• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 66 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 335 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: METAL GEAR SOLID: PEACE WALKER takes the series in an exciting new direction with incredible visuals, as it sheds new light on well-known adversaries and allies, along with a wealth of new characters. In true METAL GEAR SOLID tradition, METAL GEAR SOLID: PEACE WALKER drops the player into aMETAL GEAR SOLID: PEACE WALKER takes the series in an exciting new direction with incredible visuals, as it sheds new light on well-known adversaries and allies, along with a wealth of new characters. In true METAL GEAR SOLID tradition, METAL GEAR SOLID: PEACE WALKER drops the player into a series of hostile scenarios, as a terrible plan for world domination is revealed. In addition to solo operations, players can team up via the game's multi-player CO-OPS (CO-operative OPerationS) mode. This extends to key gameplay advances, with players administering medical help to colleagues, sharing munitions, or providing cover for each other using the Snake formation to cover each other's blind spots. [Konami] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. There is so much here to play; it's very much two games in one. Not only do you have the single player campaign to play through, which can also be done via adhoc Co-Op, but there's also a 6 player competitive mode like Metal Gear Online.
  2. Fans of the series will like this installment and newcomers to Metal Gear Solid like me will enjoy it as well.
  3. 92
    A masterclass in how to make a game truly suited to the PSP. [Issue#193, p.82]
  4. Kojima's team did the best they could and it's more than good enough to call Peace Walker a genuine Metal Gear Solid 5. [Aug 2010, p.76]
  5. Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker is as ambitious PSP game, and a worthy follow-up to previous entries. Snake is back, and with Hideo Kojima exploiting our political apprehension and love for espionage thrillers, Peace Walker easily offers one of the best experiences on Sony's handheld.
  6. Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker has something for everyone. From its dynamically rich presentation and narrative, to its slowed down creeping gameplay, Peace Walker is a full Metal Gear Solid game in every sense.
  7. Horrendous difficulty spikes aside, Peace Walker is great. It has all the blisteringly beautiful visuals, impressive production values and rewarding stealth gameplay you expect from a Metal Gear game.

See all 66 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 58
  2. Negative: 5 out of 58
  1. Jan 11, 2011
    10
    oh my god... this game has sooo much content... like 80 hr of content.... its all great, more of a console game than a handheld game. the mostoh my god... this game has sooo much content... like 80 hr of content.... its all great, more of a console game than a handheld game. the most bang for your buck. the only problem is initially overcoming the controls, once u get used to them tho its all amazing. teh best psp game avaliable Expand
  2. Mar 21, 2015
    10
    I don't play PSvita or PSP, because in this platform you can put some greats storylines on the games (and i love the story on games). this wasI don't play PSvita or PSP, because in this platform you can put some greats storylines on the games (and i love the story on games). this was the reason that i am a Metal Gear fan.

    I don't put a 10 on all the metal Gear games bacause i am a fan, i am a fan because i considered the games deserved a 10.

    And i guess this deserves a 10 too.

    I mean if you compared this to a overall PS2 or PS3 game, maybe it deserve a 7 or 8. But this was for PSP. I can really imagine another great game on the PSP console.

    Kojima adapted the gameplay and the scenarios of metal Gear for this platform, and this was bigger on graphics than portable Ops.

    The bosses fights was really good, even than the bosses are only machines was really goods.

    At the beggining i wasn't to interested on the Mother Base thing, but even that it's so catchy i send my army to fight and was cool fight with tanks and helicopters for your army can use on the war.

    The thing that i most like, (like all the Metal Gear saga it's the history). How Kojima can create such a great storyline and put it in the PSP was incredible, the only way to do it was on the comic thing.

    I love the fact than the story is on LatinAmerica, the return of the Cold War thing, the importance of master Miller and for Huey.

    The end of The Boss storyline. The cassetes tapes too.

