Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 49
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 49
  3. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. Feb 9, 2011
    100
    Without question, the finest classic remake I've ever played. It helps that the source material is so strong, of course, but what really makes this PSP rendition stand out is the way its creators have addressed every single sticking point that frustrated me all those years ago.
  2. Feb 17, 2011
    96
    For fans of the genre, this may be better than Ivalice. Simply outstanding.
  3. Jun 20, 2011
    95
    Bottom line: If I can only have one SRPG for the rest of my life, it isn't even a contest. I could play Tactics Ogre: Let Us Cling Together for the next 10 years and still be finding new stuff to try. One of the best remakes of all time.
  4. Mar 10, 2011
    94
    A mighty impressive offering from Square for the PSP that your collection isn't complete without.
  5. May 10, 2011
    93
    In closing, Tactics Ogre: Let Us Cling Together appeals to a very specific demographic: the serious fan of the SRPG. It is time- and energy-intensive, but the reward is immensely worthwhile.
  6. Mar 8, 2011
    93
    An absolute masterpiece, brought to us in a brighter and more complete version than the poor one seen years ago on PSX. Deep, engaging, with a mature plot and a near-endless customization level.
  7. Mar 22, 2011
    92
    What you are getting with Tactics Ogre is a beautifully told story, a game that plays quite well and, truth be told, is accessible to everyone thanks to the Chariot Tarot system.
  8. Mar 8, 2011
    91
    Tactics Ogre will rekindle the love of long-time Ogre Battle fans, just as it will draw in new gamers now discovering this classic. It's a perfect balance of faithful nostalgia and evolved gaming.
  9. Mar 4, 2011
    91
    I'm absolutely addicted to its gameplay, and still find myself going back to it and fine-tuning my current army.
  10. Mar 4, 2011
    91
    Meaningfully expands on the original game's deep interactive story and dynamic battle system, showing as much respect to prospective players as it does to its source material. Remake or not, this is the rare game that can sustain and reward months of play.
  11. May 11, 2011
    90
    Fifteen years may have passed since its original release, but Tactics Ogre: Let Us Cling Together still manages to enchant any "tactical-RPG" lover who devotes his free time to it. A real gem that earns its rightful place next to Final Fantasy Tactics: The War of the Lions and Jeanne d'Arc.
  12. May 2, 2011
    90
    It's a lot of fun and a must by for any Square or SRPG fans.
  13. Apr 11, 2011
    90
    Tactics Ogre: Let Us Cling Together is a phenomenal strategy RPG, and feels like a breath of fresh air for a genre that's felt a little stale lately.
  14. Apr 7, 2011
    90
    A timeless classic is back to demonstrate once more how amazing it is. The gripping story is accompanied by a brilliant combat system and rock solid character progression. If you ever wanted a true gem for your portable, this is it.
  15. Mar 15, 2011
    90
    An excellent remake of one of the best tactical RPGs of all time.
  16. Mar 13, 2011
    90
    Tactics Ogre: Let us Cling Together is a work of pure love, and widely surpasses the original from 16 years ago. Old fans of the game or of Final Fantasy Tactics will have a blast, but newcomers ought to be aware that this isn't a simple game, but rather a demanding piece of excellence.
  17. Mar 11, 2011
    90
    This new edition of Tactics Ogre is one of the most interesting remakes of the last years. Square Enix has done a great job on both the design and the gameplay of the game, creating the perfect tactical experience for all PSP owners.
  18. Mar 6, 2011
    90
    Square Enix has improved the battle system where its imitators have failed, while expanding on an already powerful story.
  19. Feb 25, 2011
    90
    The new definition of how a game should be remade.
  20. Feb 23, 2011
    90
    A thoroughbred classic, a tactical RPG with all the immediacy of Advance Wars and all the long-view flexibility of Disgaea.
  21. Feb 22, 2011
    90
    A stunning adventure, one of Matsuno's masterworks, a good example of how to develop a Strategy RPG with an intriguin' storyline. Plenty of new additions to the gameplay mechanics, it's yet another game that should be on any gamer's shelve.
  22. Feb 19, 2011
    90
    This updated version of Tactics Ogre ranks among the best tactical experiences on the PSP with features that make it easier for newer players yet don't dilute the challenges or rewards for veterans.
  23. Feb 16, 2011
    90
    Sets a new gold standard for both PSP strategy RPGs and remakes in general. With the PSP's peak far in the past and its twilight years nearly at an end, it's nice to see that the console still has at least one very potent trick up its sleeve.
  24. Feb 15, 2011
    90
    So yes, Tactics Ogre, I'm very, very sorry I've ignored you until now. You really are a classic that every fan of this genre should play and love.
  25. Feb 15, 2011
    90
    Tactics Ogre: Let Us Cling Together may be a remake, but it's one of the best remakes out there
  26. Feb 11, 2011
    90
    Key new features make this the definitive version of Tactics Ogre and the best tactical role-playing game on the PSP.
  27. It's a complex, challenging game with a powerful story that pulls us through it, and the portable version adds more than enough new elements to make it worth playing through again and again. [March 2011, p.80]
