rampage play it with no stealth and it has many tactical movements , for the graphics it really amazing really detailed vivid and clear one of the best graphics on psp , For sounds all i can say with the sound effects is AMAZING!! when firing a gun booom really clear and plugging it with a speaker boom boom , the presentation very cool all i can say is another awesome and amazing same with the mechanics and value I'LL GIVE IT A PERFECT SCORE
    Collapse
  18. Oct 13, 2011
    9
    This is one of the best looking games on the PSP. Although there is no revolutionary gameplay here, it is the metal gear solid we all know and love brought to Sony's portable system. It is a instant classic. This game is up there with the likes of Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater and Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the patriots for being one of the best games on the platform and indeed, one ofThis is one of the best looking games on the PSP. Although there is no revolutionary gameplay here, it is the metal gear solid we all know and love brought to Sony's portable system. It is a instant classic. This game is up there with the likes of Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater and Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the patriots for being one of the best games on the platform and indeed, one of the best of all time. PSP owners should check this out. Expand
  19. Mar 14, 2012
    9
    Falls short of a perfect score due to one, blatant, flaw; the choice of platform. Contorting the control system to make up for the limited functions of the PSP could have ruined this game, but thankfully Peace Walker more than makes up for it in all other departments. Makes you rue the idea of how amazing this game could have been if it had been developed on and for the PS3, like it'sFalls short of a perfect score due to one, blatant, flaw; the choice of platform. Contorting the control system to make up for the limited functions of the PSP could have ruined this game, but thankfully Peace Walker more than makes up for it in all other departments. Makes you rue the idea of how amazing this game could have been if it had been developed on and for the PS3, like it's direct ancestor Guns of the Patriots, instead. Expand
  20. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    I spent 57:28 hours playing this beautiful game. That's something to tell about this game.
  21. May 19, 2012
    10
    a fantastic game, not only for portable devices. adding the gameplay mechanics of the previous metal gears, mixing it with portable ops mission mechanic for easy pick up and put down on the move gameplay. fantasti characters, story, music and gameplay, a must have for ant psp owner. a great insight into the legend of big boss
  22. Jul 21, 2012
    9
    This game is the best PSP game with one of kojima's best stories yet. The story and graphics are incredibly detailed. The missions are fun with good level design and mixtures of stealth and action. This is a truly great game and should be bought by anyone with a PSP.
  23. Sep 1, 2012
    10
    This game is hands down the best handheld game I've ever played. Gameplay,story, and characters all come together to make this game awesome. Buy it.
  24. Jan 28, 2014
    9
    As an intro MGS:PW sets a few years after MGS:PO , Big boss disappears and sets to make an army with the aid of KAZ. The presentation of the game is outstanding, the comic cutscene are nicely done and the story makes sense even if you aren't a follower of the Metal gear series.

    Graphics here are solid, it is very well done, the effects such as the rain and night in certain mission adds
    As an intro MGS:PW sets a few years after MGS:PO , Big boss disappears and sets to make an army with the aid of KAZ. The presentation of the game is outstanding, the comic cutscene are nicely done and the story makes sense even if you aren't a follower of the Metal gear series.

    Graphics here are solid, it is very well done, the effects such as the rain and night in certain mission adds some taste for it.

    Sounds, music and voice acting are very well done too, you can also equip a radio and listen to music
    As for gameplay missions are divided into 2 missions, Main missions which follows the story of the game and side missions to help improve soldiers, make new weapons and items as well as unlocking further content.

    MGS also returns camouflage which has grown to be better and more real
    Another nice Add on is that you can now build your base assign soldiers, scientist, doctors and send soldiers to the battlefield.

    As your base grows it will expand and your army will become stronger to develop new weapons, items and even your very own metal gear

    The game also has multiplayer modes and coop missions

    Overall MGS:PW is a great psp game I know i may have not covered detailed stuff but you have a general idea about the game
    Expand
  25. Oct 29, 2013
    9
    Best... PSP... game... ever... made.

    The only reason I gave it a 9 is because: you will need to finish a mission before you can save the game and some levels are impossible to finish.

