Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 2 - Innocent Sin PSP

  • Publisher: Atlus
  • Release Date: Sep 20, 2011
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
Buy On
  1. Nov 9, 2011
    70
    Persona 2 is at its best when it deviates from the cookie cutter design of JRPGs, yet it never quite strays far or often enough from these conventions, leaving a by-the-numbers adventure with just enough innovation to keep players hooked until the closing credits.
  2. Sep 20, 2011
    70
    P2, while a good game, is very much a product of its time. Players were more willing to overlook a lot of the JRPG's stereotypical frustrations and foibles back in the late 90s and early aughts. With shifts in consumer tastes and the desire for fresher experiences, however, a brand new game structured like P2 -- with its somewhat clunky story presentation and traditional, slow-paced progression -- simply wouldn't fly in the marketplace either in Japan or abroad.
  3. Sep 12, 2011
    70
    Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 2: Innocent Sin doesn't bring any mechanical wonders to the table, but uses what tricks it has to keep the excellent story rolling along.
  4. Aug 29, 2011
    70
    There's something special with Innocent Sin, but only the most dedicated RPG fans will ever be able to truly appreciate it. At least they can finally experience the part of Persona 2 they never knew.
  5. Play UK
    Jan 25, 2012
    65
    A rather tame experience. [Feb 2012, p.82]
  6. Sep 2, 2011
    64
    Innocent Sin seems attractive; it's the long awaited opposite half to a cult classic, and it comes with a few bells and whistles to ease it into the 2011 landscape. While I adore the soundtrack and can appreciate the effort put toward a great localization, actually playing the game made me feel like I was trapped in some of the worst parts of 90's era game design. Interesting systems are in place but it's slow, aimless, and, and most of it has done much better in Nocturne or newer Persona games. Of course this is a known quantity to the Atlus faithful who will buy (and love) Innocent Sin anyway, but I'd caution an approach from a newcomer.
  7. 50
    A no-brainer for fans of the series, but although superior to its predecessor this is still too repetitive and shallow to convince newcomers.
  8. Aug 31, 2011
    50
    More than 10 years after its original release, Persona 2: Innocent Sin no longer has the magic it once did.

Awards & Rankings

13
6
#6 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2011
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 90 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    Persona 2 - Innocent Sin has a fantastic story and characters. However, the gameplay is extremely dated and archaic. Because this is a remake,Persona 2 - Innocent Sin has a fantastic story and characters. However, the gameplay is extremely dated and archaic. Because this is a remake, Atlus keeping the gameplay largely the same is justified and doesn't factor into my score. Full Review »
  2. Oct 3, 2011
    9
    Persona 2 Innocent Sin returns players to a remastered, reinvented version of the game never released outside of Japan. Sporting a bizarre,Persona 2 Innocent Sin returns players to a remastered, reinvented version of the game never released outside of Japan. Sporting a bizarre, but well-written story about rumours becoming reality and a clash with a mysterious figure known as "Master Joker", the game is a nigh perfect example of a classic-era JRPG.

    That is...Until you get to the mechanics. Like it or hate it, Persona 2 is full (and I mean FULL) of random encounters with a somewhat clunky battle system. The battles are much improved over their PSX counterpart, but still show their age - some of the mechanics being either simplistic or a bit turned-around to get to.

    That said, the encounter rate isn't too big of an issue as the battles are much quicker paced than in the original version and in the first Persona. You can now skip animations entirely to make the battles even faster than in SMT Persona, and believe me, you will come to appreciate it. Contacting demons is a lot smarter here - some of the questions demons ask you can actually throw you off, and the two and three person contacts can be fun. (Maya and Yukino = hilarity)

    I am finding that I am really loving this game, however my recommendation comes with a caveat...If you do not like "oldschool", or otherwise aged RPGs, you will want to stay away from this one. If you want something unique and, like me, don't mind the clunkiness of some of the game's systems, then Persona 2 Innocent Sin is a must-have. It's $40 I will never regret spending.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 20, 2013
    10
    This game is fantastic, from the amazing story, to the colorful characters, to the obviously dated but still fun gameplay. This game stands asThis game is fantastic, from the amazing story, to the colorful characters, to the obviously dated but still fun gameplay. This game stands as a gem in the PSP's library, and is a fantastic entry in the Persona series. The story completely pulled me in, there was just something gripping and amazing about this game. Another thing that I loved about this game is it's soundtrack. This game has an amazing....AMAZING soundtrack!

    Overall this game gets a 9.5/10, amazing story and soundtrack, though the gameplay does hold it back a little bit.
    Full Review »