• Publisher: Crave
  • Release Date: Dec 6, 2005
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Hall of Fame was released for the major console systems in 2004, but this PSP port comes with extra tables, all presented as virtuoso 3D recreations, fully playable from your choice of six camera views that can easily be switched on the fly. [Mar 2006, p.91]
  2. For the most part Pinball Hall of Fame is a worthy purchase for any fan of classic games or for parents looking for a “safe” game for their kids.
  3. 85
    Some may start a game of Central Park and laugh at the amusing graphics and simplistic gameplay, only to find themselves losing the game within two minutes. Seriously, some of the games look easy, but are deceptively hard.
  4. Some of the tables are weak, but most are simply superb. It is a great travel-mate and a must-buy for any pinball enthusiast. [April 2006]
  5. Playing this game is as much of a nostalgic experience as it is a new one. It doesn’t replace the real thing; it complements it.
  6. Pinball Hall of Fame: The Gottlieb Collection was a wonderful trip down memory lane; at least for the tables I actually remembered playing.
  7. If you're looking for a fun game to pick up and play for a few minutes at a time, or if you've heard about the fun of "Metroid Prime Pinball" but own a PSP instead of a Nintendo DS, you can't go wrong with Pinball Hall of Fame: The Gottlieb Collection.
  8. If you're looking for a fun game to pick up and play for a few minutes at a time, or if you've heard about the fun of Metroid Prime Pinball (review) but own a PSP instead of a Nintendo DS, you can't go wrong with Pinball Hall of Fame: The Gottlieb Collection.
  9. All told, this is a great package for the PSP that offers discrete slices of fun with every game.
  10. Grab the codes off GameFAQs, unlock all the tables, and enjoy.
  11. It does everything it sets out to do very well, but it’s not very compelling beyond the obvious nostalgia value.
  12. I would pay big money to see a two-hour pinball documentary that also included simulated, digital versions of each machine to try out. We get a taste of that in Pinball Hall of Fame but what I really want is a meal, dammit.
  13. Gives pinball fans access to some of the most popular and beloved pinball machines of all time, fully recreated in all their glory in digital format.
  14. Pinball Hall of Fame is a nice throwback to an old and dying arcade game.
  15. It may not be quite the same as owning a real table, but it’s certainly cheaper and the game feels a lot less cynical than some of the under-polished retro arcade packages that are currently available.
  16. Pinball Hall of Fame delivers some accurate re-creations of some of Gottlieb's classic pinball tables, but the graphics get a little muddy in spots.
  17. Brilliant in short bursts and great looking to boot; only question marks about its longevity prevent Gottlieb earning a higher score. [May 2006, p.93]
  18. 70
    Offers a decent experience overall by providing 10 classic boards. The physics feel a little off, mainly due to the ball's lack of weight, but it gets the job done in the end.
  19. Based on the PS2 game, but adding four tables, Pinball Hall of Fame works remarkably well on the PSP. [Mar 2006, p.88]
  20. A very solid $20 offering. It's nothing that will sell a PSP, but as a impulse bargain buy, it should keep most very, very happy -- provided they like pinball. REALLY like pinball.
  21. While a somewhat throwaway experience by its limited genre content, The Gottlieb Collection definitely provides a formidable gameplay challenge, and some of the specific goals laid at the feet of the player are nigh on impossible without masses of sheer luck.
  22. Pinball games are usually hit or miss, and Pinball Hall of Fame is a hit… but only if you are into pinball as these games are usually only played by long time fans.
  23. 70
    Gottlieb Pinball Classics is a very enjoyable game and one of the best pinball titles released in a very long time. The game features a wide range of tables and the physics are generally very accurate.
  24. Pinball Hall of Fame has a lot going for it, what with numerous tables accurately reproduced, excellent physics, and decent controls.
  25. Pinball may seem like an anachronism on the high-tech PlayStation Portable, but it can offer short bursts of fun wherever you go.
  26. When I wasn't short-circuiting the game myself, there were bugs to contend with--about once an hour, the game would freeze and I would have to restart. [Mar 2006, p.94]
  27. It's OK for a quickie, but with such lacklustre tables, you'll never be able to form a lasting relationship with it. [July 2006, p.112]
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Daniel
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    This is a great game. Very straight forward and simple, but fun. You are able to jump in for some quick fun without being tied up in a long sequence as you are in many games. The graphics are very good. Full Review »
  2. [Anonymous]
    Mar 19, 2006
    10
    This game totally rocks! Being a baby boomer who can remember the time that only pinball tables were the in thing to do, I can say you will enjoy this pinball game more than you know. It recreates the physics and dynamics of the real thing. Have played it for hours. It totally beats the ds metroid pinball game, hands down superior. This is a reason to own a PSP, if your into pinball, or even if your not. After playing this, you soon will be. Full Review »
  3. TheWizardofPinball
    Jan 15, 2006
    10
    OK, I got this game during the Christmas season and was immediately addicted, but decided to write a review after I've played a lot of it (I've beat most of the table goals or bought codes to unlock all the secrets as well) to see how I'd feel about it after extended play. And here I am, about a month after I first started playing it, and it's still all I can think about. Any one of the 11 or so tables (some are better than others) here can become so addicting that you'll find yourself playing hours long sessions. I just simply still cannot put it down. From the older, more straightahead tables like Big Shot and Central Park to the newer, more sophisticated ramps and objectives on Victory and Tee'd Off, and the exciting multiball frenzy that is Goin Nuts and the double table challenge of Black Hole, this game is the most fun a PSP owning pinball fan can have while not at an arcade. There are some small ball and flipper problems; very very rarely when the ball is traveling at a very fast speed it may pass through the flipper or warp through a part of the table all together, which can cause frustration while in the middle of white hot point streak. However like I said this is rare, and all the problems are far outweighed by how, just like real pinball, this game can become wickedly addictive if you don't look out. Full Review »