• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Aug 30, 2010
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. A new story, battle improvements, new troops, and a ton of missions are exactly what Valkyria Chronicles fans were asking for.
  2. One other thing I wanted to note is that the game is perfectly suited to portable play, which was a concern for me going in.
  3. Oct 25, 2010
    90
    If you're looking for a lengthy portable game that will take you around 35+ hours with a lot of customization, then Valkyria Chronicles II will not disappoint. You will not regret a purchase and hopefully this series starts to pick-up a larger fan base.
  4. 90
    Valkyria Chronicles II is awesome. It's fun, it's pretty, it's rewarding, and it's beyond deep. The story is a bit "by the numbers" and I could go for a few refinements on the battlefield, but I can't complain.
  5. One of the best games on PSP. [JPN Import; Apr 2010, p.110]
  6. 90
    But really, apart from the wooden voiceovers and the somewhat-blocky graphics, VC2 has everything going for it.
  7. This is a great, unique game that expands on the original. It has everything the first game had and its new take on the formula will keep it from feeling stale.
  8. Just as involving, dramatic and downright addictive as its PS3 predecessor, Valkyria Chronicles II will have you glued to your PSP for weeks to come.
  9. When people complain that there are not enough quality games on the PSP, it's wonderful to finally get a game that immediately stands to the contrary. From top-to-bottom, Valkyria Chronicles II delivers what a portable game should. A great story, plenty of variety with nice, bite-sized missions and content that will last months.
  10. It's a great-looking game with top-notch gameplay and options galore, both on your own and with friends.
  11. Valkyria Chronicles 2 has the depth of a console title but squeezed into the tiny confines of a handheld. VC2 will hook you in right away. The combat, customization and audio are top notch yet the story takes a bit of time to get started and early missions are overly easy – but once it gets going, you won't want to put it down.
  12. Just like its predecessor, Valkyria Chronicles II proves to be an absolute must buy. The strategy/RPG/action mix is yet again a winning one that makes this game one of the best products currently available on Sony's handheld. If you own a PSP you can't deny yourself such a wonderful gaming experience.
  13. Even if you aren't into the genre, this game is worth a look.
  14. It is everything the PS3 version was, shrunk down to fit in the palm of your hand, and then some.
  15. 88
    If you are even remotely interested in tactical, turn-based RPGs and you have a PlayStation Portable, you simply need to buy this game.
  16. Jan 5, 2011
    87
    "Quotation Forthcoming"
  17. Valkyria Chronicles II is fun, it's pretty and it's rewarding. The strategy/RPG/action mix is again a winning one.
  18. 87
    A superb conversion to a portable gaming format. [Issue#196, p.90]
  19. Valkyria Chorinicles 2 is one of those PSP games every player should try, regardless his reluctance to the genre.
  20. Jan 5, 2011
    86
    All in all, Valkyria Chronicles II will probably only appeal to a niche audience, due to its SRPG gameplay (and all the tiny little idiosyncrasies that come along with it), the anime-style production, and a reliance on preparation as opposed to being an FPS/3PS killfest or beat 'em up. However, for that niche audience, VCII provides all that you could want in terms of depth, and is a very polished outing for a portable device.
  21. Valkyria Chronicles is as great as the original was: it improves some things, it lacks other things, but overall, it's an incredible game. With 40 hours of gameplay and charming characters and story, it's easily one of the best original games on the PSP yet.
  22. Extra depth, more classes, more missions, more customization, the same gameplay the fans fell in love with back in 2008, and attractive multiplayer options make it a must for those who…well, you know who you are.
  23. Valkyria Chronicles II is the best PSP game I've played in years. [Sept 2010, p.95]
  24. A great Tactical RPG. Valkyria Chronicles II drag on PSP every single feature of the first (Ps3) chapter. Elegant, deep, and funny.
  25. Valkyria Chronicles 2 is a solid sequel. It doesn't fix all of the original title's mistakes, but more importantly, it doesn't make any new mistakes
  26. Though the presentation isn't up to the original's stellar standards, the core of what made Valkyria Chronicles such a breakthrough is preserved and refined in the sequel.
