Need for Speed Underground Rivals PSP

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 7, 2013
    9
    A great game for street racing type games! Has lots of customization, cars (mostly tuners and a couple of muscle cars), and overall a fun game to have.
  2. Oct 1, 2012
    8
    I will not rate this game as high as the other users. Though, it is a great game with great graphics, nice controls and diversity with its features.......
  3. JeffreyL.
    Oct 6, 2005
    10
    i love the customization, the overall underground feel, would be nice with storyline.
  4. DavidG.
    Oct 3, 2005
    10
    Played this and Ridge Racer. I found Ridge Racer to be sterile, and boring. Racing through the city, with delivery trucks and other cars sharing the road, adds so much to NFS. Overall, a much more enjoyable experience. The mini games (drift attack, drag, etc) add some diversionary fun to the game as well.
  5. RafaelC.
    Sep 30, 2005
    7
    This game is OVERATED! its a good racing game, but there are better RGs on the PSP, Wipeout, for example, and better Overall Games, Lumines for another example. So stop calling it the best PSP game, cause its not true.
  6. jokop.
    Aug 27, 2005
    9
    GOOD!!!
  7. BobJ.
    Aug 3, 2005
    10
    Best game so far so fun u can play it over and over again sick game i would recomend it to anyone who likes racers.
  8. SamT.
    Jun 11, 2005
    9
    This is probably the best game for the PSP so far. There is a great selection of hot cars including imports and American muscle cars which are beautifully displayed bu the game's great graphics and sound. Plenty of races and has lots of replay value. The Drift mode is the only flaw, which should have been more like the console game's version of the Drift mode.
  9. BobV.
    Jun 9, 2005
    10
    this game is a game unlike none others. this game has a point unlike mercury. you get a lot of cars and you get more races than i secpected. no not a racist where people judge other people by there heritage but you can race as in the first person.
  10. AlexM.
    Apr 20, 2005
    10
    Very good game. you never get bored of it, it actualy makes you want to beet it. you cant beat that evolution baby.
  11. ChadworthK.
    Apr 5, 2005
    9
    Much better than Ridge Racer.
  12. Bertie
    Apr 4, 2005
    10
    Blows away Ridge Racers. I got bored of Ridge Racers in a day. Can't get enough of this game! Looks fantastic and is just so much more fun. I also ran out of batteries playing it.
  13. Wongit
    Mar 27, 2005
    5
    Worst game i bought for psp, i got 3, twisted metal, spiderman and this sh.t. Stupid game. its just not fun. i love the need for speed games on the consoles by the way.
  14. John
    Mar 23, 2005
    10
    Definitely a 10. Brilliant complete game. Nothing is missing. Exciting tracks, great cars and features, cooool soundtrack. Worth the money.
  15. ZoeD.
    Mar 20, 2005
    10
    Supberb game. Looks great, fun racing!!!
  16. NikoWhite
    Mar 7, 2005
    10
    So good! I couldn't put it down until the battery went dead on my PSP! A recommended buy
  17. Chris
    Mar 6, 2005
    6
    While it has an excellent sound track (American Artists), NFS disappointed me in the graphic sense....Ridge Racer has smoother better looking graphics (review 4 Japanese version)
  18. [Anonymous]
    Mar 4, 2005
    10
    Impressive graphics, great speed sensation, all the thrills of the full version on PSP!
  19. Oct 1, 2012
    8
    I will not rate this game as high as the other users. Though, it is a great game with great graphics, nice controls and diversity with its features.......

Awards & Rankings

#17 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2005
#47 Most Shared PSP Game of 2005
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Weekly Famitsu
    70
    7 / 7 / 7 / 7 - 28 [Vol. 846]
  2. Overall, the graphics in Rivals do justice to the Underground faceplate. All of the signature visual touches are present, including the dark settings, the lighting effects, the blurring, the flaring, and so on. Likewise, the sense of speed is exhilarating.
  3. It gets rid of the overblown, big-city atmosphere of the recent console release and puts the focus on getting into races--the best part of the series--very quickly.