Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker PSP

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 66 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 406 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: METAL GEAR SOLID: PEACE WALKER takes the series in an exciting new direction with incredible visuals, as it sheds new light on well-known adversaries and allies, along with a wealth of new characters. In true METAL GEAR SOLID tradition, METAL GEAR SOLID: PEACE WALKER drops the player into aMETAL GEAR SOLID: PEACE WALKER takes the series in an exciting new direction with incredible visuals, as it sheds new light on well-known adversaries and allies, along with a wealth of new characters. In true METAL GEAR SOLID tradition, METAL GEAR SOLID: PEACE WALKER drops the player into a series of hostile scenarios, as a terrible plan for world domination is revealed. In addition to solo operations, players can team up via the game's multi-player CO-OPS (CO-operative OPerationS) mode. This extends to key gameplay advances, with players administering medical help to colleagues, sharing munitions, or providing cover for each other using the Snake formation to cover each other's blind spots. [Konami] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. There is so much here to play; it's very much two games in one. Not only do you have the single player campaign to play through, which can also be done via adhoc Co-Op, but there's also a 6 player competitive mode like Metal Gear Online.
  2. Fans of the series will like this installment and newcomers to Metal Gear Solid like me will enjoy it as well.
  3. Play UK
    92
    A masterclass in how to make a game truly suited to the PSP. [Issue#193, p.82]
  4. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    90
    Kojima's team did the best they could and it's more than good enough to call Peace Walker a genuine Metal Gear Solid 5. [Aug 2010, p.76]
  5. Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker is as ambitious PSP game, and a worthy follow-up to previous entries. Snake is back, and with Hideo Kojima exploiting our political apprehension and love for espionage thrillers, Peace Walker easily offers one of the best experiences on Sony's handheld.
  6. Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker has something for everyone. From its dynamically rich presentation and narrative, to its slowed down creeping gameplay, Peace Walker is a full Metal Gear Solid game in every sense.
  7. Horrendous difficulty spikes aside, Peace Walker is great. It has all the blisteringly beautiful visuals, impressive production values and rewarding stealth gameplay you expect from a Metal Gear game.

See all 66 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 66
  2. Negative: 5 out of 66
  1. Jan 11, 2011
    10
    oh my god... this game has sooo much content... like 80 hr of content.... its all great, more of a console game than a handheld game. the mostoh my god... this game has sooo much content... like 80 hr of content.... its all great, more of a console game than a handheld game. the most bang for your buck. the only problem is initially overcoming the controls, once u get used to them tho its all amazing. teh best psp game avaliable Expand
  2. Nov 11, 2015
    10
    OVERALL:10
    Peace Walker is my favorite Metal Gear game, The Phantom Pain included. I could not stop playing it.
    PRESENTATION:10 It has the
    OVERALL:10
    Peace Walker is my favorite Metal Gear game, The Phantom Pain included. I could not stop playing it.
    PRESENTATION:10
    It has the best music of the series, one of the best stories (presented in excellent monochrome motion comics, which I prefer to CGI), and David Hayter's (the actual Big Boss) voice. Unlike TPP, audio cassettes are organized by mission, and aren’t where PW puts its most critical plot points. My favorite line, though, (“Revolution or no revolution, you pick up a gun, and sooner or later you're going to hell. Are you prepared for that?”) isn’t in a cutscene.
    Kojima had intended PW to be MGS5 before relegating it to a device few own. Whereas TPP was a disorganized side-story adding little to the cannon, PW is integral and delivered linearly. It presents Snake heroically, but he crosses the moral thresholds (i.e. forcible drafting, child soldiers, ironically endorsing nuclear deterrence) that set up Metal Gear 1.
    Kojima's games (ZOE:2nd Runner) always push the limits of Playstation systems, and PW looks gorgeous for a PSP game. Individual leaves on a snipers’ ghillie suits hid them in the foliage and added to gameplay. The interface both in the field (damage readouts per hit) and in menus are works of art.
    CONTROL:6
    PW is a third person shooter with stealth options and close-range grab/throwing.
    Controls are always awkward in MGS games, and the fewer buttons of a PSP isn't helping. I like half-pushing the joystick to walk silently. But with only one analog nub, PW resorts to “tank” controls (left and right turn instead of strafe) so I ran in alot of accidental circles. Aiming is stilted by relying on the D-pad (or buttons). Autoaim (the "off" option just means "less") helps, but I never like autoaim. There’s not enough buttons to go around comfortably, but try “shooter” control in the menu to at least move and shoot simultaneously.
    Supposedly the PS4 version in the Metal Gear HD Collection solves these problems with dual analog controls, so I recommend that. If the HD collection didn't exist, PW would justify buying a PSP.
