User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 108 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 108
  2. Negative: 6 out of 108

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JohnnyD.
    Apr 22, 2006
    6
    the best game for my psp its not vary good compaird to ps2 n xbox games tho, the controlls are not vary good. cud have bin bettar!
  2. DjFIL
    May 21, 2006
    5
    I don't know why this game is getting such high marks. The graphics are good. The story is good (even though i'd rather less cgi sequences and more gameplay). But I really hate using face buttons (X, Tri, [] & 0) for aiming... and the auto aim isn't very good in this game. Socom is a way better game then this. And (even though it had camera control issues) I enjoyed I don't know why this game is getting such high marks. The graphics are good. The story is good (even though i'd rather less cgi sequences and more gameplay). But I really hate using face buttons (X, Tri, [] & 0) for aiming... and the auto aim isn't very good in this game. Socom is a way better game then this. And (even though it had camera control issues) I enjoyed Splinter Cell PSP more then this. I guess this is good for some, but good shooters are rare on PSP, and this is not one on my list of good PSP shooters. Expand
  3. Dec 8, 2010
    10
    awesome. great gameplay decent plot but hours and hours of gameplay. only thing i didnt like is that it broke about a month after i bought it. should've made it for the 360 or ps3.
  4. Dec 27, 2012
    0
    Syphon filter dark mirror could have been made better. Logan's shadow is way better than this one! A very big down fall for this game is that it graphics during the videos is very poor. But the one in Logan's shadow makes you feel like you are playing it in a ps3 but in actual fact it is a psp!
  5. AnonymousMC
    Mar 29, 2006
    10
    This game is SSSOOOOOO FUN!!!! I did 2 chapters of the mission in one sitting and was blown away......it had better graphics then PS2. Then I played online. OMG it is the best thing ever. I went back to SOCOM fire team bravo and it wasn't nearly as fun as Syphon Fillter Dark Mirror. If u own a psp u MUST get this game. And thank u so much sony!!
  6. AnonymousMC
    Jun 12, 2006
    10
    This is the best game on PSP. It really is. The graphics are amazing, from the high res textures to highpoly models to lighting effects to great animation. The sound is great the voice acting is good and so are the sound effects. The controls are great, what the hell is DjFIL smoking. It takes two seconds to learn.This game will keep you hooked too. I have beaten the game on easy andThis is the best game on PSP. It really is. The graphics are amazing, from the high res textures to highpoly models to lighting effects to great animation. The sound is great the voice acting is good and so are the sound effects. The controls are great, what the hell is DjFIL smoking. It takes two seconds to learn.This game will keep you hooked too. I have beaten the game on easy and normal and I am halfway through on hard. I want to earn all the badges, and unlock all of the bonus missions. I probably will take another two months to do that. I tried the multiplayer once and isn't as great as it is hyped up to be. The servers are a little laggy, and for some reason it wouldn't let me open doors. All I can say now is if you don't buy this game your stupid. Expand
  7. AnonymousMC
    Aug 5, 2009
    9
    This game is fun online, its a whole community of us just becareful wen u join online not 2 b so talkative bcause you would be talked about. But gameplay is KooL online you get to play in different levels such as Canyon, Shanty Town, Detroit, and others. The difference between single player game play and online [[multiplayer]] is tht the people online dnt satnd in one place, so they areThis game is fun online, its a whole community of us just becareful wen u join online not 2 b so talkative bcause you would be talked about. But gameplay is KooL online you get to play in different levels such as Canyon, Shanty Town, Detroit, and others. The difference between single player game play and online [[multiplayer]] is tht the people online dnt satnd in one place, so they are harder to kill =p Expand
  8. Middy
    Mar 13, 2006
    10
    Best game for the PSP ever!!! This is the PSP's killer app!!!
  9. JinF.
    Mar 13, 2006
    10
    WOW just wow.. thank you sony.
  10. JoeB.
    Mar 15, 2006
    10
    I played this game recently and all I can say is its about time Sony released a good game like this in this genre. I have been playing it alot and IGN was right. It has nothing wrong with it worth mentioning and the controls are surprisingly easy to get used to. You won't even notice the missing 2nd analog stick! Best handheld game ever!!!
  11. AllyP.
    Mar 16, 2006
    10
    Awesome better graphics than PS2 games, and better multiplayer than Unreal Tournament!
  12. ReggieN.
    Mar 16, 2006
    10
    The multiplayer is just sick! Everyone's calling it Counterstrike: Mini... The Singleplayer is the tightest of all the PSP games i've played.
  13. FrankH.
    Mar 22, 2006
    10
    Awesome game. You'll never want to play SOCOM:FTB again.
  14. TayE.
    Mar 25, 2006
    9
    Great game bout time they made Syphon filter that lived up to the forst game from the PS1. a little disapointed with the story line thats why i rated this game a 9 and not 10.
