• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 186 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Terrible creatures lurk in the dark, preying on those who wander into the hidden hour between one day and the next. As a member of a secret school club, you must wield your inner power--Persona--and protect humanity from impending doom. Will you live to see the light of day? Maximum Persona 3--The RPG that captured critics and fans alike achieves a new level of excellence. Built upon an enhanced version of the game, players will find numerous significant improvements, including the addition of Skill Cards, part-time jobs, a total of five difficulty settings (ranging from the newcomer-friendly "beginner" to the ultra-hardcore "maniac"), and most importantly, the ability to directly control your teammates in battle. Gain a whole new perspective--The choice of your protagonist's sex at the start of the game has a dramatic impact on the game's intricate social dynamics. Persona 3 veterans will get a kick out of playing through the story from a new female perspective, gaining new Social Links, special events, and unique romantic opportunities. Slick system enhancements--Improved playability permeates every aspect of the gameplay experience. One-button menu shortcuts, streamlined team equipment changes, incredibly short load times, and other tweaks and enhancements create an ideal pace for portable gaming. [Atlus USA] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 40
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 40
  3. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Persona 3 has made an amazing transition to the PlayStation Portable system and all of the changes made to the title have pushed this game into a realm of its own.
  2. Overall the game is still the same Persona 3 that I ended up loving back on the PS2, but the new additions and the inclusion of a gender switch for the hero character add a surprising amount of content that's worth checking out for those that already dumped a lot of time into the first one.
  3. This is the third release of Persona 3, and even for an excellent RPG, it's difficult to justify buying it again and again. However, Persona 3 Portable contains enough new features to make it a worthwhile purchase.
  4. While releasing Persona 3 for a third time might seem like a little much, P3P is more than different enough to be a fresh and interesting PSP title.
  5. Atlus has done an incredible job with creating a portable version of Persona 3, and if you are a fan of the series or are looking for a JRPG to add to your collection, then P3P is definitely worth getting.
  6. 85
    The only way you'll be disappointed is if you go into the game expecting a brand new game. For all those looking to play an enhanced version of an old favorite, there's no better way to do it than Persona 3 Portable.
  7. Jun 26, 2011
    78
    The story is absolute bobbins. [Issue#206, p.92]

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. Oct 17, 2010
    10
    My favourite PSP game yet, coming on the tail of Metal Gear and Kingdom Hearts (both of which I loved) that is a big call. I cannot recommend this game enough to RPG fans there has been proper care taken to make this PSP version as addictive and fun as the PS2 releases without making it feel watered down, and in my opinion it is the best version of all three. Expand
  2. Jun 9, 2012
    10
    The PSP port of Persona 3 is both better and worse than the original. On one hand, it has more content and it streamlines some of the more awkward aspects of Persona 3, like equipment. However, the cutscenes and the map have been made slightly less active, so to speak. Cutscenes dont really exist in this game. There are moments where you have conversations but now you dont really see the conversation. You see a head pop up and hear the dialouge. Its a minute detail that does not take away from the game, though. Despite that minor flaw, Persona 3 Portable is still an amazing game. Expand
  3. Jan 27, 2011
    10
    This was one of my favourite game on PS2. The PSP version is even better. The new campaign is great as are some of the new features. Definitely worth getting if you enjoyed the PS2 version. Expand
  4. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    Persona 3 Portable is a remake of the PS2 version of Persona 3. The story is about a group of students who enter a tower at their school which appears past midnight during an hour called the "Dark Hour". During the Dark Hour, shadows appear and wreak havoc. The team must destroy the strongest shadows and stop the Dark Hour for good.

    The remake of the game features a Female gender which changes social links from people at school to the SEES members. She's also given a few romance options and her starting persona is coloured differently than the boy's.

    I really enjoyed P3P's story it was dark, serious, and much bigger than imagined. It really felt like a massive adventure by the end of the game, like I had spent my time well and not wasted it on a different JRPG.

    The characters of P3P are normal high school students. They are united by a common goal and also by their own struggles and challenges. SEES members live in a dorm together dedicated to investigating the Dark Hour, however, all of them have struggles with their parents. One has an alcoholic father, another's expects her to be a doctor like their other relatives. The pain of their memories unites them as a team.

