Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3 Portable PSP

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3 Portable Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 274 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Terrible creatures lurk in the dark, preying on those who wander into the hidden hour between one day and the next. As a member of a secret school club, you must wield your inner power--Persona--and protect humanity from impending doom. Will you live to see the light of day? MaximumTerrible creatures lurk in the dark, preying on those who wander into the hidden hour between one day and the next. As a member of a secret school club, you must wield your inner power--Persona--and protect humanity from impending doom. Will you live to see the light of day? Maximum Persona 3--The RPG that captured critics and fans alike achieves a new level of excellence. Built upon an enhanced version of the game, players will find numerous significant improvements, including the addition of Skill Cards, part-time jobs, a total of five difficulty settings (ranging from the newcomer-friendly "beginner" to the ultra-hardcore "maniac"), and most importantly, the ability to directly control your teammates in battle. Gain a whole new perspective--The choice of your protagonist's sex at the start of the game has a dramatic impact on the game's intricate social dynamics. Persona 3 veterans will get a kick out of playing through the story from a new female perspective, gaining new Social Links, special events, and unique romantic opportunities. Slick system enhancements--Improved playability permeates every aspect of the gameplay experience. One-button menu shortcuts, streamlined team equipment changes, incredibly short load times, and other tweaks and enhancements create an ideal pace for portable gaming. [Atlus USA] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 40
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 40
  3. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. 100
    Despite being familiar with the game, Persona 3 Portable still managed to utterly consume me. When a game has such a profound effect on me, I believe it deserves nothing less than the highest praise I can lavish upon it.
  2. If you missed out on Persona 3 when it first came out, and skipped FES in 2008, then now is your chance to rectify that. Persona 3 Portable is one of the strongest games in the PSP catalogue, and a shining example of a role-playing game done right.
  3. This is the third release of Persona 3, and even for an excellent RPG, it's difficult to justify buying it again and again. However, Persona 3 Portable contains enough new features to make it a worthwhile purchase.
  4. While releasing Persona 3 for a third time might seem like a little much, P3P is more than different enough to be a fresh and interesting PSP title.
  5. Atlus has done an incredible job with creating a portable version of Persona 3, and if you are a fan of the series or are looking for a JRPG to add to your collection, then P3P is definitely worth getting.
  6. 85
    The only way you'll be disappointed is if you go into the game expecting a brand new game. For all those looking to play an enhanced version of an old favorite, there's no better way to do it than Persona 3 Portable.
  7. Play UK
    Jun 26, 2011
    78
    The story is absolute bobbins. [Issue#206, p.92]

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 47
  2. Negative: 2 out of 47
  1. Oct 17, 2010
    10
    My favourite PSP game yet, coming on the tail of Metal Gear and Kingdom Hearts (both of which I loved) that is a big call. I cannot recommendMy favourite PSP game yet, coming on the tail of Metal Gear and Kingdom Hearts (both of which I loved) that is a big call. I cannot recommend this game enough to RPG fans there has been proper care taken to make this PSP version as addictive and fun as the PS2 releases without making it feel watered down, and in my opinion it is the best version of all three. Expand
  2. Aug 7, 2014
    10
    August 2014 Edit:

    I've finished this game and I'm already near the end of the female campaign. At this point, Persona 3 Portable stands as
    August 2014 Edit:

    I've finished this game and I'm already near the end of the female campaign.
    At this point, Persona 3 Portable stands as the best RPG I've so far played on the PSP. The story remains incredible and combat with end-game Personas is a lot of fun.

    Still way better than Persona 4 and The Answer.

    Original July 2014 review (was a 9/10):

    You can study for exams in this game.
    10/10

    On a serious note, Persona 3 Portable isn't your common RPG - blending the visual novel and RPG genres with hard fantasy is one hell of a mix and makes for an excellent and exciting story, complimented by a balanced and addicting battle system. I'm sure the home console version is better in some aspects - but if you're a fan of this series and/or you need an excuse to play your PSP, this game is the best one you can find right now.

    Being the sucker I am for a good story, I fell in love (no pun intended) with this game quickly. One problem I've found, however, is that the introduction is extremely slow - on par with games like Kingdom Hearts 2, but not as confusing; just long as hell without necessity.
    Expand
  3. Jan 27, 2011
    10
    This game is really awesome, even more so than the PS2 original and definitely the best SMT game so far IMO.