    Movement while prone or against a wall is absent, but was never useful in past games. The dodgeroll cancels the reload animation and is great when missiles start raining. Inexcusably, the game doesn’t pause while switching weapons/items (which controls awkwardly), limiting your ability to react in time.
    Some of the motion comics have QTE's, a horrible idea (especially the impossible torture bit). But there are 2 comic sequences with gameplay (albeit simple)--aiming at the kidnapper and horse-galloping between missiles; more of those would have been nice.
    Stealth improves as you unlock items. My favorite trick is tossing a smoke grenade, running in with nightvision goggles, and chain-throwing a whole group.
    The E3 2013 trailer for MGS:TPP intermittently sped up, and I wish there was a 3x-normal "speed-up button" in PW (not just 12-hr-blocks like the TPP Phantom Cigar) while sneaking, to relieve the annoyance of waiting for guards to turn around and walk away.
    The key selling point is the boss battles. The mechanical behemoths have various patterns and multiple targets, so combat involves prioritizing either weak points or specific parts to stop different attack patterns. Cocoon is almost a "Shadow of the Colossus" with guns. Missions where a tank/helicopter is protected by soldiers best integrate all the gameplay elements.
    DESIGN:10
    TPP lifted its best elements from PW, primarily Fulton extraction, which ties the upgrade system to motivation to play stealthily. "Auto-assign" and signposting which upgrades are ready streamline what would otherwise be a chore. PW isn't open-world, but I like that: missions are short enough to play in bursts.
    Multiplayer is amazing, the one time I could find someone to try it with. There's nothing like taking on a boss or sneaking through a level co-op.
    Others have complained of onerous requirements to beat PW (Chapter 5), but it's just that many things are hidden (Google the Straw Box, Monster Hunter levels, and the last Zadornov). I never felt like I had to "farm" levels since I didn’t care about trying out every gun.
    Some of its coolest items are locked until the late game, when the necessary missions are available. What’s the point of new ways to extract after your base is maxed out? Or of newer guns after you’ve beaten every boss? You do unlock enough, at a steady enough stream, to get everything you really need just from the main missions. And there's little motivation to switch out the M16 and LAW. I appreciate that PW lets you take the lower-level versions into battle to preserve challenge on easy missions. Similarly, you shouldn’t skip to the hardest Extra Ops until you have the better guns.
    PW is enormous, 20 hrs+ even without unlocking everything, and it never got boring. Even if you didn’t like previous Metal Gears or already saw the cutscenes on Youtube, get PW for the boss battles alone. But get the HD Collection on PS3.
    Expand
  3. May 19, 2012
    10
    a fantastic game, not only for portable devices. adding the gameplay mechanics of the previous metal gears, mixing it with portable opsa fantastic game, not only for portable devices. adding the gameplay mechanics of the previous metal gears, mixing it with portable ops mission mechanic for easy pick up and put down on the move gameplay. fantasti characters, story, music and gameplay, a must have for ant psp owner. a great insight into the legend of big boss Expand
  4. Nov 27, 2014
    9
    This game is one that everyone who buys it will either keep or rage to. The controls are pretty easy ( X to fire, analog stick to move,This game is one that everyone who buys it will either keep or rage to. The controls are pretty easy ( X to fire, analog stick to move, etc...) and killing enemies are pretty easy.... unless they are alerted of your presence and every bad guy comes to kill you. The story is easy to follow, and the graphics are awesome! The cut scenes are done in a graphic novel, which is awesome, but are sometimes boring to watch. A lot of times, you have to fight huge bosses (mostly machines) and losing to them will make you restart the level. This game also lets you knock out bad guys and recruit them by using a Fulton system. Overall, This game is one of my favorite PSP games. If you like stealth games that you can play for a long time, give this game a try and see if it fits your criteria. Expand
  5. Aug 18, 2014
    9
    One of the best titles on PSP. Looks good, gameplay is good. Every boss is hard, but not impossible to defeat. makes game challenging, butOne of the best titles on PSP. Looks good, gameplay is good. Every boss is hard, but not impossible to defeat. makes game challenging, but not frustrating. The enviorment falls apart in places ,so you cant hide from a tank eventually the wall your behind is destroyed. Enemy AI are pretty good espeacially for PSP. This title could be good on any system. Expand
  6. Mar 14, 2012
    9
    Falls short of a perfect score due to one, blatant, flaw; the choice of platform. Contorting the control system to make up for the limitedFalls short of a perfect score due to one, blatant, flaw; the choice of platform. Contorting the control system to make up for the limited functions of the PSP could have ruined this game, but thankfully Peace Walker more than makes up for it in all other departments. Makes you rue the idea of how amazing this game could have been if it had been developed on and for the PS3, like it's direct ancestor Guns of the Patriots, instead. Expand
  7. Feb 25, 2012
    1
    This game should be called SNAKE'S REVENGE 2: Big Boss Revenge, because this is game as bad as 1st version of Metal Gear 2, known as Snake'sThis game should be called SNAKE'S REVENGE 2: Big Boss Revenge, because this is game as bad as 1st version of Metal Gear 2, known as Snake's revenge was.
