Sonic Rivals PSP

  • Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Nov 16, 2006
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 29
  2. Negative: 3 out of 29
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RafaelS.
    Jan 3, 2007
    8
    The game is really fun and multiplayer is spectacular but can be annoying at times.
  2. LatoyaS.
    Jan 18, 2007
    10
    I love this game! It has much replay value. You get to collect cards and use them to get speciasl stuff. This is my favorite Sonic game of all time!
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    8
    It is a simple game. Race against the other main Sonic characters and try to beat them in the end. It has a lot of replay value, but it is repetitive for the most part.
  4. Jul 30, 2012
    10
    The game is insanely fun it makes me play this more than 5 hrs! The fastest time to ever complete this game is about 14 hrs possible! The worlds longest PSP game ever! Multiplayer adds more entertainment, trading and swapping cards with your friends', and more!
  5. Feb 21, 2013
    7
    This is an extremely fun 2d racing game, fusing classing sonic level design put int 2.5D, and really fun racing mechanics. the card collecting of saving your friends is a fun concept for single play, and the multiplayer and wager system is awesome as well. Theres lots to like here, this is a great 2d sonic game, that will keep you entertained for hours on end. good graphics and music, plusThis is an extremely fun 2d racing game, fusing classing sonic level design put int 2.5D, and really fun racing mechanics. the card collecting of saving your friends is a fun concept for single play, and the multiplayer and wager system is awesome as well. Theres lots to like here, this is a great 2d sonic game, that will keep you entertained for hours on end. good graphics and music, plus creative design, this is a great game, wether your a sonic fan, or looking for a fun racer/platformer hybrid. Expand
  6. Feb 1, 2014
    8
    Sonic Rivals is a 2.5D racing game. It is really good for 2006 Sonic game. and for a PSP game is still good. The story is very basic. You play as Sonic, Knuckles, Shadow, Sliver, and beat all the stories, Metal Sonic. You play the game left to right with a opponent, hinting the name Rivals. There's power ups you could get. The power ups are basic, but it gets the job done. A special powerSonic Rivals is a 2.5D racing game. It is really good for 2006 Sonic game. and for a PSP game is still good. The story is very basic. You play as Sonic, Knuckles, Shadow, Sliver, and beat all the stories, Metal Sonic. You play the game left to right with a opponent, hinting the name Rivals. There's power ups you could get. The power ups are basic, but it gets the job done. A special power you could get make every character different. The whole point of the game is card collecting. This is the replayability of the game. Is fun collecting all the card. Plus every three cards, you could unlock a piece of clothing is a great reward. But you will get a card you already have. So is base in luck. I never try online card trading because I not sure I will find anyone. You could get this game in PSVITA(PSN). I say get it if you interest. Expand
  7. Mar 6, 2014
    10
    This is My favorite sonic game EVER!!!
    I'm pretty sure some people won't like but it's there opinions but this is my number 1 Sonic game
    The graphics are pretty good but it is a PSP game. The gameplay is fun I like how face all the character
    The game is pretty easy if you know what your doing Sonic Rivals is great game I give it a 8/10 Pretty good game for me.

Awards & Rankings

#30 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2006
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Games Master UK
    79
    Fast and furious and good old-fashioned Sonic fun, for all its faults. It looks splendid, too, with perspective changes and all manner of background detail. [Christmas 2006, p.58]
  2. 74
    It mixes snazzy visuals with a good sense of speed, so there's little doubt hardcore Sonic fans will find a lot to like. Plus, it has a rewarding multiplayer mode and wager system, which only adds to the experience.
  3. Take one part Sonic, add in one part racing, mix with two parts cheap deaths, and you’ve got Sonic Rivals. Fans may like it but I think most should steer clear.