Prinny: Can I Really Be the Hero? PSP

Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 45
  2. Negative: 3 out of 45
  1. Prinny: Can I be the Hero? is a complex platformer with burst of actions where the story is all based upon the Disgaea Universe, offers a pleasing experience for gamers. It is an innovative game of humongous difficulty and limited control, although there is a great sense of humor and a nice artistic touch.
  2. Even though, in its first few stages, Prinny: Can I Really Be The Hero? is both charming and fun, seemingly out of nowhere the difficulty soars.
  3. This collect-'em-all compulsion will see a certain type of gamer through, as will the charm and comedy of the Nippon Ichi fanboy. But for many gamers the infuriating platforming and a combat system that rewards pattern-learning and slow progression over fast, reaction-based advancement of Nippon Ichi's off-kilter design decisions will be insurmountable obstacles to true enjoyment.
  4. Prinny: Can I really be the Hero is a nice surprise in the dull PSP Line Up. Nippon Ichi game rises from the crowd thanks to a nice graphical design and an “old style” gameplay. Even if it doesn’t stands for it’s originality, the good variety and the nice art design make Prinny a valid game. Probably, the intense difficulty will discourage casual gamers.
  5. Prinny: Can I Really Be the Hero? isn’t for everyone, heck it’s not even for most platforming fans. This is hardcore gamer’s game that takes an immense amount of patience and skill to get through.
  6. 60
    Prinny’s still a good time for players who don’t feel the need to prove their manhood, and if you do have something to prove…well, step right up and try your hand.
  7. 60
    Unfortunately, thanks to the unwieldy controls and poor design choices, Prinny bombs. [Mar 2009, p.81]
  8. If you're a fan of Nippon Ichi humour and love your games in Metal Slug and Ghouls 'N' Ghosts flavours, then feel free to add a point on to the score because, dood, this game's made for you. [June 2009, p.124]
  9. Enjoyable platformer will make you laugh with all the tiny cute graphics and exploding penguins! Do not expect childish difficulty though 1000 lives will not be enough. [Sept 2009]
  10. An almost heroic debut for the explosive penguins, spoilt only by a foolishly inflexible control system.
  11. Prinny: Can I Really Be the Hero? is an old-style platform game, with a classical gameplay and six stages full of enemies and traps. The graphics are stylish, colorful, rich in detail, with funny characters. This is the kind of game you can love or hate, since it's really difficult and frustrating.
  12. 74
    In some ways Prinny succeeds in spite of itself.
  13. Lighthearted, loveably manic, and shamelessly fun, this is a great fit for PSP. [Aug 2009, p.118]
  14. Noticeable control demons are the only thing that prevent this hilarious game from appeal to our better angels.
  15. A real disappointment. [Aug 2009, p.76]
  16. Prinny: Can I Really Be the Hero? is only for Disgaea fans or lovers of hard platforming titles.
  17. It's not just Nippon Ichi fans who will love Prinny. Masochists will too. For them, the endless death and difficult platforming will taste as good as a vanilla milkshake on a summer's day. The controls, though, really do have the potential to put everyone off.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. YHJ
    May 29, 2009
    5
    The game itself is rather nice, with pleasing graphics and interesting music. However, the Jump controls are rather lazy, and really kills The game itself is rather nice, with pleasing graphics and interesting music. However, the Jump controls are rather lazy, and really kills the game. Once you jump, you can't change directions. Since the prinny dies the moment it gets touched by almost anything in the game, it's just unfair. Hit an enemy? Dead. Landed on a statue? Dead. The difficulty is quite high, but one of the things that make these kinds of games fair is missing. POWER UPS. There is not a single power up at all. Besides that, the prinny only has one attack. It was a game with lots of potencial. Another thing to slap it in the face is it's length. With less than 15 levels in the game, it's very very short. In the end, it's a game with a lot of interesting promises, but everything just feels lazy, and incomplete. If you really want to find a good old-school platformer, go for Henry Hatsworth in a puzzling adventure for the DS. Much better. Full Review »
  2. ChrisBurket
    Oct 6, 2009
    10
    I am sickened....... deeply sickened by you all. How can you give this game such a low rating just because it is difficult? You guys are aI am sickened....... deeply sickened by you all. How can you give this game such a low rating just because it is difficult? You guys are a fucking disgrace to the gaming community. This game has great music, great gameplay, great humor and great action but you just sit there and bitch like a bunch of pussies that this game "is too hard." cry me a fucking river you pansies. You mother fuckers are so used to games like bioshock and gears of war and shit thats not even hard. just because a game is difficult, that doesn't make it bad. some people even went so far as to call it "masochistic." masochistic my ass, mother fuckers. you need to learn how to play a fucking game and then come back and make a review. until then, quit whining like a bunch of pussies and bashing a great game just because you have no gaming skill. Full Review »
  3. ThomH
    Jun 3, 2009
    10
    Great, great game, really reminds me of the NES megaman series. I'm new to Disegea series, but this 2d/3d side scroller was great, greatGreat, great game, really reminds me of the NES megaman series. I'm new to Disegea series, but this 2d/3d side scroller was great, great visuals, funny story and a game that was hard enough to make you feel like you accomplished something after beating it.
    Truly one of the best PSP games I have played.
    Full Review »