    And the final battle with Peace Walker, i didn't have development the Supply box from Miller, and was out of ammo 2 times after playing something like 30 minutes, and then when i kill Peace Walker i didn't press the triangule button....Really good experience playing this game.

    never expect to have so much funny with a PSP game and for that i give this a 10!
    Expand
  3. May 19, 2012
    10
    a fantastic game, not only for portable devices. adding the gameplay mechanics of the previous metal gears, mixing it with portable opsa fantastic game, not only for portable devices. adding the gameplay mechanics of the previous metal gears, mixing it with portable ops mission mechanic for easy pick up and put down on the move gameplay. fantasti characters, story, music and gameplay, a must have for ant psp owner. a great insight into the legend of big boss Expand
  4. JonathanW.
    Jun 11, 2010
    9
    Wonderful game. It was just so much fun with the stealth, the occasional action, managing my recruits, and playing co-op. It is by far the Wonderful game. It was just so much fun with the stealth, the occasional action, managing my recruits, and playing co-op. It is by far the best game on the PSP. Expand
  5. Jun 30, 2011
    9
    This game is really GOOD, but the one thing you need is a little bit of patience !! At the first i found it boring but when i started playingThis game is really GOOD, but the one thing you need is a little bit of patience !! At the first i found it boring but when i started playing it, i found the plot really nice. For a PSP this game is like a pool of water in a desert. It has more than 70-80 hours of gameplay. The graphics are amazingly nice for a PSP and for a game this big in length of playing time. The controls are a little horrid compared to previous versions of MGS. I would recommend it - BUY IT !! Its worth the money. Expand
  6. Jul 24, 2011
    9
    I thought this was a brilliant game as it gives players a chance to experience the tactical espionage that comes from all metal gear games byI thought this was a brilliant game as it gives players a chance to experience the tactical espionage that comes from all metal gear games by playing through the story and watching as Snake accepts his heritage as Big Boss and the birth of Outer Heaven. Also players have a chance to do extra missions gain weapons and capture enemy tanks and helicopter to use in your own army of soldiers without borders Expand
  7. Apr 8, 2011
    1
    !NOTE: this review applys to MGS fans only, anyone else will probably find this game refreshing and new

    i got this game a long time ago, and
    !NOTE: this review applys to MGS fans only, anyone else will probably find this game refreshing and new

    i got this game a long time ago, and i think ive only just come to terms with the solid fact: hideo kojima has failed us all
    i am baffled.... simply baffled at how highly this game is reviewed, i am a hardcore mgs fan, and ive loved every metal gear game to ever come out (even the acid ones! D:) up until this one....

    i dont understand how portable ops scored lower than this game, since this game essentially feels like a majorly trimmed down version of it (as far as actual gameplay goes)

    the campaign is much much larger than mgs:po... but that in itself is a bad thing, its like asking would you rather eat a bar of chocolate or a huge pile of feces?

    go figure

    >you cant crawl
    >you cant move while flattened on walls
    >sneaking is VERY difficult without making noise because of the fail analogue stick sensitivity
    >the whole game is based around coop
    >the coop is terrible
    >the entire control scheme has been messed up, and i mean messed up, beyond how you could even imagine it!
    >the soldier recovery system is cheap (yeah they managed to make lifting a soldier into a truck actually look good compared to it)
    >the bosses are generic and boring, more resemblant of devil may cry bossfights
    >it is almost impossible to hide and evade alert
    >'CQC' is highly focused on, one problem, it pretty much doesnt exist
    >the story is boorish, i began playing desperate to find out the missing plot to outer heaven, but it made me actually stop caring...
    >when you are detected (and you will be many times due to bad controls) the only way to evade death is to knock out all emenies in the area, and the only effective way to do that in this game is to throw them multiple times, so basically this 'SNEAKING' game consists of snake, or as i like to call him 'SUPER THROW MAN 200000'en desu!' with a snake costume sprinting through small linear areas and simply throwing every poor soul who gets in his way to the ground.

    this is not a metal gear solid game.
    dont let the title fool you.
    mgs is dead as of mgs4.
    what a sad way to end it all :(
    Expand

See all 58 User Reviews