• Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Nov 6, 2007
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 90 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 90
  2. Negative: 9 out of 90

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Matt
    Mar 17, 2008
    6
    Honestly, as long-time fan of the series, Origins really didn't impress me. The graphics are good, but the overall mood isn't up to par with the level of emotional involvement in say SH2 or 3. Naturally expectations were a little lower given that this is a portable game but really, the music wasn't Yamaoka's best by a long shot, the combat is actually worse than beforeHonestly, as long-time fan of the series, Origins really didn't impress me. The graphics are good, but the overall mood isn't up to par with the level of emotional involvement in say SH2 or 3. Naturally expectations were a little lower given that this is a portable game but really, the music wasn't Yamaoka's best by a long shot, the combat is actually worse than before (the one-use weapons are absolutely lame), and more than anything...it wasn't scary. I played the game for about 4-5 hours and just couldn't keep going after that. Hopefully this studio's efforts to bring SH5 to next gen systems will be done a little more carefully. Expand
  2. DustyK.
    Nov 8, 2007
    5
    This game definitely is a departure from the other games. The quality of the desgn and atmosphere is not as great as the first four games because a US team thought they could develop it. This game is pretty bad in general, bad AI, glitches, and a conflicting story that makes no sense to me, as a fan of Silent Hill 1.
  3. Jan 6, 2013
    7
    Very good game! Silent Hill: Origins features an excellent graphics and performance combination for the PS Vita. Good gameplay and bad/ok longevity. Graphics and performance: 8- (7.75); Longevity: 5 ½ (5.5); Gameplay: 6+ (6.25); Plot: 6 ½; Sound: 7. OVERALL SCORE: 6 ½ [6.6] (6.5 out of 10 [Very good])
  4. Nov 29, 2012
    7
    One of my favorite games on the PSP, i would like to play it on vita :(. But now the review. This game is a good silent hill, nice monster concept, the bosses impressed me, the new breakable weapons are a little boring but it is realistic. This is one of the games that i can replay and replay and i don't get tired of it. Good job on this one Konami, way better than Homecoming.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Short, but sweet and--if you followed the game's initial advice--truly scary. [Dec 2007, p.83]
  2. This is not some side-story relegated to the PSP, but a true new chapter worthy of its name and console-sized in scope. [Nov 2007, p.77]
  3. Origins unfortunately also falls prey to the series' most notorious pitfall--crappy combat. [Dec 2007, p.128]