Silent Hill: Origins PSP

  • Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Nov 6, 2007
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 100 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 100
  2. Negative: 10 out of 100
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. FrancuccioC.
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    A revolution in the silent hill saga, may be the best, but has some problems first the camera is like a kid without candies second is not a game that can be played outside, you must play it in a dark room with headphones third you can finish it in 5 hours, i agree that is a handheld console, but a game is made for entertain his owner for longtime by the way this is a "must have" for this console.
  2. May 31, 2012
    8
    Origins may have it's faults but you have to take a few things into consideration about this game. Originally it was being developed by an American branch of Climax, but production was moving sluggishly and apparently was turning out so bad that a bunch of people got fired and the project was moved over to a UK branch of the studio... who had only about a year to rebuild the game from theOrigins may have it's faults but you have to take a few things into consideration about this game. Originally it was being developed by an American branch of Climax, but production was moving sluggishly and apparently was turning out so bad that a bunch of people got fired and the project was moved over to a UK branch of the studio... who had only about a year to rebuild the game from the ground up. That being addressed, I think the team did a great job on Origins. The main thing that put me off was the story and involvement of familiar characters. The Alessa tie-in was pointless and caused the plot to suffer as a whole, as it felt unfocused and no one aspect of it was touched on enough for you to care. Also the combat system is glitchy and inventory system is just ridiculous. But beyond those things I got everything I wanted in a portable silent hill game. Good exploration of the town and it's creepy buildings, disgusting monsters to face, cleverly executed puzzles and riddles, another awesome soundtrack from Akira Yamaoka, and an overall satisfying experience for a portable horror game. Expand
  3. Travis
    Jan 5, 2008
    9
    This is the first Silent Hill game I've played and being a big Resident Evil fan i was thirsty for some portable survival horror. I haven't finished this yet but so far it's a great game and doesn't disappoint. The graphics are probably the best on the PSP. The real time lighting and shadows are AWESOME. It's more super natural based than RE so it's This is the first Silent Hill game I've played and being a big Resident Evil fan i was thirsty for some portable survival horror. I haven't finished this yet but so far it's a great game and doesn't disappoint. The graphics are probably the best on the PSP. The real time lighting and shadows are AWESOME. It's more super natural based than RE so it's definitely scary. There's one thing that I don't like which is the camera. It sucks. Some parts have a locked on view from somewhere in the room like in RE but then it switches and keeps changing the perspective which makes it difficult to tell where the hell you're going and where the hell the enemies are. Plus the controls for the character are based on the perspective of the camera and not the character (unlike RE) so when you press down to move the character down the screen, if the camera changes suddenly to behind the character, since you're pressing down he'll change direction and go back to where you walked from. This can get annoying. Apart from the camera and controls, the game is great fun and really freaky. You have to play this in the dark though because most of the time you're inside dark places so I wouldn't say this is the type of game to play on the go. Expand
  4. ClareC.
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    Even scarier on the PSP! One of the best things on the handheld; if you want to show off your graphics this is the game!
  5. GioD.
    Nov 26, 2007
    9
    Lay ur fears to rest, Climax did a phenomianl job. Like everyone else i thought this game was going to be disastrous. Taking a beloved franchise like silent hill and giving it to a new developer was a very risky move, but it paid off...damn did it pay off. Climax without a doubt captured the look, the feel, the pacing, the essence, and most importantly thet creepiness of what makes silent Lay ur fears to rest, Climax did a phenomianl job. Like everyone else i thought this game was going to be disastrous. Taking a beloved franchise like silent hill and giving it to a new developer was a very risky move, but it paid off...damn did it pay off. Climax without a doubt captured the look, the feel, the pacing, the essence, and most importantly thet creepiness of what makes silent hill....well, silent hill. And the music from Akira Yamaoka is once again haunting and beautiful all at once. The ONLY negative i have towards the game is that its very short. I beat it in a little over 4 hours. But being on how very good it is, its a very minor complaint. My apologies to Cimax for doubting u guys, u did a fantastic job. Lets hope The Collective does as good a job on silent hill 5. Expand
  6. RamanK.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    Another excelent game, nice graphics and atmosphere. Make sure to play it in a dark room with your headphones on. Really scarry.
