Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six Vegas PSP

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 31
  2. Negative: 7 out of 31
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mudd
    Jun 15, 2007
    8
    Fun. I have played RS since the beginning and this is a decent addition. The content is toned down a little but that should be expected for the handheld. Only real complaint is that the online gameplay is a little laggy. Good game overall. (One of the best for the PSP).
  2. jefftinith
    Jul 8, 2009
    9
    this game blew me away when first got it i think it is one of the best games for the psp systems the only thing i wish is that you had is that you would get to have the extra two people that you where supposed to find in the mission so you could have to back you up and have there mouth move when they talk other wise it is an awsome game i am always online trying to find players but i neverthis game blew me away when first got it i think it is one of the best games for the psp systems the only thing i wish is that you had is that you would get to have the extra two people that you where supposed to find in the mission so you could have to back you up and have there mouth move when they talk other wise it is an awsome game i am always online trying to find players but i never can because no one plays this game anymore but is an awsome first person shooter i highly recomend this game go online Expand
  3. AaronH.
    Jun 18, 2007
    8
    To be honest, these "professional" reviewers really need to wake up and have some coffee and try reviewing this title again. Those reviews are very bias with a sprinkle of idiotics for good measure, as it is a bad idea to compare a totaly different game designed for staionary entertainment machines such as the PC or the consoles, let alone the fact Ubisoft made it rather clear this was a To be honest, these "professional" reviewers really need to wake up and have some coffee and try reviewing this title again. Those reviews are very bias with a sprinkle of idiotics for good measure, as it is a bad idea to compare a totaly different game designed for staionary entertainment machines such as the PC or the consoles, let alone the fact Ubisoft made it rather clear this was a totaly different game in focus and design from its console/PC bound brother. With that in mind, and the hardware limits of a portable device, the game serves up a very fair FPS engagement for fans of the PS2/Xbox Rainbow Six 3 titles. The weakest links in this game stems from a online experience that lacks co-op, a few stiff controls few new commers, a learning curve to those used to the simplified RV6 servings of the console/PC edition, and a few bugs. The stark complaint about this title's graphics verus the homebound edition is funny due to the poor choice of comparisons. First, the PSP is not an Xbox 360 nor a PS3, so please take the complaints of previous reviewers with a grain of salt as they fail to compare it to other PSP titles in the same genre serving. Establishing my opinion on that, this title stacks up rather well to SOCOM Fire Team Bravo 1 and 2 as a decent title for graphics and a far better FPS engagement than Coded Arms. It's apparent, though, that this game's a bit goofy to those playing for the first time. There is a mild learning curve to those who are used to the simplified health and kit system in R6V for the Xbox 360/PC/PS3. Health does not regenerate, and gernades must be equpied before tossing, just like prior franchise installlments such as Rainbow Six 1 all the way up to Raven Shield (PC)/ Rainbow Six 3 (consoles). This, coupled with the shapes buttons (circle, square, etc) are bound to camera control and the analog stick bound to movement. For those not used to playing Nintendo 64 shooters such as Goldeneye, Duke Nukem 64, Turok Franchise, or Perfect dark then this is going to be a very akward situation and a very annoying one to contend with. The weakest part of this game stems from its multiplayer serving of only Survial (deathmatch) and Team Survial. None of the award-winning gametypes exist here, such as Hostage Rescue or Attack and Defend. Also MIA is Co-operative play with other people, considering I'm not the most anxious of people to play a match against others these days, I generaly hover around Co Op like a moth to fire. Sadly this is one of the few Rainbow Six titles to lack co op in any way or form, for the moment. I just hope there is some direct community backlash at the lack of co op and a direct request to make a content patch. Expand
  4. ChadH.
    Sep 6, 2007
    3
    Very Very disappointing. Not worth half the money. Very short. Not many levels and very limited movements by the character.
  5. JamesL.
    Jun 21, 2007
    4