  27. As a unique and engaging tactical RPG experience, Valkyria Chronicles II reminds us a little innovation, a little refinement, and a few good ideas can go a long way in unsouring a genre.
  28. Jan 13, 2011
    83
    A rewarding and deep strategy JRPG, not watered down by the translation from the home consoles version. If only the A.I. could've been better, then it would have been an absolute must buy for all PSP owners.
  29. While the tutorial is very lengthy and exhausting, the story needs a little time to get the plot started. Fans of strategy should consider this a look, and even beginners could enjoy Valkyria Chronicles II.
  30. 83
    It's tough for me to complain too much in the face of what is really a well thought out sequel that takes full advantage of the PSP though.
  31. 82
    This game is a nice mix of RPG elements with strategy. The gameplay is pretty deep and the game contains a lot of hours of gameplay. The music is very good, but the story has it's ups and downs throughout the game. Nevertheless, the game is a good sequel and we can recommend it to every fan of the franchise.
  32. Jan 15, 2011
    81
    Valkyria Chronicles' transition to a handheld platform went surprisingly smooth. The developers preserved everything that made the original game so great, and added many nice little touches. The gameplay and even the key maps are the same as before, so fans of the series will feel right at home.
  33. Demanding. You'll love it and curse it at the same time. Much better with friends. [January 2011 p80]
  34. There are problems in Valkyria Chronicles II, but most of them have to do with the parts we don't actually play. [Dec 2010, p.78]
  35. Pretty much of the same games as its predecessor, but with a lot of improvement. There are many missions to complete, a fun cooperative mode and in general there are a massive amount of content. On the negative side it's a bit too easy if you've played Valkyria Chronicles before and the controls has some flaws.
  36. It does take a while for the action to really heat up and draw in the player but if you stick with it you'll find 50 plus hours of fun and a truly original gaming experience.
  37. Not as good as the first game, but still the best tactical RPG for the PSP.
  38. Valkyria Chronicles II remains exciting, its hotchpotch design ideas maturing for this sequel despite the focus on a younger cast and more immature surrounding story.
  39. Valkyria Chronicles II is a great game. While it feels a bit more like a spin off than a sequel to the first Valkyria Chronicles story-wise, the gameplay is even better and much more involving.
  40. Technical limitations aside, Valkyria Chronicles II makes a fantastic transition from console to portable. Don't let this one pass you by, it's one of the better PSP games out there.
  41. 80
    What I can say is that the original Valkyria Chronicles was one of the freshest Japanese strategy role-playing games ever, and this handheld sequel delivers all it can, while fixing several issues from the original game along the way. Valkyria Chronicles 2 is smart, fun and -- although I do hope the series does make its way back to consoles someday -- gives fans more of what they want.
  42. The biggest downside to Valkyria Chronicles II is that it doesn't quite have the same charm as the original when it comes to the story and characters.
  43. A mix of smart strategy, deep customisation, and engaging story make this a worthy sequel to the PS3 original.
  44. The PSP is a great platform for the SRPG genre, with games such as Final Fantasy: War of the Lions and the Disgaea series being shining examples. Valkyria Chronicles II is - dare I say it - the best of the bunch, and a truly fantastic PSP game in its own right.
  45. A less enjoyable but more involving sequel.
  46. Valkyria Chronicles 2 will take a lot of your time before you actually enter the heart of the matter, but if you have enough courage to get through the first few hours of play - filled with too easy missions and a clumsy adventure part of little interest - you will eventually find an excellent set of action / strategy, as deep as it is original and beautifully executed. Not to waste anything, the improvements over the PS3 version are very interesting (class changes) and the limitations of the PSP cleverly circumvented (with combat zones divided in smaller parts for an added strategic element). Do not expect a deep adventure, though. This aspect remains very light (and a bit naive I must say).
  47. If you can get past some significant pacing issues and a storyline that squanders its potential, you'll have a blast playing around with the deep strategy and addictive mechanics of this little gem.
