User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 6 out of 30

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    Personally I loved it, the combat wasn't so much but the story line makes up totally, and I also love that if I answer questions differently it makes for a different game. I had first played it truthfully, second was half and half and the third time I went opposite all times played was intense. Best advice to some who have not played go completely true in the beginning. you will not bePersonally I loved it, the combat wasn't so much but the story line makes up totally, and I also love that if I answer questions differently it makes for a different game. I had first played it truthfully, second was half and half and the third time I went opposite all times played was intense. Best advice to some who have not played go completely true in the beginning. you will not be sorry, and this is a game you want to finish and play again Expand
  2. Jun 6, 2013
    8
    Much different than other games in the series Silent Hill: Shattered Memories really is a physiological experience. The game doesn't have combat, when monsters appear you have to run, and it makes the game much more frightening, though the fact they're always foreshadowed by ice is disappointing as it eliminates tension and makes the game not very scary. Also the game basically punishesMuch different than other games in the series Silent Hill: Shattered Memories really is a physiological experience. The game doesn't have combat, when monsters appear you have to run, and it makes the game much more frightening, though the fact they're always foreshadowed by ice is disappointing as it eliminates tension and makes the game not very scary. Also the game basically punishes you for exploring when it comes to it's multiple endings. But aside from these caveats the game is great, there's a big world to explore that's not entirely linear a great changeable story (the game watches what you do and changes the game based on it) and fun simple puzzles. It's short but has a lot of replayability. Definitely worth playing Collapse
  3. Nov 29, 2012
    8
    The most creepy Silent Hill game for sure, the point of running from the monsters and do not have weapons make it a great horror game. The phone was great and the graphics aren't bad. Not a 9 because this game puzzles were just too hard for my mind.
  4. May 8, 2012
    10
    Best Silent Hill game I played. I wonder how they managed to port it to psp, because it looks sooooooo good. These casting shadows are magnificent. I like the fact that you don't have to use guns just running away from freaks.
  5. Dec 7, 2011
    10
    Probably the best storyline ever made. The best PSP game ever!!!
    Harry Mason is back!!
    All the loliness, snow, darkness, sorrow, cold, and fear are back....Silent Hill is back. If you want to live one of the best experiences ever made in all the story of videogames, play this game. If you want a bad shooter with no story, this is not your game. Shattered Memories it's an amazing
    Probably the best storyline ever made. The best PSP game ever!!!
    Harry Mason is back!!
    All the loliness, snow, darkness, sorrow, cold, and fear are back....Silent Hill is back.
    If you want to live one of the best experiences ever made in all the story of videogames, play this game.
    If you want a bad shooter with no story, this is not your game.
    Shattered Memories it's an amazing experience.
    Shattered Memories is a must have.
    Shattered Memories is a MASTERPIECE.
    Shattered Memories is Silent Hill.
    Expand
  6. MikeW.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    Let me preface this by saying this is the first Silent Hill game I've played, so I don't know anything about the storyline or how the original games played. This game is supposedly more of a re imagining of the first Silent Hill, which probably scares fans, but to someone like me who is only judging the game independent to any series to which it may belong, I have to say it was Let me preface this by saying this is the first Silent Hill game I've played, so I don't know anything about the storyline or how the original games played. This game is supposedly more of a re imagining of the first Silent Hill, which probably scares fans, but to someone like me who is only judging the game independent to any series to which it may belong, I have to say it was excellent. This game played more like an interactive story. It was very creepy, atmospheric, and compelling. There are basically three modes to play: Cinematic, Exploration, and Nightmare. Cinematic drives the story along, and can be either straight cut scene or interactive cut scene. Exploration is standard adventure game fair, where you explore the world and solve puzzles here and there. Nightmare is a more action-packed derivative of exploration mode, where you run from monsters through a warped maze of reality. Exploration mode is full of little details and extra touches that really show this game was a labor of love for the producers. The game rewards you if you take your time and really explore the world. The cell phone is a very important device to unlocking more clues and background into the game, and it was always entertaining to find a new phone number to try out. The gameplay seems to be influenced by the unique Wii controller, but plays fine on a PSP. The game is not difficult, but since it feels more like an interactive story, difficulty would only get in the way of pacing. Nightmare mode is fast and frantic, and sometimes irritating when you find yourself running in circles. However, it never crosses the line into becoming frustrating. These sections provide a tense contrast to the more cerebral, dreamlike nature of the other modes. The interactive cinematic moments with the psychiatrist were my favorite. They really break up the gameplay into chapters, and I felt myself playing on just to reach another session with the doctor. After beating the game, you will receive a profile based on your decisions in game. It's pretty cool, and certainly more than most games offer upon completion. The cinematics were well-acted by the voice actors and animators. This was a top-notch production. Because of this game, I'm going to play the other games in the series. Expand
