OutRun 2006: Coast 2 Coast PSP

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jeeb
    Apr 1, 2006
    10
    This game is possible the best racer available for PSP at the moment, it's pure brilliant! The fact you can play online just makes the deal even sweeter - there's so much to unlock, so much to do and so much to see! The cars are sweet and so are the tunes. Nothing to complain about - barre minor slowdowns, but heck, it's worth it for this! Goodnight Ridge Racer - Good This game is possible the best racer available for PSP at the moment, it's pure brilliant! The fact you can play online just makes the deal even sweeter - there's so much to unlock, so much to do and so much to see! The cars are sweet and so are the tunes. Nothing to complain about - barre minor slowdowns, but heck, it's worth it for this! Goodnight Ridge Racer - Good morning Outrun. Expand
  2. BenD.
    Jul 9, 2006
    9
    At first when I played this game i wasn't sure if I hated it or loved it, once I learned the controls and mastered the "drift" it's been the only game in my psp since I bought it. No it's not the best graphics or the the best in in game music however it delivers non-stop pick up and play enjoyment. I recommend this game to old arcade players and anyone into racing games, if At first when I played this game i wasn't sure if I hated it or loved it, once I learned the controls and mastered the "drift" it's been the only game in my psp since I bought it. No it's not the best graphics or the the best in in game music however it delivers non-stop pick up and play enjoyment. I recommend this game to old arcade players and anyone into racing games, if you liked burnout legends then you will agree that Outrun 2006 coast to coast is awesome. The controls are nice and easy, you have the gas and brake, you can use the directional pad as well as the analog for steering. Automatic and manual driving options, tons of goodies to unlock 60 racetracks available, 30 then that 30 reversed. Nice and bright graphics breath life into your psp. This game is among my favorites in my psp game library. Play it on the bus, dentist office waiting room, play it in your back yard as the sun goes down. $29 well spent. Expand
  3. Bruce
    Nov 9, 2007
    7
    I'd place this game on a par with Ridge Racer. The graphics are appealing, but frankly the PSP can do better - and has on games such as Burnout. The music is a mixed bag. A few of the driving tunes are rocking, but some are downright annoying. The steering controls are a bit sloppy, but make do. Overall Outrun is good, but not great. If you just want some simple minded arcade style I'd place this game on a par with Ridge Racer. The graphics are appealing, but frankly the PSP can do better - and has on games such as Burnout. The music is a mixed bag. A few of the driving tunes are rocking, but some are downright annoying. The steering controls are a bit sloppy, but make do. Overall Outrun is good, but not great. If you just want some simple minded arcade style racing, Outrun will do the trick. Expand
  4. DjFIL
    May 15, 2006
    9
    There is no wonder why this game is getting such good reviews across the board. It's simplistic, yet very fun and still challanging, gameplay makes you come back for more. And with the natural layout of Outrun being in bite sized races (2-5 minutes each race), this is a perfect fit for a handheld. And the graphics look great... and 6 players online is lots of fun. Great game.
  5. Dec 25, 2011
    10
    Easily one of the few and best racing game on PSP out there.
    One of the very few games on PSP that got everything that console version have.
    Not to mention graphics,easily one of the best looking racing game on PSP right behind Midnight Club 3. Almost lose nothing in graphics department from PS2 to PSP. Being such a gorgeous looking game it does have some slowdown it may not run at 60fps
    Easily one of the few and best racing game on PSP out there.
    One of the very few games on PSP that got everything that console version have.
    Not to mention graphics,easily one of the best looking racing game on PSP right behind Midnight Club 3.
    Almost lose nothing in graphics department from PS2 to PSP.
    Being such a gorgeous looking game it does have some slowdown it may not run at 60fps all the time but it's more than enough.
    Lots of events and items to play and purchase.
    Outrun 2006 coast 2 coast got everything that the king of racing game on PSP ridge racer had.
    And it offer you so much more Content,Graphics,Gameplay,Fun!
    Outrun 2006 Coast 2 Coast is definitely the new king of racing game on PSP!
    Expand
  6. Apr 11, 2012
    8
    I see that the game is pretty good. But it gets boring for me . Repetetive and stuff.
  7. Jan 8, 2013
    6
    Yep. It's an arcade-style racer for the PSP. That's about it. Good for casual players or anyone who has never played Outrun, or the dozens of games just like it. There's fun to be had here, but it's the shallow sort.
  8. Jul 10, 2015
    9
    After nine years of ownership I still think this is one of the best arcade ports on a console. Just as much fun as the original but this one fits in your pocket.

    The graphics and sound are great and car handling is as it should be for an Outrun game.

    If you want a simulation look elsewhere but if you want to kill some time and have fun it doesn't get much better than this.

Awards & Rankings

#30 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2006
#44 Most Shared PSP Game of 2006
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. games(TM)
    80
    It’s unabashedly repetitive, cartoony and not as pretty as many would like, but it’s still the most beautiful journey yet. [Mar 2006, p.96]
  2. Edge Magazine
    80
    Only a supreme apologist could suggest that such performance dips aren’t as damaging as they are disappointing, but conversely a realist should soon become capable of accepting them, momentary as they are. [Apr 2006, p.95]
  3. PSM2 Magazine UK
    88
    Coast 2 Coast could be prescribed as a cure for depression. The most fun you'll have had in ages, and only denied a 90 because it's a bit simple. Still, on PSP it's second only to "Burnout." [Apr 2006, p.84]