Need for Speed Underground Rivals PSP

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. NikoWhite
    Mar 7, 2005
    10
    So good! I couldn't put it down until the battery went dead on my PSP! A recommended buy
  2. BobJ.
    Aug 3, 2005
    10
    Best game so far so fun u can play it over and over again sick game i would recomend it to anyone who likes racers.
  3. AlexM.
    Apr 20, 2005
    10
    Very good game. you never get bored of it, it actualy makes you want to beet it. you cant beat that evolution baby.
  4. ChadworthK.
    Apr 5, 2005
    9
    Much better than Ridge Racer.
  5. BobV.
    Jun 9, 2005
    10
    this game is a game unlike none others. this game has a point unlike mercury. you get a lot of cars and you get more races than i secpected. no not a racist where people judge other people by there heritage but you can race as in the first person.
  6. jokop.
    Aug 27, 2005
    9
    GOOD!!!
  7. DavidG.
    Oct 3, 2005
    10
    Played this and Ridge Racer. I found Ridge Racer to be sterile, and boring. Racing through the city, with delivery trucks and other cars sharing the road, adds so much to NFS. Overall, a much more enjoyable experience. The mini games (drift attack, drag, etc) add some diversionary fun to the game as well.
  8. JeffreyL.
    Oct 6, 2005
    10
    i love the customization, the overall underground feel, would be nice with storyline.
  9. ZoeD.
    Mar 20, 2005
    10
    Supberb game. Looks great, fun racing!!!
  10. John
    Mar 23, 2005
    10
    Definitely a 10. Brilliant complete game. Nothing is missing. Exciting tracks, great cars and features, cooool soundtrack. Worth the money.
  11. [Anonymous]
    Mar 4, 2005
    10
    Impressive graphics, great speed sensation, all the thrills of the full version on PSP!
  12. Bertie
    Apr 4, 2005
    10
    Blows away Ridge Racers. I got bored of Ridge Racers in a day. Can't get enough of this game! Looks fantastic and is just so much more fun. I also ran out of batteries playing it.
  13. SamT.
    Jun 11, 2005
    9
    This is probably the best game for the PSP so far. There is a great selection of hot cars including imports and American muscle cars which are beautifully displayed bu the game's great graphics and sound. Plenty of races and has lots of replay value. The Drift mode is the only flaw, which should have been more like the console game's version of the Drift mode.
  14. Oct 1, 2012
    8
    I will not rate this game as high as the other users. Though, it is a great game with great graphics, nice controls and diversity with its features.......
  15. Oct 7, 2013
    9
    A great game for street racing type games! Has lots of customization, cars (mostly tuners and a couple of muscle cars), and overall a fun game to have.

Awards & Rankings

#17 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2005
#35 Most Shared PSP Game of 2005
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Weekly Famitsu
    70
    7 / 7 / 7 / 7 - 28 [Vol. 846]
  2. Overall, the graphics in Rivals do justice to the Underground faceplate. All of the signature visual touches are present, including the dark settings, the lighting effects, the blurring, the flaring, and so on. Likewise, the sense of speed is exhilarating.
  3. It gets rid of the overblown, big-city atmosphere of the recent console release and puts the focus on getting into races--the best part of the series--very quickly.