  15. Adrian
    Mar 31, 2006
    9
    I love this game. Havent had time to try multiplayer but hopefully it will be similar to the PS1 games, or even better. I think the controls are perfect, unlike the PS2 game. The four function buttons work well as a d-pad and a weapon aiming system, which is a reminisent of the first 3 games on the PS1. The range of weapons is superb, with information available for each and sounding I love this game. Havent had time to try multiplayer but hopefully it will be similar to the PS1 games, or even better. I think the controls are perfect, unlike the PS2 game. The four function buttons work well as a d-pad and a weapon aiming system, which is a reminisent of the first 3 games on the PS1. The range of weapons is superb, with information available for each and sounding realistically unlike the "tin" sounding guns of the previous. The game retains the fast-paced stealth/action shooting of the PS1 games, but also adds extras such as splinter cell style goggles and wall hug. I think this is currently the killer app for the PSP, and if have a passion for third person shooting games, guns, or the syphon filter series, then buy this game!! P.S. laugh in the face better than the outfit on xbox 360. Expand
  16. AronB.
    Apr 5, 2006
    9
    Great game that hasn't gotten boring like a lot of other games for the psp.
  17. Bob
    Apr 13, 2006
    10
    Electronic Gaming, well what can I say, you guys must be drinking a lot or must be completely stoned over there because the way that you rate games keeps on going downhill, I mean come on a mere 67. Let me tell you people out there you won't be dissapointed in this game, trust me it blows a game like Coded Arms out of the water and makes it look like complete crap!
  18. SamuelJ.
    Apr 23, 2006
    10
    This could be considered the greatest game for the psp. It has realistic graphics!! And the story adds to the excitement.
  19. Stoosh
    May 2, 2006
    9
    Easily the best game on the PSP, it puts Solid Snake and Sam Fisher to shame. Those who are familiar with Syphon Filter on the PS1 will love this, its a great return to form. The epic gun battles, the little touches like seeing Gabe Logan's breathe in cold weather, seeing a guard hobble towards you as you cap him in the knee, makes this game so playable. The controls are good on the Easily the best game on the PSP, it puts Solid Snake and Sam Fisher to shame. Those who are familiar with Syphon Filter on the PS1 will love this, its a great return to form. The epic gun battles, the little touches like seeing Gabe Logan's breathe in cold weather, seeing a guard hobble towards you as you cap him in the knee, makes this game so playable. The controls are good on the PSP, but sometimes can be quite fiddly, this is what stops me from giving the game a 10. Amazing graphics, great storyline, welcome back Gabe and Lian, hope there's more to come. Expand
  20. BalkeM.
    May 4, 2006
    10
    this is a exellent game. the only thing that could had made it better is the gun handling. but is a great game.
  21. TonyB.
    May 13, 2006
    10
    Wow this game is just simply amazing the graphics are excellent near ps2 good story line and its just one of the funnest games i've played lately on any system wow deffinatly worth a purchase especially for 40 dollars wow.
  22. NickS.
    Jun 3, 2006
    9
    Genius. Graphics are very good, not as polished as GTA but given the dynamics of the game, its not a bad accomplishment. Sound, music and above all voices are outstanding. Sadly the controls can let you down but they did the best they could do with the PSP's flawed hardware, I would like to have seen an option to increase or decrese sensitivity, like in Half Life and most 1st shooter Genius. Graphics are very good, not as polished as GTA but given the dynamics of the game, its not a bad accomplishment. Sound, music and above all voices are outstanding. Sadly the controls can let you down but they did the best they could do with the PSP's flawed hardware, I would like to have seen an option to increase or decrese sensitivity, like in Half Life and most 1st shooter games. I haven't finished the game but as far as I'm concerned I don't need to in order to give this a score of 9. The multiplayer is excellent, being dominated in every game just proves how good you can get with the controls, I was being killed with headshots regularly while running, I'll only go back when I've mastered the game. All in all, I can only but recommend this game, even if you don't like this genre. Expand
  23. psprocks
    Jun 4, 2006
    10
    well...have to with bob here about elctronic gaming...those losers must not have the played the game through upto atleast 25%...cause yes the controls do take some time getting used too...but hey once u get the hang of it u will just about forget the need for a second analog control...another killer app for the psp...and also probably the best game for a handheld device.
  24. NickS.
    Jul 2, 2006
    10
    Genius. Graphics are very good, not as polished as GTA but given the dynamics of the game, its not a bad accomplishment. Sound, music and above all voices are outstanding. Sadly the controls can let you down but they did the best they could do with the PSP's flawed hardware, I would like to have seen an option to increase or decrese sensitivity, like in Half Life and most 1st shooter Genius. Graphics are very good, not as polished as GTA but given the dynamics of the game, its not a bad accomplishment. Sound, music and above all voices are outstanding. Sadly the controls can let you down but they did the best they could do with the PSP's flawed hardware, I would like to have seen an option to increase or decrese sensitivity, like in Half Life and most 1st shooter games. I haven't finished the game but as far as I'm concerned I don't need to in order to give this a score of 9. The multiplayer is excellent, being dominated in every game just proves how good you can get with the controls, I was being killed with headshots regularly while running, I'll only go back when I've mastered the game. All in all, I can only but recommend this game, even if you don't like this genre. Expand
