Tekken 6 PSP

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 70 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 70
  2. Negative: 7 out of 70
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 18, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it................................. Expand
  2. May 2, 2015
    8
    To be frank, Tekken 6 features the most complete and rewarding fighting experience on PSP, and is a must buy for any fan of the genre. And i wish the console version was better as the handheld version.
  3. ERB
    Jul 30, 2013
    8
    This video game is a very good game.I mean each of the characters after you play them in story mode and then you finish the boss they will show you an ending and each character in tekken 6 will have their own ending.Plus game play is good and actions are also good.I consider you to download this game and play them and then you will know that playing this game is worth It.
  4. Aug 30, 2012
    10
    if you love 3D fighting games like Virtua Fighter and DOA this game is alot better than those franchises and the handheld version of T6 for me is actually better than the console version
  5. Aug 14, 2010
    9
    This is an amazing game that is a must-buy for anyone who is a fan of the fighting-genre, and even if you're not, this game will still get you playing. The gameplay first seems simple with each button dedicated to each limb of a character, but there is a surprisingly deep-interface that allows several moves to be linked together, called "juggling", that allows you to hit the opponentThis is an amazing game that is a must-buy for anyone who is a fan of the fighting-genre, and even if you're not, this game will still get you playing. The gameplay first seems simple with each button dedicated to each limb of a character, but there is a surprisingly deep-interface that allows several moves to be linked together, called "juggling", that allows you to hit the opponent multiple times while they are helpless, and it distingiushed between the casual player and the experts of these games. With a roster of 40 characters and tons of costumes to unlock by earning cash from winning fights, you can expect to play this game for a long long time, and each character has his or her own story in Story Mode.

    However, it also has it's share of problems, in this case the lack of game modes. I would like it if they introduced something like "Tekken Bowl" in Tekken 5 where you go bowling with Tekken characters. They could have been more imaginative like add a sport here. Nevertheless, an awesome game that is a must-buy.
    Expand
  6. ScottB.
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    I have Tekken 6 for both the PSP and the PS3 and I can honestly say that the portable version is much better than the console version. The loading times are much better than on the console and what makes this game last longer than the console games is the Ghost Battles. The console versions only let you rank up to 1st dan before playing online but on the PSP you can rank all the way to I have Tekken 6 for both the PSP and the PS3 and I can honestly say that the portable version is much better than the console version. The loading times are much better than on the console and what makes this game last longer than the console games is the Ghost Battles. The console versions only let you rank up to 1st dan before playing online but on the PSP you can rank all the way to Tekken God. Its also a great way to practice for online play on the console if you like to win games with skill rather than just spamming the same move over and over again. I am also very impressed with the graphics on this game. There are two new things to the gameplay this time. First is the bound system, which helps you land big combos and there is also the rage mode which make the character more powerful if the health is low. Rage mode makes the Survival mode much trickier than it was on Tekken 5: DR. In my opinion the combos in this game are excellent and they make this game one of the best fighters ever made. There are a few drawbacks on this game. The biggest one is that there is nothing no online play for this and also it would have been better if the Tekken Dojo was brought back from T5:DR. The story mode is also disappointing and it only lasts for 4 matches and don't get me started on the last boss Azazel. Also it would have been great to be able to download ghost players like on T5:DR. I would highly recommend this game because it has a higher reply value than the console version. When it comes down to the actual gameplay I would rate this game higher than any other Tekken I have played. Expand
  7. JamesD
    Jan 20, 2010
    9
    It's not very often you see any PSP game outdo its console bretheren but for TEKKEN 6 on PSP, this is one such case. This game is ast and fluid and completely does away with the lacklustre modes of its bigger counterpart. Just like Dissida and Broken Destiny, this is one fighter that can't be missed on your PSP.