    Before blind fanboys started to drop bricks out of their body and yelling that im not a fan of MGS and should GTFO let me introduce myself: I played Metal Gear since 1990 year, when most of you, kids, not even existed in this word, i started from both Metal Gear and Metal Gear 2: Solid Snake on MSX, and i played every freaking game of series on every platform during 22 years, i know every detail about story better than Kojima knows his story, in Russian fan community im a well known as "alive walking bipedal MGS encyclopedia" and i could tell you whole story better than MGS database or wikia, in addition to this im admin and co-owner of most popular russian MGS community site and biggest social network group dedicated to Metal Gear series and Hideo Kojima... but im not a fan, I am a true connoisseur of Metal Gear series (some people call us hardcore orthodox fans), and i hate been called a fan. Because there is a difference - fan is usually a blind brainless zombie who will buy and love automatically everything with favorite title on the box, and true connoisseur have brains, not blind, can see whats good and whats bad in fav ttitle, and isnt tied to title, but tied to the core of awesomeness of this title and do not accept everything with title, especially if this everything have nothing else but title, and the core of awesomeness of original is lost.
    This is what happened to Snake Revenge and BigBoss Revenge aka PeaceWalker - despite this game have Metal Gear Solid title and shares some character and tries to glue MGS3 and MG1, its lost core of awesomeness of original MG and MGS, and its totally not acceptable as MGS game!
    Why? 1st the story (MINOR SPOILERS AHEAD) - its adds nothing but a nonsense far-fetched slapstick in best tradition of the cheapest and most stupid commercial anime, whole Outer-Heaven and Patriots idea was already explained in Portable ops, and back then it was more like a traditional MGS game story-wise, not its explains unnecessary things so stupid way so it adds nothing but frustration and ocean of plot-holes. Metal Gears in 1974 have AI that sings a songs, and they looks tech-more advance than any metal gear from 1995-2015 era (MG1-MGS4 - why the heck the pilot needed for it they had AI in 1974?), add to this stupidity of Boss ghost in this machine, loli-teen-super-double-agent-girl Paz, gay looking Miller with wrong age and face of Liquid (while in MG2 he was asian brunet), and more stupid RETCONs, metacritic dont have enough of space to explain this full... but trust me this game story should be totally retconed out of MGS timeline and forgotten just like Snake's Revenge.
    Not gameplay: THIS IS ISNT STEALTH GAME! AI is dumber than in original MGS1 on PSone, they are blind, deaf, stupid and rushing like tanks, u cant crawl anymore, cant move when pushed yourself to wall, cant move bodies, instead you can shoot stupid baloons into their asses so they can fly high through the ceiling like some ghost (how come Kojima could not prevent usage of fulton indoors?), stupid love, tank, ambulance and other weird boxes, stupid motherbase managment, tinny boring levels, awful controls (which was much better in portable ops btw), terrible frustrating akwardk, clunky and fuzzy action oriented gameplay, totally unrealistic and too conditional gameplay (oh lets pretend that this heavy-armored Snake is silent and invisible like a ninja ghost! lets pretend nobody hear they heli when we use fultons, lets pretend nobody hear sound of explosion, lets pretend you cant crawl and do most of things you was able to do since Metal Gear 2) - after Splinter Cell, Hitman, Riddick and Thief - this utter crap doesnt even smell like stealth and makes me want to puke and burn PW UMD (btw google for it, we actually going to burn PeaceWalker disk in fire for all the frustration it gave us)... this game lost everything good most of us love MG1-2 and MGS1-2 for! This is poorly designed, poorly written awkward unnecessary sequel to a finished Metal Gear story (which also screws up storyline pretty bad by many plot holes and stupidity that should not be in MGS time line) by a tired Kojima, who already jumped the shark and really needs to stop making unwanted MGS sequels after MGS 4 and should move on to something else. Konami gone Activision and turned MGS into their Call of Duty and milking that dead cow every year now, and this milk smells and tastes more and more like a rotten dead body, which should have been buried few years ago and rest in peace now, instead of peace walking . And Peace walker is that poisonous milk that makes me sick and forces me to puke!
    MGS & MGS 2 was real masterpieces, while PeaceWalker exploits their success just like Snake's Revenge and casts the shadow of shame on entire series, it should not exist at all as well as MGS 5!
    Expand

See all 66 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2010
#2 Most Shared PSP Game of 2010