  28. Feb 8, 2011
    90
    Tactics Ogre isn't as accessible or inviting as Final Fantasy Tactics or Disgaea, but the rewards for putting up with its flaws far outweigh the cost. If nothing else, it deserves recognition for being a shining beacon of maturity in a sea of adolescent power fantasies.
  29. Feb 16, 2011
    89
    A terrific, amazingly fulfilling game if you are a follower of the genre in question. If you are, there's absolutely no doubt about it; you need to pick it up and play it.
  30. Mar 15, 2011
    88
    For those looking for a challenging and engaging experience which will take up a good chunk of your life, then Tactics Ogre: Let Us Cling Together is what you're craving!
  31. Feb 11, 2011
    88
    Tactics Ogre almost initiated its genre, and it still retains that magic of the golden era of JRPGs, when every new game became an instant classic.
  32. May 3, 2011
    85
    Let's Cling Together, despite a slightly clunky interface, is a thoroughly enjoyable experience. With a wide arching, controllable storyline, fans of SRPGS in general or patient players who enjoy an enthralling story are ensured many hours of gaming goodness.
  33. Apr 11, 2011
    85
    Tactics Ogre: Let Us Cling Together sets the bar for what a good remake should be and certainly cements itself as one of the best isometric strategy role-playing games around.
  34. Feb 7, 2011
    85
    The numerous improvements and refinements are much appreciated, and for gamers with the patience, few other games come close to the sum-total quality of strategy RPGing that Tactics Ogre provides.
  35. Feb 16, 2011
    83
    If you're into Tactics, this game is definitely one of the best. It takes more than a fair amount of commitment on the player's part to get absorbed into the intricate, many-layered story and environment, but if you do, you won't be disappointed.
  36. Feb 21, 2011
    82
    A great remake that improves the original game. A stunning tactical role-playing game for the PSP.
  37. Mar 17, 2011
    81
    Tactics Ogre Let Us Cling Together meaningfully expands on the original game's deep interactive story and dynamic battle system, showing as much respect to prospective players as it does to its source material.
  38. Feb 20, 2011
    81
    One of the most competent, solid, well-put-together J-RPGs you will ever play. [Issue#202, p.89]
  39. Mar 18, 2011
    80
    This is a game designed for the purist, and this PSP version of Tactics Ogre: Let us Cling Together is a charming restoration of the classic game. Connoisseurs of the grid will derive much enjoyment looking at a competent snapshot of the past while bridging the gap to the forward-thinking Disgaea 4 later in the year.
  40. Mar 3, 2011
    80
    Tactics Ogre: Let Us Cling Together is an excellent game, bringing turn-based strategy RPGs back to the forefront where they belong. RPG and strategy fans alike will be hooked on this for days.
  41. Mar 1, 2011
    80
    Very time demanding strategic RPG that is heavy on the menus, but has lots of content, great tactical combat and an involving story.
  42. Feb 26, 2011
    80
    Quotation forthcoming.
  43. The depth is the most impressive part of the game. [Spring 2011, p.108]
  44. Feb 21, 2011
    80
    Remakes of this quality level, I'd have any day. Tactics Ogre, with its appealing storyline and universe, was already a cult title. This PSP version corrects its shortcomings, enriches it, with revised visuals and new features or adjustments that make it more accessible to newbies, while keeping its unbelievably deep and rich gameplay intact. A rare jewel that will probably remain in your PSP for quite some time.
  45. Feb 20, 2011
    80
    Does what all great remakes should - it improves the game in a way that complements the original design, making you more aware of the gameplay's inner workings and helping you appreciate a classic even more. [Issue#106, p.104]
  46. Feb 20, 2011
    80
    The overwrought storytelling is not the sort of taste many will want to acquire, but that doesn't stop this being one of the best tactical role-players ever.
  47. Feb 17, 2011
    80
    Tactics Ogre: Let u Cling Together's gameplay is timeless and the choices you make bring about radical changes in the story, that make a second playthrough all the more inviting. It doesn't, however, escape certain small irritations.
  48. Feb 12, 2011
    80
    The battle system is surprisingly accessible and doesn't suffer from that modern over-eagerness to hold your hand...Great stuff. [Mar 2011, p.96]
  49. Feb 10, 2011
    80
    Lengthy battles embedded in a great story will bring joy to players. But be warned, to enjoy this one to the fullest, you should possess love for micro management, tactical fighting as well as lots of patience.
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 81 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Feb 18, 2011
    10
    Let me start off by saying the original Tactics Ogre is on my top 5 favorite games of all time -- And the remake is even better. If you are a fan of Strategy RPGS, BUY THIS GAME. The story is by far my favorite of any SRPG. When I first heard about a remake, I figured it was going to be like all the other remakes and have very little new content. This game feels almost completely different, with tons of changes, additions, and notably the removal of the training mode. This review will focus mostly on the changes.