    Really fantastic - I am a late
    This game is really awesome, even more so than the PS2 original and definitely the best SMT game so far IMO.

    Really fantastic - I am a late convert to Shin Megami Tensei (first game I played was Lucifer's Call/Nocturne) but this game ROCKS!
    Expand
  4. Jan 27, 2011
    10
    This was one of my favourite game on PS2. The PSP version is even better. The new campaign is great as are some of the new features.This was one of my favourite game on PS2. The PSP version is even better. The new campaign is great as are some of the new features. Definitely worth getting if you enjoyed the PS2 version. Expand
  5. Apr 19, 2011
    9
    A great port for an amazing game. If you have not played the original Persona 3, I recommend you play that over the PSP version. The watchingA great port for an amazing game. If you have not played the original Persona 3, I recommend you play that over the PSP version. The watching cutscenes with real 3d models is much more hilarious than just listening to their portraits talk. If you have already played P3 however, you will find a lot to love with this port. When you play the girl side you will meet new characters, and they are pretty well designed. As a big P3 fan, I definitely found it worth my time to play this again with the new characters. Overall, great port. I wish they could have brought everything in from the PS2 version, but that's asking quite a lot. Expand
  6. Nov 8, 2012
    9
    I was both excited and scared when this game got announced: I'm a HUGE fan of the persona series, with persona 3 being my most favorite rpg,I was both excited and scared when this game got announced: I'm a HUGE fan of the persona series, with persona 3 being my most favorite rpg, and of course the hype got me and I was literally counting the days for its release. The things I heard the most were the obvious female protagonist and some other innovations, which I don't remember, but I was anyway gonna buy even if it was the same exact game for the ps2. But I can clearly say, this is one of the best rpgs on the psp, if not THE best: the game not only is an improved version of the ps2 version, it also adds a "new" storyline with the female counterpart, meaning that the 2 stories, even if the same, are also different at the same time. The game is also very long (I finished in about 60-70 hours, 80+ with the secondary tasks and the additional fusions) which really strikes out considering that most of the rpgs on portable consoles aren't very long (unless you do the additonal stuff...of course). The combat is also very improved, basically taking the best parts from persona 4 (the possibility to control your members, for instance) and still remains one of the strong points of the game, together with the story. My only BIG complains are mostly 2: 1) the game has a very simplified interface outside the dungeon, meaning that you will NEVER control your character outside the dungeon, but only a cursor. I know that they did this in order to make more space for the game and luckily you will still see your characters during the dungeon exploration, and I'm ok with that, but it's going to take a while to get used to it. Luckily the navigation works perfectly: you can move easily anywhere by pressing the Square button (taken from persona 4) and the cursor is quite precise and works good. Overall, it's fine, just too bad that you'll basically never see your character(s) outside the dungeon, especially when there are a lot of costumes to unlock, Also, because of this, most of the cutscenes got cut as well. 2) NO FES! If this game had also Fes (the second part of the game, called "The Answer",that roughly lasts about 30 hours), this would be perfect, but unfortunely we only have few things from Fes (the possibility to choose different Stewards, some extra scenes, new persona, etc). Again, probably the lack of space made them cut the additional scenario, or else it would be perfect in all ways. And really, that's about it: the game is the same as the original, with a different interface, but with 2 very well detailed campaigns that aren't necessarily the same: they basically tell the same story with 2 different perspectives and, actually, it really encourages you play twice, doubling the hours and the ways to play the actual game. I personally recommend to try it out if you want a good rpg for your psp (it's a dungeon crawler RPG, the ideal for portable consoles) and even if there are some flaws (it can be slow if you don't install the game into your memory card) it still remains one of the best rpgs on the psp. Must try at all costs. Expand
  7. Oct 13, 2014
    6
    The great potential of this game - the simulation of a life of a school kid and the bonds he forms with others - is totally ruined by theThe great potential of this game - the simulation of a life of a school kid and the bonds he forms with others - is totally ruined by the level of boredom and tedoiusness that you'll feel while doing the 250+ floors of Tartarus, one of the worst randomly generated dungeons I've ever encountered in a video game. The enemies are color swaps and the whole gameplay just revolves around knowing an effective attack and doing a combo attack afterwards, thus requiring zero strategy. The story itself is nothing special.

    The best part of this game are simply the interactions with others, however, they are constantly interrupted by the super boring dungeon parts. Unfortunately, the whole game suffers due to this.
    Expand

See all 47 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2010