User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 53
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 53
  3. Negative: 6 out of 53

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. joshuam
    Dec 23, 2009
    10
    l think this game is the top game of this year for the psp because the gameplay is very similar to the xbox 360 gameplay l give this game a 10 out of 10
  2. JamesD
    Jan 20, 2010
    9
    It's not very often you see any PSP game outdo its console bretheren but for TEKKEN 6 on PSP, this is one such case. This game is ast and fluid and completely does away with the lacklustre modes of its bigger counterpart. Just like Dissida and Broken Destiny, this is one fighter that can't be missed on your PSP.
  3. ScottB.
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    I have Tekken 6 for both the PSP and the PS3 and I can honestly say that the portable version is much better than the console version. The loading times are much better than on the console and what makes this game last longer than the console games is the Ghost Battles. The console versions only let you rank up to 1st dan before playing online but on the PSP you can rank all the way to I have Tekken 6 for both the PSP and the PS3 and I can honestly say that the portable version is much better than the console version. The loading times are much better than on the console and what makes this game last longer than the console games is the Ghost Battles. The console versions only let you rank up to 1st dan before playing online but on the PSP you can rank all the way to Tekken God. Its also a great way to practice for online play on the console if you like to win games with skill rather than just spamming the same move over and over again. I am also very impressed with the graphics on this game. There are two new things to the gameplay this time. First is the bound system, which helps you land big combos and there is also the rage mode which make the character more powerful if the health is low. Rage mode makes the Survival mode much trickier than it was on Tekken 5: DR. In my opinion the combos in this game are excellent and they make this game one of the best fighters ever made. There are a few drawbacks on this game. The biggest one is that there is nothing no online play for this and also it would have been better if the Tekken Dojo was brought back from T5:DR. The story mode is also disappointing and it only lasts for 4 matches and don't get me started on the last boss Azazel. Also it would have been great to be able to download ghost players like on T5:DR. I would highly recommend this game because it has a higher reply value than the console version. When it comes down to the actual gameplay I would rate this game higher than any other Tekken I have played. Expand
  4. alit
    Dec 8, 2009
    10
    Forget Meristatio's Review that guy must be smoking some good weed from Mexico because his review is bullshit. This game is BETTER than Tekken D.R. for the PSP. The character models if u can believe it are even BETTER than D.R. , the graphics for the level layout are very good too, and the game has some dynamic lighting as well. The graphics in a whole either are on the same footing Forget Meristatio's Review that guy must be smoking some good weed from Mexico because his review is bullshit. This game is BETTER than Tekken D.R. for the PSP. The character models if u can believe it are even BETTER than D.R. , the graphics for the level layout are very good too, and the game has some dynamic lighting as well. The graphics in a whole either are on the same footing as D.R. or better. If u liked Tekken D.R. for the PSP then you WILL LOVE TEKKEN 6 for the PSP as well. Much props goes to the Namco team for being able to pull this amazing feat off !!!!!! Expand
  5. waliver
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    just like its big brother, totally awesome. and works great on my psp flawlessly. gend2 slim
  6. StephenS.
    Nov 25, 2009
    9
    If you are a fan of fighting games and you don't mind not being able to play against other people anytime you want then this is definitely the game for you. If you are not that big of a fan of fighting games then you might grow tired of this game quickly. Tekken six only packs ad hoc multiplayer (you can only play with someone in the same room as you) and no game sharing like tekken If you are a fan of fighting games and you don't mind not being able to play against other people anytime you want then this is definitely the game for you. If you are not that big of a fan of fighting games then you might grow tired of this game quickly. Tekken six only packs ad hoc multiplayer (you can only play with someone in the same room as you) and no game sharing like tekken dark resurrection. Also the devs took out tekken bowl and also battle replays for single player. What makes it worse is that they could have probably fit it in the game without running out of space since it was only around 800 megs when i downloaded it.(a umd can hold around 1.8 gigs) The graphics are definitely improved from tekken dark resurrection and the new 5 or 6 new characters(not sure) add a fresh coat to the game. One of the things i disliked about this game is that the story mode is super short now. You only fight against a max of four people and then the characters story mode is done. Sometimes it is four other characters or just two characters, jin kazama, and a boss. And i forgot to mention this but the boss dude is extremely cheap and frustrating. I punched my psp multiple times while i was playing because i was so frustrated (i don't get this frustrated over games easily and don't worry i have a really good case that can handle all of that) But ya it is very frustrating. In dark resurrection most of the ending movies were pretty good and some of them were just EPIC!, but i have not found that kind of epicness in these tekken six ending movies which is kinda bad for me since that was one of my favorite parts of tekken dark ressurection. Also some of the movies just make no sense whatsoever. Well, to me they dont, not sure bout you guys. O yeah and one last thing that i forgot to mention earlier, now they dont have any encounters like in tekken dr where you met a person in the story mode and you talked to them about something. They took that all out which makes the story a lot LESS deeper and sometimes even more confusing. The core gameplay, though, the fighting, is great. This series has always had really intense moments where you know anyone could win or something like that. That is why i say that if you are a fighting fan then you have nothing to worry about. But ya, your welcome for my review. Expand
  7. MisscutyKitty
    Dec 27, 2009
    10
    This game is totally amazing. IT has great graphics and the story is great too. the new character are nice and make the game very interesting to play. i think that this game is a great game to play and will keep everyone entertained
  8. Aug 14, 2010
    9
    This is an amazing game that is a must-buy for anyone who is a fan of the fighting-genre, and even if you're not, this game will still get you playing. The gameplay first seems simple with each button dedicated to each limb of a character, but there is a surprisingly deep-interface that allows several moves to be linked together, called "juggling", that allows you to hit the opponentThis is an amazing game that is a must-buy for anyone who is a fan of the fighting-genre, and even if you're not, this game will still get you playing. The gameplay first seems simple with each button dedicated to each limb of a character, but there is a surprisingly deep-interface that allows several moves to be linked together, called "juggling", that allows you to hit the opponent multiple times while they are helpless, and it distingiushed between the casual player and the experts of these games. With a roster of 40 characters and tons of costumes to unlock by earning cash from winning fights, you can expect to play this game for a long long time, and each character has his or her own story in Story Mode.

    However, it also has it's share of problems, in this case the lack of game modes. I would like it if they introduced something like "Tekken Bowl" in Tekken 5 where you go bowling with Tekken characters. They could have been more imaginative like add a sport here. Nevertheless, an awesome game that is a must-buy.
    Expand
  9. Aug 30, 2012
    10
    if you love 3D fighting games like Virtua Fighter and DOA this game is alot better than those franchises and the handheld version of T6 for me is actually better than the console version
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. 85
    Tekken 6 has a lot to offer, including a massive roster, refined gameplay, plenty of modes and a smooth Ad Hoc multiplayer experience.
  2. Tekken 6 isn’t an open invitation to join the country club. The requirements for admittance are the same as ever; practice, practice and practice. Tekken hasn’t changed much here, but it keeps building upon a strong, rewarding foundation.
  3. 83
    Like Soul Calibur Broken Destiny, another Namco Bandai developed 3D fighter, Tekken 6 is a quality port that closely resembles its source material.