• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 66 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 345 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: METAL GEAR SOLID: PEACE WALKER takes the series in an exciting new direction with incredible visuals, as it sheds new light on well-known adversaries and allies, along with a wealth of new characters. In true METAL GEAR SOLID tradition, METAL GEAR SOLID: PEACE WALKER drops the player into aMETAL GEAR SOLID: PEACE WALKER takes the series in an exciting new direction with incredible visuals, as it sheds new light on well-known adversaries and allies, along with a wealth of new characters. In true METAL GEAR SOLID tradition, METAL GEAR SOLID: PEACE WALKER drops the player into a series of hostile scenarios, as a terrible plan for world domination is revealed. In addition to solo operations, players can team up via the game's multi-player CO-OPS (CO-operative OPerationS) mode. This extends to key gameplay advances, with players administering medical help to colleagues, sharing munitions, or providing cover for each other using the Snake formation to cover each other's blind spots. [Konami] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. There is so much here to play; it's very much two games in one. Not only do you have the single player campaign to play through, which can also be done via adhoc Co-Op, but there's also a 6 player competitive mode like Metal Gear Online.
  2. Fans of the series will like this installment and newcomers to Metal Gear Solid like me will enjoy it as well.
  3. 92
    A masterclass in how to make a game truly suited to the PSP. [Issue#193, p.82]
  4. Kojima's team did the best they could and it's more than good enough to call Peace Walker a genuine Metal Gear Solid 5. [Aug 2010, p.76]
  5. Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker is as ambitious PSP game, and a worthy follow-up to previous entries. Snake is back, and with Hideo Kojima exploiting our political apprehension and love for espionage thrillers, Peace Walker easily offers one of the best experiences on Sony's handheld.
  6. Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker has something for everyone. From its dynamically rich presentation and narrative, to its slowed down creeping gameplay, Peace Walker is a full Metal Gear Solid game in every sense.
  7. Horrendous difficulty spikes aside, Peace Walker is great. It has all the blisteringly beautiful visuals, impressive production values and rewarding stealth gameplay you expect from a Metal Gear game.

See all 66 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 59
  2. Negative: 5 out of 59
  1. Jan 11, 2011
    10
    oh my god... this game has sooo much content... like 80 hr of content.... its all great, more of a console game than a handheld game. the mostoh my god... this game has sooo much content... like 80 hr of content.... its all great, more of a console game than a handheld game. the most bang for your buck. the only problem is initially overcoming the controls, once u get used to them tho its all amazing. teh best psp game avaliable Collapse
  2. May 11, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of my favorite games. I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it.. Expand
  3. May 19, 2012
    10
    a fantastic game, not only for portable devices. adding the gameplay mechanics of the previous metal gears, mixing it with portable opsa fantastic game, not only for portable devices. adding the gameplay mechanics of the previous metal gears, mixing it with portable ops mission mechanic for easy pick up and put down on the move gameplay. fantasti characters, story, music and gameplay, a must have for ant psp owner. a great insight into the legend of big boss Expand
  4. [Anonymous]
    Jun 14, 2010
    9
    Simply the best portable game I have ever played. Exciting story, excellent controls, deep base management, and tons of bonuses and extras to Simply the best portable game I have ever played. Exciting story, excellent controls, deep base management, and tons of bonuses and extras to keep you playing, even after the credits roll. Almost every mission can be played co-op as well. The missions are actually quite carried, having you perform a large variety of tasks keeps it interesting. The cut scenes are somewhat interactive, and more so than simple QTE sequences; occasionally for hilarious results. The story however feels extremely Japanese for better and for worse. At times it's serious cometary on nuclear proliferation and deterrence, other times it's singing robots and nonsensical conspiracy theories about the CIA trying to toast The Boss with cosmic rays. The story focuses on the events at the end of MGS3, as Snake is quite shaken by the experience tries to figure out if The Boss' decision at the end was because it was her mission, or her own personal goal. It has several parts that are quite moving, but ultimately draws no meaningful conclusion. Expand
  5. Jan 28, 2014
    9
    As an intro MGS:PW sets a few years after MGS:PO , Big boss disappears and sets to make an army with the aid of KAZ. The presentation of theAs an intro MGS:PW sets a few years after MGS:PO , Big boss disappears and sets to make an army with the aid of KAZ. The presentation of the game is outstanding, the comic cutscene are nicely done and the story makes sense even if you aren't a follower of the Metal gear series.

    Graphics here are solid, it is very well done, the effects such as the rain and night in certain mission adds some taste for it.

    Sounds, music and voice acting are very well done too, you can also equip a radio and listen to music
    As for gameplay missions are divided into 2 missions, Main missions which follows the story of the game and side missions to help improve soldiers, make new weapons and items as well as unlocking further content.

    MGS also returns camouflage which has grown to be better and more real
    Another nice Add on is that you can now build your base assign soldiers, scientist, doctors and send soldiers to the battlefield.

    As your base grows it will expand and your army will become stronger to develop new weapons, items and even your very own metal gear

    The game also has multiplayer modes and coop missions

    Overall MGS:PW is a great psp game I know i may have not covered detailed stuff but you have a general idea about the game
    Expand
  6. Oct 13, 2011
    9
    This is one of the best looking games on the PSP. Although there is no revolutionary gameplay here, it is the metal gear solid we all know andThis is one of the best looking games on the PSP. Although there is no revolutionary gameplay here, it is the metal gear solid we all know and love brought to Sony's portable system. It is a instant classic. This game is up there with the likes of Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater and Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the patriots for being one of the best games on the platform and indeed, one of the best of all time. PSP owners should check this out. Expand
  7. Apr 8, 2011
    1
    !NOTE: this review applys to MGS fans only, anyone else will probably find this game refreshing and new

    i got this game a long time ago, and
    !NOTE: this review applys to MGS fans only, anyone else will probably find this game refreshing and new

    i got this game a long time ago, and i think ive only just come to terms with the solid fact: hideo kojima has failed us all
    i am baffled.... simply baffled at how highly this game is reviewed, i am a hardcore mgs fan, and ive loved every metal gear game to ever come out (even the acid ones! D:) up until this one....

    i dont understand how portable ops scored lower than this game, since this game essentially feels like a majorly trimmed down version of it (as far as actual gameplay goes)

    the campaign is much much larger than mgs:po... but that in itself is a bad thing, its like asking would you rather eat a bar of chocolate or a huge pile of feces?

    go figure

    >you cant crawl
    >you cant move while flattened on walls
    >sneaking is VERY difficult without making noise because of the fail analogue stick sensitivity
    >the whole game is based around coop
    >the coop is terrible
    >the entire control scheme has been messed up, and i mean messed up, beyond how you could even imagine it!
    >the soldier recovery system is cheap (yeah they managed to make lifting a soldier into a truck actually look good compared to it)
    >the bosses are generic and boring, more resemblant of devil may cry bossfights
    >it is almost impossible to hide and evade alert
    >'CQC' is highly focused on, one problem, it pretty much doesnt exist
    >the story is boorish, i began playing desperate to find out the missing plot to outer heaven, but it made me actually stop caring...
    >when you are detected (and you will be many times due to bad controls) the only way to evade death is to knock out all emenies in the area, and the only effective way to do that in this game is to throw them multiple times, so basically this 'SNEAKING' game consists of snake, or as i like to call him 'SUPER THROW MAN 200000'en desu!' with a snake costume sprinting through small linear areas and simply throwing every poor soul who gets in his way to the ground.

    this is not a metal gear solid game.
    dont let the title fool you.
    mgs is dead as of mgs4.
    what a sad way to end it all :(
    Expand

See all 59 User Reviews