Ratchet & Clank: Size Matters PSP

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 112 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 112
  2. Negative: 4 out of 112
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. [Anonymous]
    Aug 1, 2008
    7
    It's a good game, but way too short.
  2. Jul 31, 2014
    7
    Ratchet & Clank on a handheld didn't seem possible back in 2007, but it was.

    Ratchet & Clank: Size Matters uses the same formula as Ratchet & Clank Going Commando and Up Your Arsenal, but with fewer planets and less content than those games. Of course, this is to be expected with a handheld game. However, the lack of an arena and a second joystick really hurt this game in the
    Ratchet & Clank on a handheld didn't seem possible back in 2007, but it was.

    Ratchet & Clank: Size Matters uses the same formula as Ratchet & Clank Going Commando and Up Your Arsenal, but with fewer planets and less content than those games.

    Of course, this is to be expected with a handheld game. However, the lack of an arena and a second joystick really hurt this game in the longrun. You get used to using L and R for the camera after a while, but the lack of an arena gives you little reason besides Challenge Mode to come back to this 5-8 hour experience.

    Of course, Ad Hoc multiplayer is available, and there are lots of nifty Clank mini games, along with a lot of cool RPG elements that aren't in the console games.

    After 4 playthroughs, I'm comfortable giving Size Matters a score of 7.6
    Expand
  3. Jul 15, 2013
    7
    The game is pretty fun. it has great music, a decent story, and it has good graphics considering it's on PSP. however, it is too short, and the controls are awkward.
  4. Oct 12, 2014
    7
    It is a great game that lives up to the ratchet and clank series… most of the time. Occasionally when too much is going on the frame rate slows to a crawl. The sound can become choppy and mistimed. It is prone to freezing entirely, forcing a restart. When it is working properly you will still run into a few segments that are way harder than the rest of the game, and you will be forcedIt is a great game that lives up to the ratchet and clank series… most of the time. Occasionally when too much is going on the frame rate slows to a crawl. The sound can become choppy and mistimed. It is prone to freezing entirely, forcing a restart. When it is working properly you will still run into a few segments that are way harder than the rest of the game, and you will be forced to play tedious and repetitive clank mini games. But most of the time, you are destroying everything in sight in the typical ratchet and clank manner. Expand
  5. Alexandre
    Feb 22, 2007
    6
    I've been playing for about 4 hours. I'd have to say that while graphically the game is pretty good for a psp game. It's not nearly as well thought out as the PS2 game of the same series. The camera feels very glitchy and the gameplay isn't as balanced as R&C:GC or R&C:UYA. The effects were pretty dang good, but I wish they put more thought into the weapons. Most of I've been playing for about 4 hours. I'd have to say that while graphically the game is pretty good for a psp game. It's not nearly as well thought out as the PS2 game of the same series. The camera feels very glitchy and the gameplay isn't as balanced as R&C:GC or R&C:UYA. The effects were pretty dang good, but I wish they put more thought into the weapons. Most of them were either completely generic or rehashes from the older games. I think High Impact has good potential. Let's see what they do with the next game they put out. Considering that this is their first one, it's not a bad attempt. Especially considering they had to make a game for a series that matched up to the technical and artistic mega powerhouse of Insomniac. Will they be fierce competition, or just live in Insomniac's 20 mile shadow? Only the next game will tell. Expand
  6. WilliamF.
    Feb 22, 2007
    6
    I would have given this game an 8/10 but it's got just about the worst controls I've ever experienced. It does NOT live up to the smooth play control of the ratchet series on the ps2. Putting strafe on the digital pad and not letting you configure the buttons yourself was a huge mistake. I get killed mostly because I have to take my thumb off the analog stick just to strafe to I would have given this game an 8/10 but it's got just about the worst controls I've ever experienced. It does NOT live up to the smooth play control of the ratchet series on the ps2. Putting strafe on the digital pad and not letting you configure the buttons yourself was a huge mistake. I get killed mostly because I have to take my thumb off the analog stick just to strafe to get out of the way of bullets. Meh... I hope High Impact gets their act together for the next game. The game has very pretty graphics, but the gameplay is too nauseating to finish the game. Expand
  7. Apr 11, 2012
    6
    I have played R&C since the first one, I have played almost every game and of all of them they are enjoyable games for the most part,,, but this one was a real disappointment, and it just starts to resemble the limitations of the PSP system. The first problem is that some of the weaponry design is poor, an example would be a standard blaster that, when upgraded, turns into duel wieldI have played R&C since the first one, I have played almost every game and of all of them they are enjoyable games for the most part,,, but this one was a real disappointment, and it just starts to resemble the limitations of the PSP system. The first problem is that some of the weaponry design is poor, an example would be a standard blaster that, when upgraded, turns into duel wield blasters, upgrade it again, and you get 2 double blasters on each hand this gun is also pretty weak in that sense, there is also a gun that shoots a laser beam but it has poor design in the sense of the amount of polygons (detail on the gun model). The second issue is the plot, it's just terrible, it's about microscopic creatures trying to take over the world, and the enemies lack character Dr. nefarious, Captain Quark, (from the first and second game) and hell, Drek even were pretty good enemies, some may say I just praise them because of their comic relief, but if they made a great evil bad guy or a comical bad guy, I would be fine with either, but this villain, Otto, he seems to be half and half and you rarely see him. Overall this is basically ratchet and clank, shrunk to the PSP size, with some flaws thrown in (in my opinion the series hardly had any flaws at this point because each game they made added improvement) Don't have high hopes for AAA brand games being made or ported to the PSP, (Battlefront, Jak, Call of Duty) and MANY MORE. Expand
  8. Sep 19, 2013
    6
    Ratchet & Clank: Size Matters is an achievement in the fact that it brings the Ratchet & Clank experience to the PSP almost completely intact. The gameplay, the combat, even the visual style is all there. All the voice actors you know and love make a return, and the cutscenes are nice too. Unfortunately, it's obvious the game wasn't developed by Insomiac as the characters don't have theirRatchet & Clank: Size Matters is an achievement in the fact that it brings the Ratchet & Clank experience to the PSP almost completely intact. The gameplay, the combat, even the visual style is all there. All the voice actors you know and love make a return, and the cutscenes are nice too. Unfortunately, it's obvious the game wasn't developed by Insomiac as the characters don't have their usual mannerisms and personalities, and feel more like rushed emulations of Insomniacs creations. Quark is a particular example of this, being a whiney, pathetic oaf throughout the whole game. None of the selfishness, none of the dastardly schemes, just a big baby in a green suit. In addition, the weapons lack their usual creativity, and the balancing is terrible. In other words, you can empty all of your ammo in a level 5 weapon from the start of the game into an enemy at the end, and they won't die, meaning old weapons become quickly useless. Only about 2, maybe 3 of the games weapons are useful against the final boss who is a massive damage sink, unfortunately a trend which all of the games bosses follow, large health pools and hastily thrown together mechanics. Despite everything however, Size Matters is an enjoyable title and (sadly) part of the canon, and is worth playing one way or another. It's a tad shorter than it's big brothers, but still makes for a fun outing, even if the plot, characters and overall themes make you gag once in a while. Final Score: 6.2/10 Expand
  9. Jun 11, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I've been a fan of Ratchet and Clank since the original released back in the PS2 era, While the camera angles weren't great and the weapon mechanics were broken, it was still an epic game with groundbreaking features!