    This game is recommended for all third-person stealth games fans.
  26. Feb 8, 2014
    10
    Amazing game for PSP. Especially game play is really comfortable than the other games. You can easily get used to it. Also, it has a great storyline. It's very gripping like the other games in the series. If you are a hardcore PSP fan, you should try this game. I can easily say that it's much better than Portable Ops.
  27. Aug 18, 2014
    9
    One of the best titles on PSP. Looks good, gameplay is good. Every boss is hard, but not impossible to defeat. makes game challenging, but not frustrating. The enviorment falls apart in places ,so you cant hide from a tank eventually the wall your behind is destroyed. Enemy AI are pretty good espeacially for PSP. This title could be good on any system.
  28. Jul 7, 2014
    10
    Two things: First of all, this game... is amazing. Why? Because you can do many things... you can even put on some camo, upgrade weapons, recruit soldiers and many other things. Second of all: To all those fans and other people who dislike this game... even if you can't crawl or even if the controls are messed up, you can still play and enjoy it. It takes some practice and skill... youTwo things: First of all, this game... is amazing. Why? Because you can do many things... you can even put on some camo, upgrade weapons, recruit soldiers and many other things. Second of all: To all those fans and other people who dislike this game... even if you can't crawl or even if the controls are messed up, you can still play and enjoy it. It takes some practice and skill... you have to be smart, but think about it before rushing... it's a tactical espionage game for God's sake... but one thing is for sure... the story is amazing, the system and graphics (for PSP) are simply the best and the side-mission are a-lot and fun. People should focus on it and play for some time, get to know the controls and you're OK! Hideo Kojima simply creates the best games... every MGS that he and his team made so far are just simply amazing. Nothing is impossible in this game, you can hide to evade the enemy alert, you can knock them out before they realise it... and so many other things. Simply amazing! Expand
  29. Nov 27, 2014
    9
    This game is one that everyone who buys it will either keep or rage to. The controls are pretty easy ( X to fire, analog stick to move, etc...) and killing enemies are pretty easy.... unless they are alerted of your presence and every bad guy comes to kill you. The story is easy to follow, and the graphics are awesome! The cut scenes are done in a graphic novel, which is awesome, but areThis game is one that everyone who buys it will either keep or rage to. The controls are pretty easy ( X to fire, analog stick to move, etc...) and killing enemies are pretty easy.... unless they are alerted of your presence and every bad guy comes to kill you. The story is easy to follow, and the graphics are awesome! The cut scenes are done in a graphic novel, which is awesome, but are sometimes boring to watch. A lot of times, you have to fight huge bosses (mostly machines) and losing to them will make you restart the level. This game also lets you knock out bad guys and recruit them by using a Fulton system. Overall, This game is one of my favorite PSP games. If you like stealth games that you can play for a long time, give this game a try and see if it fits your criteria. Expand
  30. Dec 14, 2014
    10
    The game is filled with content, gameplay has been improved compared to previous titles, the story is great and easy to follow ( somehow ) the base building system has kept me going and I'm well over 100 hours into this game and I bought it for my Xbox and psp like two weeks ago. This is outer heaven
  31. Aug 27, 2011
    0
    Metal Gear Solid : Peace Walker takes place before metal gear and after MGS:portable ops , MGS Games or series is the game for every HARDCORE GAMER and MGS GAMES will really give you a great experience
    (@*"Review part"*@) ------> "This game has a really thrilling and amazing story it really clears the story of big boss and it's really exciting , Well for the gameplay you must really use
    Metal Gear Solid : Peace Walker takes place before metal gear and after MGS:portable ops , MGS Games or series is the game for every HARDCORE GAMER and MGS GAMES will really give you a great experience
    (@*"Review part"*@) ------> "This game has a really thrilling and amazing story it really clears the story of big boss and it's really exciting , Well for the gameplay you must really use your brain in it because it's tactical or maybe you could just be on rampage play it with no stealth and it has many tactical movements , for the graphics it really amazing really detailed vivid and clear one of the best graphics on psp , For sounds all i can say with the sound effects is AMAZING!! when firing a gun booom really clear and plugging it with a speaker boom boom , the presentation very cool all i can say is another awesome and amazing same with the mechanics and value I'LL GIVE IT A PERFECT SCORE
    Collapse
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 66 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. Jan 18, 2011
    80
    From the top-notch characterizations to the ethical indecision of its cast, Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker is a significant step forward for the series's maestro.
  2. Do not wait for the PSP2. Buy a copy of this game and the hardware necessary to play it as soon as is humanly possible. You're not going to see a better marriage of technical know-how, narrative inventiveness and holy-crap-I'm-playing-a-console-game-on-a-handheld-level awe on the system.
  3. Fans of the series will like this installment and newcomers to Metal Gear Solid like me will enjoy it as well.