The 3rd Birthday PSP

The 3rd Birthday Image
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 56 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 112 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: (Also known as "Parasite Eve: The 3rd Birthday") Hideous creatures descend on Manhattan. Ground reports from the squad tasked with containing the pandemonium refer to these life forms as the Twisted. An investigatory team known as the CTI is formed within the year. The Overdive system(Also known as "Parasite Eve: The 3rd Birthday") Hideous creatures descend on Manhattan. Ground reports from the squad tasked with containing the pandemonium refer to these life forms as the Twisted. An investigatory team known as the CTI is formed within the year. The Overdive system emerges as a means of opposition, but only one viable candidate exists –Aya Brea. A gift as she awakens from a lost past on this, the occasion of her third birth. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 56
  2. Negative: 3 out of 56
  1. Jun 27, 2011
    87
    Expect 15-20 hours of gameplay just to get through the game and that's not including any replays for secrets, alternate paths, or checking out any of the secrets or unlocks. The 3rd Birthday rivals a lot of console action-RPG's these days, and while it probably would have played better and received a wider audience on the PS3, I have to commend Square Enix for publishing a fantastic sequel and an exceptional gameplay experience on the PSP that any fan of the genre or the series should definitely check out.
  2. Mar 29, 2011
    80
    It's likely that most of the old time followers of the series will be put off by the extremely shooter-driven gameplay - but despite having the structure of something very standard, the game has a deceptively creative centre.
  3. Mar 22, 2012
    80
    The 3rd Birthday is still one of my favorite PSP titles, and playing it again on the Vita just re-enforced my love of the series. Once PSOne titles start working on the Vita I can finally have my Aya Brea trilogy in one place to play at my leisure, and while this new game is a radical departure as far as gameplay is concerned, it still fits right in with the theme of the series as a whole.
  4. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    May 17, 2011
    70
    Has pleasingly strong gunplay. [June 2011, p.112]
  5. Mar 25, 2011
    68
    Parasite Eve fans may find themselves turned off by the frenzied action-oriented approach of The 3rd Birthday, and the execution certainly has its ups and downs. Even though The 3rd Birthday may not be one worth celebrating, we're hoping Square Enix can get it right if it decides to someday bring the franchise back to its console roots.
  6. Apr 14, 2011
    60
    If you were expecting a unique experience, equal to that of the PlayStation era games, you will be very disappointed. On the other hand, as a plain third person shooter, The 3rd Birthday is capable of delivering some quality gaming hours.
  7. 40
    Some of the first magazine advertisements for Parasite Eve, back in the late 90′s, used the tagline, "The Worst Foe Lies Within the Self." How oddly ironic that all these years later, a new Parasite Eve game should come out in which the worst foe truly is not a monster, but flaws within the design of the game itself. That's heavy.

See all 56 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 33
  2. Negative: 10 out of 33
  1. Apr 2, 2011
    10
    refreshing, polished and i fancy Aya... seriously though its got a wicked style nice controls (for PSP) and the lv up system is very engaging.refreshing, polished and i fancy Aya... seriously though its got a wicked style nice controls (for PSP) and the lv up system is very engaging. this game isn't about aiming, so what.. its about surviving and there are some quite deep tactics involved... very impressed and i HOPE there bringing Aya to the NGP!!.... oh, i forgot to mention the graphics are pretty spot on too. Collapse
  2. Aug 7, 2012
    9
    I am frankly surprised at the below average scores this game is getting. Sure it's not exactly like Parasite Eve 1 and 2, but the game trulyI am frankly surprised at the below average scores this game is getting. Sure it's not exactly like Parasite Eve 1 and 2, but the game truly makes the most out of the PSP and offers tight gameplay despite the lack of second analog stick. The story is serviceable, and there's a good resume of the previous games in the menu's notes if you're a newcomer.

    All in all, this game is one of the swansongs of the PSP and I'm quite saddened it didn't get much love from the press. It feels like a blend of all the positive aspects of Dirge of Cerberus and Crisis Core mashed together, and the now-discounted price of $20, you have the best third person shooter on the platform. Not too bad!
    Expand
  3. Oct 22, 2011
    8
    The 3rd Birthday is fun mash up of third person shooting and rpg stuff, which makes a really good combination (unlike Lord of Arcana.)

    The
    The 3rd Birthday is fun mash up of third person shooting and rpg stuff, which makes a really good combination (unlike Lord of Arcana.)

    The Story:
    Well the story is confusing, first of all it didn't explain why the FBI attacked the wedding of Aya and Kyle. Second is that to really understand the story behind the twisted and the high ones. Combine all to and you get a weird Daytime-Soap-Opera Shows.

    Gameplay:
    Unlike the it's predecessor it's not a horror game, it's more of a Resident Evil except with out the horror or intense scenes. Instead it's an Awesome TPS where you can do this "Overdive" thing where you can take the place from one ally to another by using overdive. Weapons are good, changing DNA is cool and Getting to Have different costumes like Lighning's Costume is AWESOME!!!!

    Graphics:
    As usual the graphics are fantastic!!!!! If you say it sucks then go play your GBA, I bet it has lots of COOL games in it special the AWESOME graphics it has.

    Sound:
    Solid Voice Soundtrack but the voice acting is at the mercy of the script.