  7. J.R.
    Jan 3, 2008
    8
    I cant believe they actually pulled it off! Silent Hill Origins works well as an entry into the series and I can only complain that it can be too generic at time and has a story thats less involved and emotionally draining than the other games.
  8. PaulBenware
    Aug 2, 2008
    9
    The trip back to silent hill is done well on the psp. Not only did this game scare me nearly to death, but thegraphics are amazing. This is an awesome game and one to play with the lights off late at night. The melee system is very weak and could use some work and the camera angles may take away from the experience. Complaints aside this game ROCKS!!!
    If you own a psp and need to get your
    The trip back to silent hill is done well on the psp. Not only did this game scare me nearly to death, but thegraphics are amazing. This is an awesome game and one to play with the lights off late at night. The melee system is very weak and could use some work and the camera angles may take away from the experience. Complaints aside this game ROCKS!!!
    If you own a psp and need to get your horror fix you must get this game!
    Expand
  9. TomR.
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    Wow! this is like SH1 and 2 wrapped up in a torrid lovefest of horror that will haunt me... _forever_
  10. LukeD.
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    An absoloutely outstanding game puts you in the shoes of an innocent truck driver, the puzzles are really interesting and seriously freaky stuff!
  11. ErlendT.
    Dec 25, 2007
    8
    Silent Hill back to form. A bit short and easy and does suffer from some of the usual SH symptoms, but all in all a great return after The Room.
  12. GautamM.
    Dec 28, 2007
    8
    Ok. I'll be honest.I have never played a Silent Hill game before this.So it was a totally new experience for me.When i saw this game for the first time what really stunned me was the quality of visuals and lighting.Probably the best on the PSP.As i progressed further in the game i actually started realising how scary this game actually was. The first time I saw the nurse coming to Ok. I'll be honest.I have never played a Silent Hill game before this.So it was a totally new experience for me.When i saw this game for the first time what really stunned me was the quality of visuals and lighting.Probably the best on the PSP.As i progressed further in the game i actually started realising how scary this game actually was. The first time I saw the nurse coming to attack me I almost threw away the PSP in shock.The music and sound effects have never been better for any other game.The music was truly truly disturbing.But the most important thing i will remember about Silent Hill was its quality of puzzles.They were absolutely BRILLIANT.As subtle as they could have made them and yet solvable.Without giving away too much,to give you an example of the genius of the puzzles,my favourite puzzle was one where you have to activate a calender to get a key.The way the date was to be found was absolute brilliance on the part of the designers.It was a EUREKA moment when i realised i got the puzzle.Most puzzles in the game will have you scratching your head but you will have genuine satisfaction written all over your face when you solve them.Now being a BIG Resident Evil fan i didn't think this title would stand up to my expectations.But it was much better than what u ever thought it would be.From most reviews i have read a common gripe was that of manually switching between worlds.Now as i haven't played any other SH game before i thought this was quite an amazing layer of puzzle solving(because lets face it,its primarily a puzzle solving game).I really enjoyed the fact that you could shift between worlds and use both worlds to progress in the game.So in short one of the best games i have played on any console in a while.Now the complaints.The most common one...the camera.The cinematic camera was clearly a bad idea when u dont have a strong camera control mechanism and especially when the enemies are invisible to you and you cant adjust the camera to face them is really,REALLY frustrating.The combat itself was weak and flat.It was kind of funny to see a truck driver killing the devil incarnate with his fists(yes thats how i did it).The guns in the game didn't seem to have any depth to them.The melee weapons didn't seem to differ to much from each other.And combat as such was flawed due to poor camera control.Also the inventory system HAS to be improved(as it has to be done with all survival horror games).Inspite of these problems,SH is an incredibly addictive,albeit short,game that grips you like a fever from the word go.This could very easily be the flagship for horror titles on the PSP.Go for it definitely.A thumbs up. Expand
  13. RichardW.
    Dec 8, 2007
    9
    This game is very underrated. It is the best portable survival horror game to date, and I found it very enjoyable. Don't pass this one up, it's a great game!