  48. Good fun, but we long for a proper PS3 sequel. [Oct 2010, p.96]
  49. 75
    Being on a portable console definitely doesn't mean that Valkyria Chronicles 2 is a downgrade from the first game, but there are still a couple of gameplay issues that keep the game from reaching its full potential. Regardless, action-strategy fans will adore what the game has to offer and will keep on coming back for more.
  50. 70
    Valkyria Chronicles II does gameplay right, but lacks polish in other areas.
  51. 70
    Valkyria Chronicles 2 isn't at all a bad game, but it is frustrating, both for newcomers that need to master the combat system and for fans that have to unlearn habits formed around the first game.
  52. Still one of the best and most original tactical action games around, although the compromises outweigh the small number of improvements on the PSP.
  53. Its battle system still provides an excellent alternative to the rigid chess boards of many a strategy RPG, but one which feels compromised rather than optimised for its new setting. [Oct 2010, p.88]
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 55 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Nov 4, 2010
    9
    While the game's plot and setting aren't anything to write home about, (especially comparing them to the first chapter's), Valkyria ChroniclesWhile the game's plot and setting aren't anything to write home about, (especially comparing them to the first chapter's), Valkyria Chronicles 2's gameplay manages to prove that the original's innovative tactical formula can be not only adapted to handhelds, but also improved in the process. The customization options for the tank and for every single cadet in your army are enormous, and while some features could have been better streamlined (the degree system, for example) the possibilities are almost endless. The number of missions (many of them optional) has also skyrocketed, as well as the game's longevity thanks to one of the best post-game to grace a game of this genre in the last years. Instead of having a single map as in the PS3 original, VC2's missions are played on many minor maps tied together by command bases, a thing that you will learn to appreciate as soon as you begin to move your units quickly from map to map using the retreatreserve system. Sakimoto's excellent OST only manages to add its unique flavour to an already great game, and every fan of the first Valkyria (and of tactical JRPGs) should give Lanseal's cadets a chance to shine. Full Review »
  2. May 12, 2011
    6
    The first Valkyria Chronicles game is one of my favorite games of all time. It pains me to say that the sequel does not do the series justice.The first Valkyria Chronicles game is one of my favorite games of all time. It pains me to say that the sequel does not do the series justice. This is not only because the graphics and art style have taken a dramatic turn for the worse, but also because the story and characters are really bland and uninteresting. Most of them are typical anime stereotypes and lack the refined traits and depth of the characters in the first game. When you take out the beautiful characters, story and graphics from Valkyria Chronicles, what you are left with is the innovative gameplay, which has had some great changes. In Valkyria Chronicles 2 the class system has been reworked a bit and you now have a shied units and you now have multiple small maps in a battle that you travel to by getting to capturing smaller bases, as opposed to a single large map. I don't mind the class restructure however I do have a bit of a problem with the separate maps, as it doesn't make sense to me that you can teleport to a location by capturing a base and having a huge map makes you feel like you are playing a game of chess. It doesn't help that you need to play this strategic game on a portable either. When playing a big screen it was very nice to be able to have a nice large look at the battlefield and plan out your attack. Valkyria Chronicle's gameplay simply isn't something fit for a portable gaming system, it should definitely be on a large screen with a proper controller. Overall as much I loved Valkyria Chronicles, it didn't need a sequel. The ending was one of the most beautiful video game endings I have ever seen in my life and I felt very complete and satisfied afterwards. I do plan on purchasing VC3 if it ever gets localized and hopefully the more serious story there will impress me much more than this title did. Full Review »
  3. Sep 9, 2010
    7
    What a strange beast this game is, and I mean beast: there's a lot under the hood. I think my rating will go up with time as the tacticalWhat a strange beast this game is, and I mean beast: there's a lot under the hood. I think my rating will go up with time as the tactical elements become more evident as the game progresses. On the other hand the characterizations, voice acting and general mood of the game seem to be trying to copy Persona 3. It doesn't work to the point that these elements of the game are actually offputting. It's a shame since the gameplay is excellent. What was Sega thinking? Full Review »