Silent Hill: Shattered Memories Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 30 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: While the game shares its twisting plot with the original PlayStation game, Silent Hill: Shattered Memories takes a different path in many, many ways. Characters can be approached but offer different responses and be found in different places, while new clues and gameplay paths can be followed. The title follows Harry Mason, as he attempts to unravel the mystery of his missing daughter, Cheryl. A broken man, Mason’s investigations lead him to the mist-shrouded, snowy streets of Silent Hill: a malevolent town where the shadows play host to a wealth of evil, misshapen creatures. Also new to Shattered Memories is a psyche profile element, which monitors every aspect of player’s reactions - from where they explore first, items that have been examined, and their reaction to those they meet. Small visual elements will also be altered slightly, adding to the oppressing atmosphere where nothing is what it seems. The psyche profile will adapt Harry’s actions as and when he meets normal-looking people or the game's many inhuman denizens. [Konami] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. This wonderfully crafted psychological drama does not only offer a story on a level rarely seen in videogames, it also boasts an excellent audiovisual presentation and an eye for detail. The few minor flaws in the core gameplay don't hurt the experience at all.
  2. Silent Hill is a great reimagining of the first game in this franchise.
  3. This brilliant reimagining of the spooky series' progenitor is a breath of fresh air that will stick with you despite its shortcomings.
  4. 73
    Silent Hill Shattered Memories will probably feel like a shallow version of the series to veteran players. But as a standalone title it represents a niche that is intelligent, thoughtful and meaningful.
  5. New chapter to the horror series returns to its roots and brings a slight change in visual style. Next time we ask for less ice and more rot and fear please. [Feb 2010]
  6. 70
    These issues noted, Shattered Memories remains a competent PSP action thriller, particularly for those with no other choices.
  7. Silent Hill: Shattered Memories is frankly, one of the better PSP games I've played. It's certainly not the best on the system, but it's certainly pretty and the sound design is through the roof with proper headphones.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. May 8, 2012
    10
    Best Silent Hill game I played. I wonder how they managed to port it to psp, because it looks sooooooo good. These casting shadows are magnificent. I like the fact that you don't have to use guns just running away from freaks. Expand
  2. Dec 7, 2011
    10
    Probably the best storyline ever made. The best PSP game ever!!!
    Harry Mason is back!!
    All the loliness, snow, darkness, sorrow, cold, and
    fear are back....Silent Hill is back.
    If you want to live one of the best experiences ever made in all the story of videogames, play this game.
    If you want a bad shooter with no story, this is not your game.
    Shattered Memories it's an amazing experience.
    Shattered Memories is a must have.
    Shattered Memories is a MASTERPIECE.
    Shattered Memories is Silent Hill.
    Collapse
  3. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    Personally I loved it, the combat wasn't so much but the story line makes up totally, and I also love that if I answer questions differently it makes for a different game. I had first played it truthfully, second was half and half and the third time I went opposite all times played was intense. Best advice to some who have not played go completely true in the beginning. you will not be sorry, and this is a game you want to finish and play again Expand
  4. DominicR
    Jan 22, 2010
    9
    While it is indeed short, it is an EXPERIENCE in the most literal sense of the word, and as soon as I started my 2nd playthru and changed some of my answers in the first "assessment" I immediately noticed a difference in my story Expand
  5. M.A.
    Jan 26, 2010
    9
    (This review is Spoiler-Free!!) I bought this game with low expectations, as it seems to be a spin-off that wasn't made by the Silent Hill team. Given how the franchise kept on going downhill in recent years, I wasn't encouraged to even consider a purchase. After some thought I bought the game, and I couldn't believe it! Climax retold the tale of Harry Mason and his search for his daughter Cheryl in a different, refreshing way that kept me hooked throughout the relatively short campaign! Keep in mind that this game is strictly for Mature players as it delves deep into some muddy territory. The game is divided into sections with each starting off with you being in a psychiatrist's office, where he asks you a variety of questions that will determine how the next segment of gameplay plays specifically for you. There is no right or wrong answer to these questions (mostly) and they are are interesting and intense. The therapist's comments that come afterwards are quite surprising though (One question involves pictures of sleeping and dead people, the therapist asks you to determine which are dead and which are asleep. He then gives you the right answers... let's just say I failed miserably at that one!). In the game you don't carry weapons or any healing items, and there is no health bar, but you can find mementos that are like hidden items! All you have is a flash-light and your trusty mobile phone. This phone has GPS capabilities that serve as a map. You can also open text and voice messages, take photos and dial numbers, most of which help in puzzle solving. In the nightmare scenarios where you are constantly being chased by some strange creatures you will find flares that prevent these creatures from coming near you. If they jump onto Harry then you must push one of the face buttons to shake them off. Harry automatically regains his health after resting for a while without being attacked. Gameplay mechanics change throughout the experience to keep things fresh, character interactions and dialogue are on the money and the story is told in an amazing fashion, but once you witness the magnificent ending... believe me you will have a WTF expression on your face in a really, really good way!! Expand
  6. Nov 29, 2012
    8
    The most creepy Silent Hill game for sure, the point of running from the monsters and do not have weapons make it a great horror game. The phone was great and the graphics aren't bad. Not a 9 because this game puzzles were just too hard for my mind. Expand
  7. Jun 6, 2013
    8
    Much different than other games in the series Silent Hill: Shattered Memories really is a physiological experience. The game doesn't have combat, when monsters appear you have to run, and it makes the game much more frightening, though the fact they're always foreshadowed by ice is disappointing as it eliminates tension and makes the game not very scary. Also the game basically punishes you for exploring when it comes to it's multiple endings. But aside from these caveats the game is great, there's a big world to explore that's not entirely linear a great changeable story (the game watches what you do and changes the game based on it) and fun simple puzzles. It's short but has a lot of replayability. Definitely worth playing Expand

See all 8 User Reviews