  14. AramisG.
    Dec 17, 2007
    8
    I enjoyed most everything about this game. It captured the feel of Silent Hill 1, more so than any of the other games in series. Yeah, it could have been longer, but what is here is pretty effective. My only complaints are the cut-scenes, which are poorly done and obvious, the breakable weapons (I doubt a meat cleaver is going to break), and the final boss (looks a little stupid, like the I enjoyed most everything about this game. It captured the feel of Silent Hill 1, more so than any of the other games in series. Yeah, it could have been longer, but what is here is pretty effective. My only complaints are the cut-scenes, which are poorly done and obvious, the breakable weapons (I doubt a meat cleaver is going to break), and the final boss (looks a little stupid, like the original monsters planned for this game). Overall a step in the right direction from the lame Silent Hill 4. Expand
  15. Dec 16, 2012
    8
    This game is an amazing adventure. I remember playing this a few years ago, back when PSP was released. Reviewing this right now is something nostalgic for me, but this game, for it's time and for being one of the PSP's first games, is an amazing adventure.

    Gameplay: 8/10 - Easy controls and nice camera. Graphics: 8/10 - Good enough to immerse you into the game. Music: 8/10 - Sad and
    This game is an amazing adventure. I remember playing this a few years ago, back when PSP was released. Reviewing this right now is something nostalgic for me, but this game, for it's time and for being one of the PSP's first games, is an amazing adventure.

    Gameplay: 8/10 - Easy controls and nice camera.
    Graphics: 8/10 - Good enough to immerse you into the game.
    Music: 8/10 - Sad and depressing music (which is good).
    Story: 9/10 - Perfect story for such an adventure.
    Expand
  16. Oct 19, 2015
    9
    This game is really good, it's the closest to the first SH game. Graphics are great they are scary too Graphics 10/10 for a silent hill game, Sound is good and music is creepy as expected from a SH game, the voice acting is ok too Sound 9/10. Story is a little boring but it holds up well not the best but not bad, Story 8/10. The gameplay is ok too and they added the element of picking upThis game is really good, it's the closest to the first SH game. Graphics are great they are scary too Graphics 10/10 for a silent hill game, Sound is good and music is creepy as expected from a SH game, the voice acting is ok too Sound 9/10. Story is a little boring but it holds up well not the best but not bad, Story 8/10. The gameplay is ok too and they added the element of picking up objects from the surroundings, the gameplay is very similar to the first silent hill game and the controls are a little clunky as any sh game but they are ok Gameplay 9/10. Final veredict 9/10, this is probably one of the best SH games ever made, it's very faithful to the first one gameplay wise and graphicaly, only the storyline lacks depth, thinking alot about it this game is probably better than SH3 and SH2 if not on par with them making this game arguably the second best SH game ever right after SH1 ofc. The game is very short as SH3 was it's very similar to SH3 graphically but the gameplay style was alot like SH1 which makes it a good combo but the story was just not good at all, I still think this is probably the second best SH game. I can only describe this game as SH1 and SH3 combined with a bad story, if only it had a good story this would be the best. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#5 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2007
#4 Most Shared PSP Game of 2007
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. PSM Magazine
    80
    Short, but sweet and--if you followed the game's initial advice--truly scary. [Dec 2007, p.83]
  2. Play Magazine
    85
    This is not some side-story relegated to the PSP, but a true new chapter worthy of its name and console-sized in scope. [Nov 2007, p.77]
  3. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    72
    Origins unfortunately also falls prey to the series' most notorious pitfall--crappy combat. [Dec 2007, p.128]