  25. AlexanderH.
    Jul 20, 2006
    7
    It takes a whole lot of game to get an 8 from me, an overwhelming amount of content and fresh gameplay to get a 9, and a damn-near masterpeice that rarely upset, or angers me to get a 10, not including difficulty. Sadly, even though Dark Mirror qualifies for an 8, it fails simply by not offering anthing ever-lasting or suprising to the table. What I mean is once you play the single-player It takes a whole lot of game to get an 8 from me, an overwhelming amount of content and fresh gameplay to get a 9, and a damn-near masterpeice that rarely upset, or angers me to get a 10, not including difficulty. Sadly, even though Dark Mirror qualifies for an 8, it fails simply by not offering anthing ever-lasting or suprising to the table. What I mean is once you play the single-player for what it is, you'll come to understand you've just played Splinter Cell in disquise. That's not to suggest the single player game's not good. Just not as heart-pounding or exiting as other reviewers claimed it to be. I mean, I can understand when you're exscorting someone across the level,and an alarm is pulled and suddenly dozens of guards are after you, it might "excite you", but to me, never once in this game did I find a reason to sweat, or tighten my grip on the PSP. All I had to do was snap behind a wall, aim at the enemy's head and tap 'R'. Whats so exciting about that? Not to mention the game got a little boring after a while. And the multiplayer, oh my god, is laggerific. One explosion and you're dude seem like he's floating in the air before he falls down. There's that much lag. I mean, I did have a few good matches but once it gets past 2v2, you're in for alot of the matrix. (Socom multiplayer on PSP flowed alot smoother and was more fun to play in my opinion) And what's up with the room getting disbanded after the match is over!? I did like the fact that if you play multiplayer alot, you can unlock cool weapons you can use before ever match, but if my review was any indication, I want be having any cool weapons any time soon. So, Overall, It's a good game, mainly if you're playing by yourself, and worth a rent. But if I was you, i'd save my money for Vice City Stories, Socom:FTB2, or Metal Gear: Portable Ops. Expand
  26. RobertW.
    Jan 3, 2007
    10
    A game like this raises the bar to a level that few games can match. Played both this game and MGS: PO, and I still find myself coming back to this game. I am waiting in anticipation for the sequel to this hit.
  27. ZemZ.
    Jul 2, 2007
    9
    This is a great game. but not without it's problems (don't play the training missions you will be talked out of your mind) i've been a fan of syphon filter untill three where i was too lazy to go out & buy, & dark mirrior delivers more than i expected, a very solid game with few flaws however it has liberal amounts of the good game kill, escort missions. but this is a great This is a great game. but not without it's problems (don't play the training missions you will be talked out of your mind) i've been a fan of syphon filter untill three where i was too lazy to go out & buy, & dark mirrior delivers more than i expected, a very solid game with few flaws however it has liberal amounts of the good game kill, escort missions. but this is a great game for twenty dollers & i recomend it. Expand
  28. pspchic
    Aug 23, 2007
    9
    Best third person shooting game ever on psp.. addictive multiplayer game.. the best game on psp!
  29. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    The first fully realised game on the PSP - it made portable third person shooters possible on the PSP, paving the way for the Metal Gear Solid games, particularly Peace Walker, and reinvigorated the Syphon Filter franchise, so much so that a new game is coveted still today. The use of face buttons as a second analog stick is simple when you think about it, but it took this game to fullyThe first fully realised game on the PSP - it made portable third person shooters possible on the PSP, paving the way for the Metal Gear Solid games, particularly Peace Walker, and reinvigorated the Syphon Filter franchise, so much so that a new game is coveted still today. The use of face buttons as a second analog stick is simple when you think about it, but it took this game to fully realise the concept and pave the way for other games. It wasn't just the amazing controls either that made this game great - the combat was awesome, and fluid with the player's movements, while there is a plethora of missions, achievements, and a hard difficulty that's actually hard. Also an amazing score by Mark Snow (Smallville) adds to the greatness of this game. This game may not have as many rabid fans as the Metal Gear Solid games on PSP, but for my money, this is the game to beat for 3rd person shooters on PSP, perhaps even the best portable game of all genres. It's that good! Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 58 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 58
  2. Negative: 0 out of 58
  1. 93
    Dark Mirror packs an uncommon amount of detail, variety and overall quality. It blends intense action sequences with stealth in a way no portable game has before, and it does so with style to spare.
  2. That sense of design pervades Dark Mirror, making it the best shooter yet released for the PSP. Don't be put off by the learning curve, which demands a bit more effort at the front than most action titles. Once Syphon Filter's rhythms are familiar, you'll find depth and replayability in spades.
  3. Reminiscent of the classic PlayStation originals while adding a healthy dose of fresh stealth and action moments throughout, this game will hook you from start to finish.