    A bit of an upside is that their Personas evolve relating to the story, rather than making their social link max level.

    I also enjoyed the music of P3P. As it's a portable game, and a remake, the music selection is really just a rehash of the Persona 3 music. The soundtrack itself only comes with about 10 songs on it and even then, some of those are from the previous game. The songs in this also relate back to the story of the protagonist. The same goes with the opening animation.

    Combat... I really loved the combat. So much. I never played Persona 3, but in P3P, you are given the ability to take control of your team mates and use their skills instead of setting a fighting mode and hoping for the best. Team mates can also be separated and sent to explore other parts of the dungeon. Fighting alone or with one other character increases the amount of XP you'll get per battle. Team mates can even level up without you battling with them.

    So all-in-all, P3P is a good remake of the PS2 version of Persona 3 and gives veterans of the series a change to experience a different side of the story.
    Expand
  5. Feb 10, 2011
    9
    Very fun game. I love this game its so fun. The gameplay is just right. I never played any Shin Megami Tensei games until this one. This is one of psp best games of ever. The graphics is just right for a console game, Playing this game make it feel like you living in an anime series. I think everybody who has a psp should most definitely this game it is worth getting. At first this game looking so bored to me. Then I started playing it . Very awesome story to the game. I recommend this game. A excellent role playing action game. Expand
  6. Nov 8, 2012
    9
    I was both excited and scared when this game got announced: I'm a HUGE fan of the persona series, with persona 3 being my most favorite rpg, and of course the hype got me and I was literally counting the days for its release. The things I heard the most were the obvious female protagonist and some other innovations, which I don't remember, but I was anyway gonna buy even if it was the same exact game for the ps2. But I can clearly say, this is one of the best rpgs on the psp, if not THE best: the game not only is an improved version of the ps2 version, it also adds a "new" storyline with the female counterpart, meaning that the 2 stories, even if the same, are also different at the same time. The game is also very long (I finished in about 60-70 hours, 80+ with the secondary tasks and the additional fusions) which really strikes out considering that most of the rpgs on portable consoles aren't very long (unless you do the additonal stuff...of course). The combat is also very improved, basically taking the best parts from persona 4 (the possibility to control your members, for instance) and still remains one of the strong points of the game, together with the story. My only BIG complains are mostly 2: 1) the game has a very simplified interface outside the dungeon, meaning that you will NEVER control your character outside the dungeon, but only a cursor. I know that they did this in order to make more space for the game and luckily you will still see your characters during the dungeon exploration, and I'm ok with that, but it's going to take a while to get used to it. Luckily the navigation works perfectly: you can move easily anywhere by pressing the Square button (taken from persona 4) and the cursor is quite precise and works good. Overall, it's fine, just too bad that you'll basically never see your character(s) outside the dungeon, especially when there are a lot of costumes to unlock, Also, because of this, most of the cutscenes got cut as well. 2) NO FES! If this game had also Fes (the second part of the game, called "The Answer",that roughly lasts about 30 hours), this would be perfect, but unfortunely we only have few things from Fes (the possibility to choose different Stewards, some extra scenes, new persona, etc). Again, probably the lack of space made them cut the additional scenario, or else it would be perfect in all ways. And really, that's about it: the game is the same as the original, with a different interface, but with 2 very well detailed campaigns that aren't necessarily the same: they basically tell the same story with 2 different perspectives and, actually, it really encourages you play twice, doubling the hours and the ways to play the actual game. I personally recommend to try it out if you want a good rpg for your psp (it's a dungeon crawler RPG, the ideal for portable consoles) and even if there are some flaws (it can be slow if you don't install the game into your memory card) it still remains one of the best rpgs on the psp. Must try at all costs. Expand
  7. Sep 16, 2011
    0
    This is the best psp game ever. Although it is a ps2 game just put on a psp, I cant name a game that can beat it. Length, story, characters, replay value, variety. Everything was perfectly done. One thing I HATE HATE HATE, is that they took out "The answer" portion of this game which you can find in Persona 3: FES. Its a very crucial part to the story as well. I look forward to Persona 4: The Golden Expand

See all 37 User Reviews