• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Jan 29, 2008
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. I don't expect this game to be a smash hit because it is a simple cops and robbers chase arcade that's off the commercial radar. However, the game is a lot of mindless fun.
  2. Pursuit Force: Extreme Justice is solid game for the PSP and it is a fun little game for gaming on the go.
  3. With a little more polish BigBig might have had a good series on its hand, but it's not quite there yet. [Feb 2008, p.102]
  4. A rip-roaring ride, but it's a shame it feels so familiar. [Dec 2007, p.83]
  5. Pursuit Force remains a great idea in search of the right execution, and there's clearly a fantastic arcade game in here absolutely bursting to get out, but it's still not there yet. Not quite.
  6. Extreme, yes; pursuit, lots of it; fun, mostly; but essential? Not really. [Jan 2008, p.123]
  7. Although it isn't quite the game it could be, Extreme Justice is nevertheless a polished, outrageous and – most importantly – highly competent video game equivalent of the kind of films that have turned high-camp action into an art form.
  8. With new additions like the Shop, leaner graphics and a custom difficulty option, ensure this is the best Pursuit Force yet. Twenty-plus hours of macho gaming in your hand.
  9. Extreme Justice works though, because it delivers simple, primitive thrills with absolute clarity. [Dec 2007, p.103]
  10. 70
    It's not going to blow you away but it is fun enough to keep you engaged for a few hours. [Mar 2008, p.88]
  11. 70
    It's unapologetically cheesy in presentation, from the one-dimensional characters to the terrible dialogue to the awkwardly awful stereotypes, but it's oddly endearing.
  12. Pursuit Force: Extreme Justice is the sort of game ‘real’ gamers hate to acknowledge, and having it in my collection makes me feel somehow illicit, like a raw-foods vegan tucking into a Big Mac. It’s bold, brash, skin-deep but oddly irresistible, and while it doesn’t leave my desk with a firm recommendation, fans of arcade action could certainly do worse.
  13. Even though Extreme Justice keeps throwing out issues such as bland foot missions and the uninteresting Challenges mode, it’s still got 30 levels of decent gaming wrapped in an entertainingly cheesy story.
  14. Those who had a blast with Pursuit Force will likely also very much enjoy the sequel, as it's more of the same. If you haven't played the first game however I'd almost recommend going for that version before going "Extreme".
  15. Pursuit Force: Extreme Justice is grounded by its single acrobatic gimmick. The game itself is a well-presented - but ultimately shallow - series of car chases, shooting sequences, and escort missions.
  16. It feels as if, somewhere during development, the overall idea suddenly got truncated and was left as a concept stretched out into a full game, so it eventually wears out nearly every idea it's got.
  17. Far from perfect but enduringly hard to dislike. [Dec 2007, p.95]
  18. It'd be so much better as just a driving game. [Feb 2008, p.84]
  19. 55
    Extreme Justice throws a lot out there and hits the mark on a few counts, but it doesn't all come together as a cohesive whole.
  20. For those moments of genuine excitement and exhilaration, it’s a game that will put a smile on your face. [Dec 2007, p.132]
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Paul
    Feb 7, 2008
    10
    I did not expect this game to be this good. I played the fitst Pursuit Force (about halfway through) and thought it was decent. Pursuit Force:I did not expect this game to be this good. I played the fitst Pursuit Force (about halfway through) and thought it was decent. Pursuit Force: EJ takes it to another level. I really believe this is the game they always meant to make. This game is simply FUN. That is why we play right! Graphics are very sharp and impressive. Gameplay is fast and frantic - it feels like you are in a high speed chase in a Hollywood movie. I was shocked at the depth too (52 levels and you will want to replay them to earn stars to unlock more items for the game). Worth the 30 bucks for sure. Full Review »
  2. Feb 11, 2014
    10
    One of the hidden golden gems of the old, dusty and forgotten PSP. I made the mistake of trading it in for Juiced 2: HIN and regretted it everOne of the hidden golden gems of the old, dusty and forgotten PSP. I made the mistake of trading it in for Juiced 2: HIN and regretted it ever since. It was action packed and had a really good story, and even if the screenshots don't look so pretty, once in action this game looks absolutely stunning. A must buy for the PSP. Full Review »
  3. Apr 12, 2012
    9
    Pursuit force is great franchise. Too bad it is buried now, but anyway it is worth checking. You won't find anything like this.