    One of the most noticeable changes is the fact that you level jobs instead of individual characters. So what I always did was have 1 character per job so that you can keep all your jobs leveled. Because of this change and the fact that there is no training mode, I found the first couple battles (after your training buddies leave you) very difficult. Also, experience is gained throughout the battle and at the end it's divided up through all your characters. This is great, because when you begin leveling a new job they can basically stand in the back at level 1 and not risk getting killed.

    Another change during battle is the fact that you can retrace your "steps" or character moves. If you've played the original you understand the fact that sometimes these battles can last an hour, and one wrong move can cost you the battle and lose a vital character. So in order to aleviate a lot of the frustration you are now actually able to backtrack to any move you want (up to 50 moves) by pressing and holding the "L" button. A lot of people will consider this cheating, but this is just an option, and if you're a die hard fan -- just ignore it.

    Another important change is the fact that you can customize each individual character by buying spells and abilities. This feature resembles Final Fantasy Tactics and the use of Job Points. The difference is that you are only able to hold a specified number of skills and abilities. Because of that, each character is unique -- sorta. This feature was probably the first feature I did not like. It grew on me as the game progressed, but originally I felt like I was basically buying the same skills for my melee and the same skills for my mages. The act of trying to make unique characters ended up just being repetative for the first few chapters. The fact remains that these skills are crucial. Without knowing what you're doing, the first few battles were difficult to me until I mastered the purchasing of these skills.


    Probably the most important change to me is the fact that you can replay the game by going back to specific points where you have to make game changing choices and pick a difference choice to see the other outcome. Now die hard fans like me, already did this on the original but this was done by restarting a new game and losing all your hard work. In this remake you can take your party of characters and go back to those important moments. This basically allows you to recruit all those members you were unable to get to form the perfect party. One other sidenote is the music. The music and sound effects are AMAZING. I remember when I was a little kid, whenever I heard music from FFVII or Xenogears it would have a great effect on me. I would get so excited to play it, and even to this day there's a sense of nostalgia. This game has THAT type of music.

    Although this game isn't for anyone, if strategy rpgs like Final Fantasy Tactics, Disgaea, Advanced Wars, Jeanne d'Arc, etc. are appealing to you, then you have to try this game. And if you loved the original, but you're still debating about buying the PSP remake, just remember -- It feels like a new game, plus there's characters you always wanted to recruit in the original, that you can get in the remake. I won't give it away in this review, but a simple Google and you should be able to find it.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 5, 2012
    10
    Final Fantasy Tactics - but so much more. Tactics Ogre: Let Us Cling Together is a incredible good Strategy RPG. The game works similar to Final Fantasy Tactics(What to expect from pretty much the same developers). Tactics Ogre, just like FFT is about medieval politics, warfare, the split between races and different classes in society(Nobles and the rest).

    What makes Tactics Ogre more fun, and also increases the replayability is the fact that there is several routes and several different endings. Not to mention that you usually can have up to 12 units on the battlefield(Comparing with Final Fantasy Tactics 6 unit cap) You get plenty of choices in-game, but most of them are just whether x guy will join you or not. i.e not that important choices.

    The exp system also works well. The exp is well divided between the characters and the class level is shared between all the characters. So basically if you recruit a new warrior, so will his warrior class level be the same as every other warrior you have. This however is a bit annoying when you unlock a new class and see that it's level 1. Though they level up fast so it isn't really a major issue.
    There are however a few things I dislike, or rather prefer how it is in other games.

    First off - the class / job unlocking system. You unlock new classes by either buying or looting class cards. You can alternatively recruit someone with that class on the battlefield.
    But basically - I prefered the FFT system were you leveled up your classes and unlocked new ones. Instead of getting new classes the further you reach the game.

    Second - The crafting system is incredible slow. It is nothing game breaking, nor do you need to use the crafting system. But it just felt like a waste of time to buy alot of ores and then sit there and watch the crafting animation for the next thirty minutes.(But it was so worth it having upgraded weapons for your ninja) Graphics - Good, the sprites, art, effects,etc are all well made and fits in very well.

    Gameplay - excellent. The combat is fun and very smooth.

    Sounds/Music - Also very excellent. Story - Glorious.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    story is amazing, probably the best medieval fantasy I've seen in a videogame with subtle, well done political intrigue and a great cast of characters

    warren report encyclopedia is dynamic and grows as the story moves along, I can lose myself for hours going through and reading the intricacies of the story

    main problems is some facets of the battle
    -AI is sometimes stupid, casts the same ineffective spells over and over
    -large armies and large levels means you will spend a few turns just moving your units across the map, can be time consuming
    -level up system is a hassle when you find a character with a unique job, as you must level them up from zero by having them tag along in fights where they cannot be of much use
    Full Review »