The Sims 2 PSP

The Sims 2 Image
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 31 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A world created, customized and controlled by you is in your hands now that the Sims 2 is coming to the PSP! Explore Strangetown and uncover the secrets of this classic Sims destination as you work to build out your mansion. Keep your Sanity Meter high by fulfilling your wants and fears soA world created, customized and controlled by you is in your hands now that the Sims 2 is coming to the PSP! Explore Strangetown and uncover the secrets of this classic Sims destination as you work to build out your mansion. Keep your Sanity Meter high by fulfilling your wants and fears so that you don't have a nervous breakdown. Take advantage of the capabilities of the PSP to participate in the evolution of Reality Gaming. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. With a great system of matching symbols in order to chat and flirt and a world in which a different life can be dictated for your Sim each time you start a new game, The Sims 2 is great fun and game that'll last you ages.
  2. Official Playstation 2 Magazine UK
    80
    Rather than port the PS2 game, The Sims 2 on PSP is a tailor-made experience that hooks you early on and doesn't let go. A superb game. [Jan 2006, p.112]
  3. 75
    The addition of perks and secrets, not to mention mini-games and the sanity meter, help keeps things fresh. The coolest change blends a focused, genuinely funny story with the open-ended gameplay that fans have come to love.
  4. I can't get over the load times and freeze-ups. Even as good as the graphics are I would take a blue screen background if the damn game would just play for fifteen minutes without a hiccup.
  5. The worst and most obvious problem with the game is the constant loading. Performing just about any action--going indoors or outdoors, playing a minigame, beginning a conversation with someone, ending a conversation with someone--causes the game to load for a good second or two.
  6. 60
    The Sims 2 feels a little scaled back on the PSP and even though there are a few extras added in the experience isn't as free roaming as before. The loading really makes the game hard to recommend as a portable title.
  7. Computer Games Magazine
    40
    The PSP version is similarly structured as a set of constrictive quests through three areas that are tied together by a contrived collecting game in which you gather coins, here called “secrets”. [Mar 2006, p.88]

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 15
  2. Negative: 3 out of 15
  1. MatH.
    Aug 22, 2006
    10
    I AM IN LOVE WITH THIS GAME! Even though the loading of this game sucks, I liked playing the mini games for simolines.
  2. Nov 29, 2015
    9
    I used to play this all the time as a kid it has a really good story to it! It's not like the regular sims where you get to create yourI used to play this all the time as a kid it has a really good story to it! It's not like the regular sims where you get to create your household.. You have one sim and you go through a story mode so it's really fun I loved it. Expand
  3. Apr 9, 2013
    9
    The sims 2 PSP, I think its safe to say that I was surprised with this handheld port from the series. I think the game did extremely well byThe sims 2 PSP, I think its safe to say that I was surprised with this handheld port from the series. I think the game did extremely well by having the charm to the fans of the series. The story was dark at points which was not done yet in the franchise. Everytime the story progressed, I wanted to see more and more of the game until it was done. I also love the idea that Bella Goth, A character who was in the Sims PC and consoles (Including Busting Out) Sims 2 and now Sims 3 reveals that she only married Mortimer for the money but she does give you his mansion to stay...But this does bring up a plot hole in the story. Where is Motimer, even Cassandra. TBH it doesnt really matter, I didnt really use the house that much anyway. As I owned this game when I was a kid, Think how scared I was when I saw that monster is the third area of the town you unlock. It was harder to relise who this person was because I only went outside during the day, not the night. I havmt re-visited the game in a while but I can say that this game is way more superior to the DS. Not as superior to the PS2/XBox port and definatly not the PC versoin but it is still a game that is worth playing. If you see the game and your curious, pick it up. wont regret it. Expand
  4. MarkT.
    Dec 25, 2005
    7
    Yes, the loading is a pain. But I still enjoy playing this for the odd few minutes here or there, because it's funny, and funny is too Yes, the loading is a pain. But I still enjoy playing this for the odd few minutes here or there, because it's funny, and funny is too rare in games. Expand
  5. PoopdeckP.
    Mar 21, 2009
    6
    This game was entertaining, but only took me about 30minutes-1hour 30minutes- to complete. Yes, the loading was very unacceptable. And I amThis game was entertaining, but only took me about 30minutes-1hour 30minutes- to complete. Yes, the loading was very unacceptable. And I am very dissappointed because it got boring easily, I really wish their was some kind of cheat to unlock free play, because now that I have finished it, finding all the secrets just seems pointless and a time waister. Collapse
  6. DomdomP.
    Jul 14, 2006
    6
    Yes, as you have all heard the loading is terrible. Also i think it is a bit sad that you cant just free play your sims and build your own Yes, as you have all heard the loading is terrible. Also i think it is a bit sad that you cant just free play your sims and build your own houses like in the pc version. I think MAXIS should have at least fixed the loading problem before releasing it. Expand
  7. Dec 28, 2011
    1
    Even know the game is good it like terrible for me the pc is better than the pc. The Sims 2 for psp i played a couple years ago and still iEven know the game is good it like terrible for me the pc is better than the pc. The Sims 2 for psp i played a couple years ago and still i think it ain,t a good game cause of weird stuff. Expand

See all 15 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#21 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2005
#5 Most Shared PSP Game of 2005