  8. MisscutyKitty
    Dec 27, 2009
    10
    This game is totally amazing. IT has great graphics and the story is great too. the new character are nice and make the game very interesting to play. i think that this game is a great game to play and will keep everyone entertained
  9. joshuam
    Dec 23, 2009
    10
    l think this game is the top game of this year for the psp because the gameplay is very similar to the xbox 360 gameplay l give this game a 10 out of 10
  10. alit
    Dec 8, 2009
    10
    Forget Meristatio's Review that guy must be smoking some good weed from Mexico because his review is bullshit. This game is BETTER than Tekken D.R. for the PSP. The character models if u can believe it are even BETTER than D.R. , the graphics for the level layout are very good too, and the game has some dynamic lighting as well. The graphics in a whole either are on the same footing Forget Meristatio's Review that guy must be smoking some good weed from Mexico because his review is bullshit. This game is BETTER than Tekken D.R. for the PSP. The character models if u can believe it are even BETTER than D.R. , the graphics for the level layout are very good too, and the game has some dynamic lighting as well. The graphics in a whole either are on the same footing as D.R. or better. If u liked Tekken D.R. for the PSP then you WILL LOVE TEKKEN 6 for the PSP as well. Much props goes to the Namco team for being able to pull this amazing feat off !!!!!! Expand
  11. Greg
    Dec 3, 2009
    7
    Im a big fan of Tekken so I actually own tekken 5 dr on psp and tekken 6. I put in the hours on tekken 5 cuz it was such a great game so I can say this....Tekken 6 is half the game 5 is. My biggest issues with 6 include story mode, customization, and the network. Im also disappointed there arent any bonus games like command attack since that was a great training game. I dont mind not Im a big fan of Tekken so I actually own tekken 5 dr on psp and tekken 6. I put in the hours on tekken 5 cuz it was such a great game so I can say this....Tekken 6 is half the game 5 is. My biggest issues with 6 include story mode, customization, and the network. Im also disappointed there arent any bonus games like command attack since that was a great training game. I dont mind not adding bowling, but thats still a part of TLC for this series. To be fair, the game's absolute shining highlight (which is true for all consoles) is the improved fighter combos. They added a few new tweaks to button combos which is pretty sweet. I use Bruce and he has a few new combo moves from launch that I caught on right away. The developers continue to make this game combo friendly. The graphics are also fantastic, a clear step up from DR and the load times after install are almost automatic. Ultimately at the core fighting of this game, its good enough to carry the score i gave. Also new fun new characters blah. To the biggest problems however. Tekken 6 is a half developed game. Its true, play Tekken 5 and you can easily tell. Tekken 5 was made to be fun, Tekken 6 was made out of obligation to PSP and this ridiculous need to stay under 1 gig of space. If they used the second half of UMD space they make the same features as Tekken 5, it now reigns as the greatest game on PSP hands down. The most obvious sign of this half made game was story mode. 4 rounds really Tekken 6?!! You added the obligatory prologue and ending...what about the middle? No in game story development even when its obvious two rival characters (ex. anna and nina) meet up? I say this because 3 years before when you released DR, it actually had standard 8 rounds and boss with 5 seconds of ingame story. It wasnt great 5 seconds but compared to 6 its a clear upgrade. If i had a grade i would give it an incomplete. Oddly enough, I'd also give customization an incomplete. To be fair before I go into it, some of the costumes look pretty fantastic, but anyone can tell, all head, hair and face features are all practically the same. I bet the development team created the full customization and, as they got into removing things to save space, decided to make aviators, cowboy hats and thick glasses the norm for all characters. Barely anything original between each character in this area and really feels lazy. Upper and lower body costumes are all a part of sets so really hard to mix and match like DR. Also, the million G price tags are really outrageous. It takes a day of sit down gaming to win that much and buy 1 item. Cant find an item that expensive in DR but every character has a few million G items now. What, Namco, didnt want the user to unlock the entire game? Character customization is deep, but at some point after 100 hours, I want the entire customization system to be accessible, not only 1 character. I miss Tekken Dojo and the majority of my Tekken 5DR hours went here. Tekken Dojo was the deepest part of the game where the game included bonus games and constantly updating character models. Anyone can update ghost models through the Online update feature, and almost all (except for the aura characters ugh) were user generated and very awesome. Dojo was great because it felt like I was facing a new character each round even though Its all within roster. Ghost battles in Tekken 6 carries a scaled down version of this great game format however, there is no online ghost pack downloads! Only ad hoc and no interest to even offer a community! Also because of this lack of community, ghost battle and arcade battle basically are the same mode added twice with different names. Also no wallpaper downloads =(. Tekken 5 allowed so much ease to win G through so many different means, and that what made it, imo, the greatest game on psp. You could win G after story mode, which is true for Tekken 6 but you could also get a free random costume in DR as well, which was great since a lot of costumes are so expensive (even more so now in Tekken 6). I know you could win G other ways as well but the win amounts are so small compared to those million G price tags. Also talking about community If you made it to the DR online ranking (which was clearly hacked for all the world rankings) you could a ton of G. I made the board once and won around 3 million G. That option is taken away now. So many things were taken away it seems. The developers clearly felt they had to handicap this game. The fight system is great but what about the rest? Why make it an after thought? why not not try for the next step. Tekken 6 sadly becomes a step forward and a step backwards. Expand
  12. alvaroo
    Nov 29, 2009
    7
    A good game. but it feels like a demo version of the xbox 360 or ps3 versions because it has only some modes and nothing new in the portable version or an online mode.