  7. M.A.
    Jan 26, 2010
    9
    (This review is Spoiler-Free!!) I bought this game with low expectations, as it seems to be a spin-off that wasn't made by the Silent Hill team. Given how the franchise kept on going downhill in recent years, I wasn't encouraged to even consider a purchase. After some thought I bought the game, and I couldn't believe it! Climax retold the tale of Harry Mason and his search (This review is Spoiler-Free!!) I bought this game with low expectations, as it seems to be a spin-off that wasn't made by the Silent Hill team. Given how the franchise kept on going downhill in recent years, I wasn't encouraged to even consider a purchase. After some thought I bought the game, and I couldn't believe it! Climax retold the tale of Harry Mason and his search for his daughter Cheryl in a different, refreshing way that kept me hooked throughout the relatively short campaign! Keep in mind that this game is strictly for Mature players as it delves deep into some muddy territory. The game is divided into sections with each starting off with you being in a psychiatrist's office, where he asks you a variety of questions that will determine how the next segment of gameplay plays specifically for you. There is no right or wrong answer to these questions (mostly) and they are are interesting and intense. The therapist's comments that come afterwards are quite surprising though (One question involves pictures of sleeping and dead people, the therapist asks you to determine which are dead and which are asleep. He then gives you the right answers... let's just say I failed miserably at that one!). In the game you don't carry weapons or any healing items, and there is no health bar, but you can find mementos that are like hidden items! All you have is a flash-light and your trusty mobile phone. This phone has GPS capabilities that serve as a map. You can also open text and voice messages, take photos and dial numbers, most of which help in puzzle solving. In the nightmare scenarios where you are constantly being chased by some strange creatures you will find flares that prevent these creatures from coming near you. If they jump onto Harry then you must push one of the face buttons to shake them off. Harry automatically regains his health after resting for a while without being attacked. Gameplay mechanics change throughout the experience to keep things fresh, character interactions and dialogue are on the money and the story is told in an amazing fashion, but once you witness the magnificent ending... believe me you will have a WTF expression on your face in a really, really good way!! Expand
  8. DominicR
    Jan 22, 2010
    9
    While it is indeed short, it is an EXPERIENCE in the most literal sense of the word, and as soon as I started my 2nd playthru and changed some of my answers in the first "assessment" I immediately noticed a difference in my story
  9. Jun 6, 2013
    0
    Much different than other games in the series Silent Hill: Shattered Memories really is a physiological experience. The game doesn't have combat, when monsters appear you have to run, and it makes the game much more frightening, though the fact they're always foreshadowed by ice is disappointing as it eliminates tension and makes the game not very scary. Also the game basically punishesMuch different than other games in the series Silent Hill: Shattered Memories really is a physiological experience. The game doesn't have combat, when monsters appear you have to run, and it makes the game much more frightening, though the fact they're always foreshadowed by ice is disappointing as it eliminates tension and makes the game not very scary. Also the game basically punishes you for exploring when it comes to it's multiple endings. But aside from these caveats the game is great, there's a big world to explore that's not entirely linear a great changeable story (the game watches what you do and changes the game based on it) and fun simple puzzles. It's short but has a lot of replayability. Definitely worth playing Collapse
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. 58
    Shattered Memories gives you something to think about, even if you don't feel like you have direct control over how events transpire -- a result of the game's non-binary, open-ended decisions, both in how you play the game and in the "psychological profiles" you undergo.
  2. 70
    These issues noted, Shattered Memories remains a competent PSP action thriller, particularly for those with no other choices.
  3. This brilliant reimagining of the spooky series' progenitor is a breath of fresh air that will stick with you despite its shortcomings.