    This is a game that could have been so much more given its potential, but it seems that there just wasnt enough time and effort put into the project to make it as enjoyable as it could have been. Here are a few major problems that brought the game down; the iillogical enemy AI, the 2 second freezing that occurs everytime the player kills an enemy, the low framerate, and the fact that This is a game that could have been so much more given its potential, but it seems that there just wasnt enough time and effort put into the project to make it as enjoyable as it could have been. Here are a few major problems that brought the game down; the iillogical enemy AI, the 2 second freezing that occurs everytime the player kills an enemy, the low framerate, and the fact that there is no way to heal yourself throughout long missions. First lets talk about the enemy AI. The enemy can be incredibly stupid, and be totally ignorant about the fact that you have just killed his buddy right beside him with a very loud gun. But sometimes, they also seem to have eyes on the back of their heads, and the sound sensitivity of a sonar system. The 2 second freezing right before you drop an enemy makes it even worse. Then theres issue with the inability to heal or refill ammo. Many times i would find myself with the end of the mission just a few inches away..yet i cant make it no matter how many times i restart the checkpoint because i restart with little to no health, or ammo. The graphics could also use alittle work. Try speeding up the frame rate so i dont feel like im in "Robot Chicken" and perhaps add some more detail so that the guns dont all look like a piece of 2-by-4 in 3rd person view. Expand
  6. SteeveL.
    Apr 13, 2007
    8
    Really honest game, it deliver a good Rainbow Six experience. Great addition to the PSP console. Interesting stories with some small hook and good online/AdHoc game mode.
  7. ZemZ
    Feb 26, 2008
    4
    good but not great. here's how it works walk into room press button to lock on to bad guy (you can pretty much only lock on as the controls don't really alow for fine shooting) press again for head shot (yeah it actually locks on to their head for you), fire. repeat. then switch to sniper, find bad guys befor they shoot your buddy, aim poorly shoot. fun for a while & milddly good but not great. here's how it works walk into room press button to lock on to bad guy (you can pretty much only lock on as the controls don't really alow for fine shooting) press again for head shot (yeah it actually locks on to their head for you), fire. repeat. then switch to sniper, find bad guys befor they shoot your buddy, aim poorly shoot. fun for a while & milddly entertaining but lacking plenty, the enviorments are rich but unexciting, & the enemy ai is seriously screwed up, one minute the gaurds are braindead (don't belive me walk up behind one & just follow him around he may even pass other gaurds who won't see you behind him & as long as you don't do anything too stupisd they'll never know your there.) the next there super human & will already have there head shots linded up by the time you walk though the door.(though you proubly would't notice if you didn't look to hard & adds an element of fun to the game), & finaly i'm pissed at no health packs (nor recharging health) or the ability to pick up guns at all, not even ammo. & should you choose a bad gun at the wepon selection then too bad your stuck with it. not the best but fun. Expand
  8. jedIANR
    Jun 16, 2007
    8
    Fans of SFDM , Medal of Honor, and the Socom games will love this game. Great handheld game!
  9. WesS.
    Jan 24, 2008
    9
    A great game overall. The graphics are good but not spectacular. One thing this game is missing is more online players.(Only 4 players) I would recommend this game.
  10. ColinC
    Apr 14, 2008
    4
    Terrible. This was the first FPS I played on the psp and I was worried. Bland environments, sluggish control, and a not very interesting story had me worried this was maybe the best the little psp could do. Then I picked up the first Syphon Filter game, Dark Mirror, and it blew me away. Especially in comparison. Give thisRainbow 6 a pass. There's better stuff out there by far.

Awards & Rankings

#21 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2007
#46 Most Shared PSP Game of 2007
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. Official Playstation 2 Magazine UK
    50
    Over complicated and visually lacklustre - this is a disappointing outing for Rainbow Six. Stick with "Medal of Honor Heroes." [Jan 2007, p.76]
  2. Pure Magazine UK
    50
    A well-implemented control system and great sense of tension make this a joy to play. [Jan 2007, p.50]
  3. A bland, ugly and dreary game - which goes against everything you're used to after playing the series on PS2. There's a certain compulsive quality to sniping but after a couple of levels, you'll develop a strange sense of deja vu and wish you were playing a better shooter.