Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. Jan 28, 2011
    70
    Prinny 2 is a niche product that won't appeal to most people.
  2. Jan 25, 2011
    70
    Only attempt this game if you are looking for a challenge, otherwise you are unlikely to finish. If you can get past the main story mode, there is a fun re-play mode, but it will likely go unnoticed due to the game's punishing difficulty.
  3. Jan 18, 2011
    70
    Prinny 2 is designed for gamers that want to get their asses kicked.
  4. Jan 17, 2011
    70
    It's a lot easier to play through a imperfect game when you've got an army of demon penguins calling you "dood" to keep you company.
  5. Jan 10, 2011
    70
    For Disgaea fans who want to see the lovable prinny losers get punished over and over again due to the demanding difficulty level, I could see it being a smart purchase. Otherwise, try before buy is the best advice I can give.
  6. Jan 20, 2011
    69
    Prinny 2 is far too difficult to fully enjoy the ride, and it does its best to make the player forget how he's having fun between an absurd death and another.
  7. Jan 11, 2011
    67
    Even on its lowest difficulty setting, Prinny 2 can be a beast.
  8. Jan 13, 2011
    63
    It's not necessarily a bad game, it's just far too difficult to enjoy.
  9. Feb 13, 2011
    60
    It's a solid test of skill, bursting with rainbow-coloured worlds, a quirky sense of humour and...lacy panties. Yike. [Mar 2011, p.96]
  10. Those that didn't like the way the first Prinny controlled will likely find similar complaints with the sequel. [March 2011, p.79]
  11. Jan 21, 2011
    60
    In the end, it's important to note that this game will likely only appeal to hardcore series fans and masochists. But for those gamers looking for an incredible challenge and yearning for a title that feels like it comes from a bygone era of gaming, these flightless birds could be just the thing for you.
  12. Jan 13, 2011
    60
    Prinny's second heroic adventure features great boss fights, but cheap deaths and lousy controls make this journey extremely frustrating.
  13. Jan 8, 2011
    60
    Prinny 2 is a solid 2D side-scroller that provides a good challenge with plenty of charm. Unfortunately, control problems and a lack of new content prevent it from being a truly great sequel.
  14. Feb 8, 2011
    58
    Prinny 2 has the makings of another great side-scrolling action game, but is marred by crummy controls and overly difficult level designs. The incredible boss battles aren't enough to keep this light-hearted sequel from being the first big disappointment of 2011!
  15. Feb 14, 2011
    55
    Hardcore platforming action that doesn't bring anything new to the series. [Mar 2011, p.98]
  16. Jan 11, 2011
    50
    Middle age is looming, Disgaea. Maybe it's time to consider the video game equivalent of moving out of your parents' basement and getting a job.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. May 8, 2015
    8
    This one goes beyond hard, it's even harder than the first one, sadly, the story is not better. The special moves make it a little different,This one goes beyond hard, it's even harder than the first one, sadly, the story is not better. The special moves make it a little different, but being honest, it's supposed to be the same prinnies than the first game, so leaving the mechanics almost the same might be the right choice (at least for me) Full Review »
  2. Jan 22, 2014
    7
    I haven't played the first game so let me spare you the comparative review. In a nutshell, prinny 2 is a game which was designed for 0.0001%I haven't played the first game so let me spare you the comparative review. In a nutshell, prinny 2 is a game which was designed for 0.0001% of the Earth's population, that is the subset of people who are simultaneously young teenagers who enjoy a bad story, childish humor and bad voice acting while your character is moving around, but also players who have beaten ghosts n goblins, ninja gaiden, castlevania are NES power nerds. I fit the second half of this description, so I enjoyed the tight but unforgiving gameplay, but cringed at the story and voice acting had to either completely turn off my sound. HF teenage NES power nerds Full Review »
  3. Jan 8, 2012
    6
    This prinny may look cute as usual,but this same looking as last year isn`t pretty and i considered this game as the hardest game sinceThis prinny may look cute as usual,but this same looking as last year isn`t pretty and i considered this game as the hardest game since Ultimate Ghost N Goblins. Full Review »