    Size Matters on the other hand is a uncomfortable to play, it's easy at first, but the controls, awkward aiming mechanics and horrid camera control will drive you through the roof, While the game itself has an interesting story and fun platfroming gameplay, you will spend most of your time repeating a previous part of the level because you died falling from a platform you couldn't see or fell out of the arena on boss stages(Which BTW restarts the entire boss) Then we get to the combat mechanics, they simply aren't as up to scratch as the rest of the game and really let it down, for example; there is an enemy that takes 4 hits to kill, you shoot him 4 times, he doesnt die; as the enemy won't take damage until he has finished the flinch animation from your previous attack meaning it gets incredibly tedious trying to kill these enemies and incredibly frustrating when 5 of them swarm you and it seems like it takes forever to kill them all.

    Then the weapon usage, while you can strafe, it feels incredibly awkward to do so as you have to use the d-pad instead of a desperately needed second stick, which just mind-screws you if you've ever played the PS2 games, The aiming consists of pointing in their direction and spamming Circle, only 3 guns aim and only one gun feels as if it's even effective(The first one) and sometimes the game PREVENTS YOU FROM STRAFING; Why? a core mechanic that makes the aiming much easier, why just take it off us at random times, on the bits where it's stripped,l you will find yourself repaying that section even more.

    Then there is the "Filler" mini games that are forced just to waste time, most of the time they are really unfair and just rediculous, as to make the game last longer, but these are completely unnecesary and really feel like a filler for the already short game

    All this combined with the PSP GO's controls is complete hell, While this game has serious potential it will cause you to utter more swear words than a game like Ghosts and Golbins will,which is really bad, considering this is a flagship Sony series.

    In conclusion you will spend more time fighting the controls than you will enemies, I will try the PS2 port eventually hopefully it's better than this.
    Expand

Awards & Rankings

#3 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2007
#10 Most Shared PSP Game of 2007
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. It's refreshing to play a title that is both old school in its gameplay, but new school in its storytelling.
  2. Games Master UK
    87
    A polished adventure indeed. Not all of its ideas work, but it's an excellent overall effort. [May 2007, p.76]
  3. PSM3 Magazine UK
    86
    Not small and not perfectly formed, but packs a wicked punch. Accomplished, but stops short of brilliance. [May 2007, p.60]