    Replay:
    If you wanna get everything then be my guest cause one of the main replay value is the story cause you won't get any thing out of the story if you just played it once.



    see the full review: http://asia.gamespot.com/psp/action/the-3rd-birthday/player_review.html?id=751144&tag=contributions%3Breview20
    Expand
  4. May 14, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The 3rd Birthday is an excellent game for the PSP, with some quality graphics, with many details (although it falls in the soldiers a little), and certainly among the best of the console (personally, I think is the best PSP, but that is a matter of taste. Square Enix also reminds us that without doubt the best time to make the cutscene (movie scene) in video games. Finally, I found the story was good, a whole tribute to Parasite Eve, and that proves to be completely faithful to the spirit of this saga, but do not forget, this The 3rd Birthday is not a direct continuation of the previous games Ps1 (with more than 10 years was impossible without recourse to a remake), but rather a way to Square Enix to recover one of the great classics that saw the original Playstation. No doubt a highly recommendable game.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    The 3rd Birthday es un excelente juego para la PSP, con unos graficos de buena calidad, con muchos detalles (aunque cae en los solados un poco), y sin duda entre lo mejor de la consola (personalmente, creo que es lo mejor de la PSP, pero eso ya es cuestion de gustos. Square Enix ademas, nos recuerda que sin duda son los mejores a la hora de hacer los cutscene (escena de pelicula) en los videojuegos. Finalmente, la historia me parecio que era buena, todo un homenaje a Parasite Eve, y que demuestra que es totalmente fiel al espiritu de esta saga, pero no olviden, este The 3rd Birthday no es una continuacion directa de los juegos anteriores de Ps1 (con mas de 10 años era imposible hacerlo sin recurrir a un remake), sino mas bien una manera de Square Enix de recuperar uno de los grandes clasicos que la Playstation Original vio. Sin duda un juego totalmente recomendable.
    Expand
  5. Jan 28, 2013
    6
    So. Have you ever wondered what Mindjack would look like on the PSP? Have you ever wondered what Mindjack would look like if it was meldedSo. Have you ever wondered what Mindjack would look like on the PSP? Have you ever wondered what Mindjack would look like if it was melded into a third person horror game like Parasite Eve or Silent Hill?
    Well...you would get THIS game. The graphics are great, game-play is ...uhm "difficult" (due to poor design).
    The story line is just...horrendous (and you won't understand it unless you're either obsessed with the series, hyper-intelligent aka a plot-detective, or really bored and with access to wikipedia).
    Its fun if you're really bored and in need of some highspeed gameplay , but I wouldn't put my hopes up TOO much.
    I actually bought this right around the time it came out. It IS fun to an extent, but it isn't perfect. Or "GREAT".
    Expand
  6. Sep 8, 2014
    3
    What did you do with Parasite Eve? The first game was a masterpiece and the second one was really good but this is not even a Parasite EveWhat did you do with Parasite Eve? The first game was a masterpiece and the second one was really good but this is not even a Parasite Eve game. The story makes no sense, the characters are wasted and the fan service is shameful (Deteriorating clothing = sex sells). Square Enix lost its superiority in the rpg sector. Expand
  7. May 26, 2016
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First of all, I'm a HUGE Parasite Eve fan. I LOVE PE1 and 2! I must have played them both a dozen of times apiece. In fact, Parasite Eve was the first game that I ever bought for my PlayStation. It made me fall in love with video games that no game at that time had. I love the characters, the story, the world and the gameplay. It was a masterpiece for my fourteen year old mind back in 1998 and to this day it holds a very special place in my heart.

    That being said I thought I was going to die from excitement when I heard they were making a 3rd installment in the series! I so pumped! I went out and I bought the game a few months after launch. After playing it.....I was left very angry and disappointed.

    The controls for this game were horrible. They felt stiff and were hard to manage. The camera was something else that got on my nerves cause it was a pain in the ass to get it in the right direction at times.

    The gameplay had some interesting ideas. I thought moving Aya's soul from person to person was a cool idea. It was one of the few constructive ideas. The skills for Aya and customization for the guns were kinda of fun...or at least I think they were. You know, I really don't remember a lot of this game cause it didn't leave much of an impression in the gameplay department to be honest. As far as replay value, they added some god awful slutty outfits to have poor Aya wear like a cheap hooker.

    And since we're talking about Aya being a hoe bag in this game, what purpose was Aya's clothes falling off in the game? Nothing! That's what! All it was was disgusting fan service and give cheap thrills to lonely nerds. How Aya was torn down into a cheap, whiny, unintelligent, wimpy, and sleazy hoe was one of the saddest and most infuriating things I've ever seen! It was heartbreaking to see Aya go from the sexy, smart, and badass character to exact opposite.

    What's almost worse than that was the horribly god awful train wreck of a story! This story and characters had nothing to do with the other two installments in the series! Eve wasn't mentioned nor where the events that happened in New York and same can be said about Nevada! None of the characters from either two games make appearance from the game expect the Eve, Kyle, and the Japanese scientist, Madea. Poor Madea was turned into some creepy deranged prevert that just creeped me out most of the time. What happened to him being likeable, awesome, and super smart? Kyle just went around spouting stupid **** and running at the mouth about the things that didn't make sense.

    The other characters I can't even remember their faces or names cause they weren't even that interesting and had nothing to really add the story except for dying. The story so ridiculous and far fetched I swear to go that a five year old wrote it with crayons! There are so many that's that don't make sense and are never explained, like why did Aya get gunned down in her own wedding by swat members!?! The high ones and them being made cause Eve and Aya switched bodies and Eve being able to go through time and some crap! How can Eve go through time and better yet how can she put her conscience in another person's?! Never explained! It's more stupid than this games title. The storyline left me with a severe headache from trying to piece the story together. The voice acting is abysmal and all the characters were extremely drama induced and I feel like was watching a horrible soap opera.

    I don't rate games a two very often and I usually save them from games that are completely broken, but honestly I could never recommend this game to any Parasite Eve fan. They butchered Aya, the characters, and the story. Words cannot express how much I truly hate this game.
    Expand

See all 33 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2011
#3 Most Shared PSP Game of 2011