• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Apr 12, 2011
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 23
  2. Negative: 6 out of 23

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 7, 2011
    10
    The best and most epic game on the PSP, if not in the world. The campaign is awesome, The music rocks so hard, and the multiplayer is ever more awesome. Definitely better than the old Patapons.
  2. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    It's different but the same, all at once. Everyone knows what to expect from Patapon, but it's nonetheless great. I saw this patapon its for entire multiplayer, awesome multiplayer, single player its cool but patapon 1 and 2 were better in that thing, if you wanna feel full experience play online
  3. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    People complain about how patapon 3 is a bad game because its too different. Personally, i dont think that's a very valid reason, considering that so many people were mad that patapon 2 was "more of the same". This game is really a breath of fresh air to the franchise, in my opinion, and there are numerous improvements that many patapon fans have been clamoring for, for a while now. One improvement that stood out the most to me is the fact that you have even more control over your patapons then before. For example, you can choose when you want to activate a spell or when is a good time to heal your squad. It really adds to the immersion of the experience and you feel just a little bit more in control of your patapons. also, there are a ton more customization options then before so you can pretty much create your own unique patapon and then take it online and show off all of your hard work. One more thing. I find it funny how people say that strategy no longer plays a part in this game. They claim that leveling up and grinding is the only way to get past most of the game. To an extent, this is true. If you level up enough, which will usually take a while, strategy doesnt play a part. You can just plow through the entire game with your powered up characters. But if you dont want to go through the grind, you can play with strategy. I know this is true because i got past several levels i shouldnt have by using this "nonexistent strategy". Overall this is a very good game and a very welcome addition to the franchise and if you do choose to buy this, start up the game with an open mind. Expand
  4. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    If your brain didn't commit suicide from playing angry birds too much you won't find this game difficult beyond enjoyment. This is the best Patapon by far and the direction the game is heading is awesome.
  5. Apr 22, 2011
    9
    I think a lot of reviewers of late are being pretty irresponsible. Opinions are one thing, but reviews should be handled with a little less bias and a lot more responsibility. To give a game a rating of 30 or below(here's looking at 1up) is saying this game is buggy, unfinished and unplayable. I've invested many hours into this franchise, and will continue to do so. I've played this game mostly non-stop since it's release, and even when I received Portal 2 in the mail still maintained that urge to play. That in itself says a lot. Patapon has not severely altered its gameplay. As a matter of fact this transition is almost seamless from 2 to 3. The lack of the Patapon army size, while disappointing to some, in some ways puts an emphasis on their online play. Online play may not be everyone's thing, but if more people get involved this game has potential to expand on it is plentiful. With a few fixes/updates, this game (online) could provide almost the same time-sink as any mmo. And all for the one-time fee for the game..$20!!! If you have never played this game, please do yourself a favor and pick this up. You do not need to play the previous incarnations, the story is pretty simple. This is one of those few instances where I could care less about the story. Feel the rhythm, kill some baddies, upgrade your equipment, customize your hero Patapon to godliness. You would hate this game if it never made any changes, but will still complain when it changes. This change is good. Expand
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. Oct 20, 2011
    77
    A pretty and very entertaining 2D RTS slash bemani game. There's nothing quite like it, unless you count earlier Patapons. A bit repetitive, though. [May 2011]
  2. Jun 5, 2011
    65
    The jaded mechanics of Patapon 3 are masked behind a stunning piece of art and repetitive gameplay, but it does enough to keep the fans happy.
  3. 70
    Patapon 3 is an amazing audiovisual game working based on proven principles. In the ever improving competition in mobile gaming Patapon could feel bit obsolete. [Issue#204]