  13. waliver
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    just like its big brother, totally awesome. and works great on my psp flawlessly. gend2 slim
  14. StephenS.
    Nov 25, 2009
    9
    If you are a fan of fighting games and you don't mind not being able to play against other people anytime you want then this is definitely the game for you. If you are not that big of a fan of fighting games then you might grow tired of this game quickly. Tekken six only packs ad hoc multiplayer (you can only play with someone in the same room as you) and no game sharing like tekken If you are a fan of fighting games and you don't mind not being able to play against other people anytime you want then this is definitely the game for you. If you are not that big of a fan of fighting games then you might grow tired of this game quickly. Tekken six only packs ad hoc multiplayer (you can only play with someone in the same room as you) and no game sharing like tekken dark resurrection. Also the devs took out tekken bowl and also battle replays for single player. What makes it worse is that they could have probably fit it in the game without running out of space since it was only around 800 megs when i downloaded it.(a umd can hold around 1.8 gigs) The graphics are definitely improved from tekken dark resurrection and the new 5 or 6 new characters(not sure) add a fresh coat to the game. One of the things i disliked about this game is that the story mode is super short now. You only fight against a max of four people and then the characters story mode is done. Sometimes it is four other characters or just two characters, jin kazama, and a boss. And i forgot to mention this but the boss dude is extremely cheap and frustrating. I punched my psp multiple times while i was playing because i was so frustrated (i don't get this frustrated over games easily and don't worry i have a really good case that can handle all of that) But ya it is very frustrating. In dark resurrection most of the ending movies were pretty good and some of them were just EPIC!, but i have not found that kind of epicness in these tekken six ending movies which is kinda bad for me since that was one of my favorite parts of tekken dark ressurection. Also some of the movies just make no sense whatsoever. Well, to me they dont, not sure bout you guys. O yeah and one last thing that i forgot to mention earlier, now they dont have any encounters like in tekken dr where you met a person in the story mode and you talked to them about something. They took that all out which makes the story a lot LESS deeper and sometimes even more confusing. The core gameplay, though, the fighting, is great. This series has always had really intense moments where you know anyone could win or something like that. That is why i say that if you are a fighting fan then you have nothing to worry about. But ya, your welcome for my review. Expand
  15. Aug 30, 2012
    10
    if you love 3D fighting games like Virtua Fighter and DOA this game is alot better than those franchises and the handheld version of T6 for me is actually better than the console version

Awards & Rankings

#9 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2009
#4 Most Shared PSP Game of 2009
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. 85
    Tekken 6 has a lot to offer, including a massive roster, refined gameplay, plenty of modes and a smooth Ad Hoc multiplayer experience.
  2. Tekken 6 isn’t an open invitation to join the country club. The requirements for admittance are the same as ever; practice, practice and practice. Tekken hasn’t changed much here, but it keeps building upon a strong, rewarding foundation.
  3. 83
    Like Soul Calibur Broken Destiny, another Namco Bandai developed 3D fighter, Tekken 6 is a quality port that closely resembles its source material.