Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 27 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Need for Speed SHIFT brings a true driver's experience to some of the world's most iconic racing tracks, including the storied Brand's Hatch in the UK. The game also features the largest roster of high-performance cars in Need for Speed history including race cars such as the Pagani Zonda F, Porsche 911 GT2 and Lotus Elise. Players are thrust into the loud, intense, and athletic experience of racing a car from the driver's perspective through the combination of perception based G-forces, the hyper reality of the cockpit view, and the all-new brutally disorienting crash dynamic. Need for Speed SHIFT features an accurate, accessible physics-based driving model that allows you to feel every impact, every change of track surface and every last bit of grip as you push yourself to the edge. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. If it's fast-paced racing you crave, and you don't care about adjusting every nut and bolt on your car, then Shift is an excellent game that exceeds expectations in all areas.
  2. An amazing game that is as the other games of the Need for Speed series well established. There is always something new you can discover and there are always new cars, which are waiting to be driven.
  3. Although the game carries the name SHIFT, don’t expect a faithful simulation replica of the console version. While it’s not your perfect racer, it packs enough punch to entertain you at a reasonable price. Now, if you have played Gran Turismo, you might see it as a huge backward step but let’s be reasonable here…EA Bright Light didn’t took five years to develop this one.
  4. An arcade racing with an incredible number of game modes.
  5. Need for Speed Shift for PSP is a different game compared with the other versions. This time the game offers a full arcade style. The long career mode is a little restrictive but it has a great variety in races. It has some problems issues in the gameplay, with only 15 circuits a little repetitive. A little better than the last NFS: Undercover version on PSP but still so far of the best games in this genre like Gran Turismo or Midnight Club L.A Remix.
  6. The PSP effort really could've used a little more of the full-sized version's actual evolution. [Dec 2009, p.81]
  7. Just not very good. [Christmas 2009, p.116]

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. DavanteN
    Dec 30, 2009
    10
    I love this game!Mostly for the exotic cars.This game aslo have great graphics and the cars in this game are really fast.and easy to drive.i learned from playing Gran Turismo 5 Prolouge Expand
  2. HiroM
    Sep 23, 2009
    9
    This game is much more arcade style than the other versions. The graphics and effects are some of the best I've seen on a PSP racer (reminds me a little of burnout). The rain effects are amazing! I like the livery editor too, it's cool to import your own pictures onto the cars. I am really enjoying playing through the career mode, there is a lot of variety in the events. The only downside is that it is not really a simulation game. But for pure fun, this is one of the best racers I've played for a long time. Expand
  3. BS
    Sep 26, 2009
    9
    Ok, first of all this is not a simulation game like its console brothers. It's an arcade game that fits quite well into the handheld pick-up and play for 10 minutes scenario yet substantial enough to play for 5 hours straight. The graphics are pretty good, almost as good as Midnight Club LA Remix's, the only downside being that it users sprites for trees and spectators and cars do not have translucent windows (no biggie really). The car customization is "streamlined", meaning that you have no input into deciding what gets updated, the game will reward you with engine, turbo, tires, body and custom vynils. There are certainly less customization options than previous NFS games but they do offer a slight performance boost for your car. Speaking of cars, it boasts the new VW Scirocco, Lotus Exige S, Acura NSX, Audi R8, Porsche Cayman S, Ford GT, Porsche Carrera GT, Aston Martin DBR9, Lambos, Zonda F, Koenigsegg CCX, BMW M3 GT2 and Bugatti Veyron (yes!). 26 cars in total. They all sound nice, different and real-like and the sountrack is one of the best i've seen in a racing game. It's slightly reduced from the console version but the 5 or so tracks that were removed were awful, so i see that as a benefit. Plus it has custom soundtracks, it will play whatever mp3's you have on your stick (if you do, that is :D). The gameplay is tight, pretty easy at times but very challenging at parts, perfect to get you hooked. It will last you for 15 to 20 hours, so it's pretty short but it does have some replay value if you try to unlock the upgrades for your favourite cars. Overall, a solid 9 due to being slightly short and only 7 cities with various track variations (short, standard, extended, and two sprints). But a really good racing game and thumbs up for the weather variations. Expand
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    6
    Cool fast-paced game, this PSP game is actually cool (don't let the negative ratings fool you, this game is actually cool as hell.).

    Need
    for Speed: Shift is a great game where you can have fun for a few minutes if you're waiting for something or if you just want to sit back, relax and play Need for Speed: Shift. Expand
  5. lolZ0RZ
    Jan 8, 2010
    5
    After I read about what it was supposed to be, I was pissing my pants to get it at the store. When I opened it, it looked pretty good. When I got to the racing, I was kind of bored. The interpretation of "drift" is hardly real, but it fells real-ish. To straighten out your car, all you have to do is tap whichever direction you need to countersteer in, and BOOM!, your going in a straight line. You can't spin out, which really deters from the realism. But since it's not by Slightly Mad and by BriteLight, I guess I can't really expect them to be all the same. Most of the cars have dissapeared, too. All the tracks are just streets with barriers, the damage only happens when you slam into something, and when you do the modeling kind of sucks.Its for the PSP though so what can you really expect. Perfect for an arcade racer, but if you want a real sim, go for Gran Turismo (NO DAMAGE THOUGH:(!!!!!) Expand
  6. DonP
    Sep 15, 2009
    4
    Wow, while they have upped their game physics wise, the handheld NFS "port" lacks any viable customization options, and has a horrible representation of drifting. Expand
  7. Courteouspunk
    Sep 19, 2009
    3
    I am quoting right from the PSP game's description:

    "Players are thrust into the loud, intense, and athletic experience of racing a
    car from the driver's perspective through the combination of perception based G-forces, the hyper reality of the cockpit view, and the all-new brutally disorienting crash dynamic."

    There is NO COCKPIT VIEW on the PSP. We have all played this game before. There is nothing new.
    Expand

See all 8 User Reviews