• Publisher: Tecmo
  • Release Date: Dec 5, 2005
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Tecmo has shown once again that it doesn't take mega licenses or millions of dollars to make a great video game. [Jan 2006, p.50]
  2. 90
    A technological treat, with virtually zero loading, crisp colors, and a pleasingly quirky little soundtrack. There's no multiplayer, though Tokobot's single-player is engrossing enough to soak up your valuable attention for a good eight hours.
  3. If you like mixing your platforming with puzzle, Tokobot just moved to the front of your "To Do" list.
  4. Video games work best when you never once question your suspension of disbelief, and Tokobot scores high marks with its winning charm and ease of gameplay.
  5. It offers something you simply aren't going to get from a lot of other games right now: a surprise. [Jan 2006, p.155]
  6. Tokobot is a charming and entertaining platformer, and its only major setback is that there isn't more of it to go around.
  7. Although there are times where you may just smash the PSP out of frustration (I bit my PSP), the game of course offers very many puzzles that will keep you thinking and will be more than rewarding on its part.
  8. Its inventive gameplay will keep you busy with different uses of formation, and its presentation is mostly on the mark. On top of this, the boss battles are quite memorable and the extras will keep you coming back for more.
  9. The PSP now has a stylish, almost insufferably cute dose of action/puzzle gaming, and a world that will appeal to both sexes and all ages.
  10. Tokobot may be disappointingly straightforward for a game that could have involved so much more player creativity in terms of solving puzzles, but it’s still very enjoyable. [Mar 2006, p.100]
  11. Like the fabulous Olsen twins, Tokobot is undeniably sweet and, indeed, over in a flutter of an eyelid due to the lack of any alternate modes. However, not to sample the sheer splendour of Tokobot's level design and the arrant magnificence (running out of words that mean 'good', here!) of the innovative execution would be imbecilic.
  12. The controls and camera need a little work and the supporting cast (as well as the Tokobots) could use some kind of personality outside of being cute and/or evil.
  13. Tokobot shows some real promise with a totally original concept that can be expanded upon for what we can only hope will be more adventures on the PSP and if we are lucky, the big consoles.
  14. 75
    The game won me over when I played through it on my own, with little surprises constantly thrown in when the gameplay got stale and boss battles that were worth playing up to.
  15. 75
    With just enough innovation going for it, this title is a welcome change from all the ports the handheld seems to be plagued with.
  16. There simply isn't as diverse a platformer anywhere in sight. [Jan 2006, p.85]
  17. But if you're looking for a somewhat new angle on the old platforming formula with a little taste of Pikmin thrown in, then Tokobot is worth checking out.
  18. Tecmo produces a light-hearted and quirky action platformer that charms us with its simple but highly strategic combat and adorable characters.
  19. It's a great concept, but the simplistic physics and repetitive puzzles let it down somewhat. You can never really put together any flowing moves, and the game runs out of surprises far too quickly.
  20. Sadly what we get is some very cluttered gameplay, a nonsensical story even by Japanese standards, and not much in the way of challenge beyond that which arises from the fiddly method of controlling the tokobots during combat.
  21. 60
    The graphics are pretty, the visual design is solid and the music is excellent. But the gameplay would have been unacceptable five years ago on PlayStation; portability doesn't make its shortcomings any more tolerable today.
  22. 60
    Totally middle-of-the-road. A nice idea that's a bit overdone, and never really takes off the way it should.
  23. It's good to see developers trying something new but this is more of a solid template for a sequel than a top game in it's own right. [Mar 2006, p.84]
  24. Here's hoping they'll do better with the sequel, if there is one, and produce a game with real charm, inventive level designs and plenty of fast-paced action - the game Tokobot should have been, in other words.
  25. If they had fixed the controls and camera I would of given it a [70], if they had extended the game and not forced me to visit the same old levels I would of given it an [80]
  26. The problem is, the control is so sluggish that combat is a chore while exploring is a bore. [Feb 2006, p.110]
  27. 50
    Divested of any real spark, Tokobot runs out of steam quickly, mires itself in mediocrity, and never manages to rise above it.
  28. In practice, Tokobot offers so little to challenge either the reflexes or the mind that it boils down to one long, plodding, gentle ushering from one side of a large, mostly vacant level to the other, with nothing to reward self-determined exploration and an identical series of Pavlovian cues to let the player know that it’s time to switch to the next formation. [Feb 2006, p.89]
  29. The jointed Tokobot moves work well, and the opening sections are good fun, but the ideas soon run out, leaving a game that isn't brilliant as an all out action platformer, nor a puzzle-based adventure.
  30. The cracks show very clearly after the game drags you in by providing a trouble-free first mission, and they are enough to completely kill the game for anyone who only has a passing interest.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. JonathonR.
    Oct 29, 2006
    10
    This is a really good game to play it will comsume you for hours on end I like it because of the robots that assist you it is one of the best This is a really good game to play it will comsume you for hours on end I like it because of the robots that assist you it is one of the best games I've played on and I think its very fun. Full Review »
  2. Ezekial
    Jan 16, 2006
    9
    Ever play Pikmen? Well this game is sorta the same, you use little Tokobot's to assist you in the game(And they don't die). I find Ever play Pikmen? Well this game is sorta the same, you use little Tokobot's to assist you in the game(And they don't die). I find this game very fun for the PSP, it has good gameplay, music, sounds. I would have been nice for a multiplayer though. Full Review »