• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Aug 30, 2010
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 45
  2. Negative: 2 out of 45

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 4, 2010
    9
    While the game's plot and setting aren't anything to write home about, (especially comparing them to the first chapter's), Valkyria Chronicles 2's gameplay manages to prove that the original's innovative tactical formula can be not only adapted to handhelds, but also improved in the process. The customization options for the tank and for every single cadet in your army are enormous, and while some features could have been better streamlined (the degree system, for example) the possibilities are almost endless. The number of missions (many of them optional) has also skyrocketed, as well as the game's longevity thanks to one of the best post-game to grace a game of this genre in the last years. Instead of having a single map as in the PS3 original, VC2's missions are played on many minor maps tied together by command bases, a thing that you will learn to appreciate as soon as you begin to move your units quickly from map to map using the retreatreserve system. Sakimoto's excellent OST only manages to add its unique flavour to an already great game, and every fan of the first Valkyria (and of tactical JRPGs) should give Lanseal's cadets a chance to shine. Expand
  2. Sep 9, 2010
    7
    What a strange beast this game is, and I mean beast: there's a lot under the hood. I think my rating will go up with time as the tactical elements become more evident as the game progresses. On the other hand the characterizations, voice acting and general mood of the game seem to be trying to copy Persona 3. It doesn't work to the point that these elements of the game are actually offputting. It's a shame since the gameplay is excellent. What was Sega thinking? Collapse
  3. May 12, 2011
    6
    The first Valkyria Chronicles game is one of my favorite games of all time. It pains me to say that the sequel does not do the series justice. This is not only because the graphics and art style have taken a dramatic turn for the worse, but also because the story and characters are really bland and uninteresting. Most of them are typical anime stereotypes and lack the refined traits and depth of the characters in the first game. When you take out the beautiful characters, story and graphics from Valkyria Chronicles, what you are left with is the innovative gameplay, which has had some great changes. In Valkyria Chronicles 2 the class system has been reworked a bit and you now have a shied units and you now have multiple small maps in a battle that you travel to by getting to capturing smaller bases, as opposed to a single large map. I don't mind the class restructure however I do have a bit of a problem with the separate maps, as it doesn't make sense to me that you can teleport to a location by capturing a base and having a huge map makes you feel like you are playing a game of chess. It doesn't help that you need to play this strategic game on a portable either. When playing a big screen it was very nice to be able to have a nice large look at the battlefield and plan out your attack. Valkyria Chronicle's gameplay simply isn't something fit for a portable gaming system, it should definitely be on a large screen with a proper controller. Overall as much I loved Valkyria Chronicles, it didn't need a sequel. The ending was one of the most beautiful video game endings I have ever seen in my life and I felt very complete and satisfied afterwards. I do plan on purchasing VC3 if it ever gets localized and hopefully the more serious story there will impress me much more than this title did. Expand
  4. Mar 13, 2011
    8
    A completely unique fusion of third person shooter with real time strategy, with neither element suffering at the expense of the other. The game is divided between your time hanging around Lanseal talking to classmates and fighting against rebels on battlefields. The story and characters are as JRPG as they come (kooky love interest, sneering rival student, tough guy with a heart of gold) and if you cannot stomach this kind of environment, you may be put off the game entirely. But where this game shines is when it switches to battle. Finding the best route, using the right classes, taking stupid risks. It's highly entertaining and replayable. This game deserves to be given a chance by all RPG fans. Expand
  5. Nov 10, 2011
    8
    A great portable version of the original's game concept. While the High School animu date sim story line is less deep than the previous game its an excellently fun and tactical game. It offers the right mix of strategy and RPG on a portable platform, with great ad-hoc co-op.
  6. Jul 9, 2012
    9
    This is the game I would really recommend to every gamer owning PSP. Story is great, missions are challenging, and cut-scenes are masterpiece! Of course there are some little glitches but overall, this is the best possible tactical shooter available for this console.
  7. Aug 17, 2012
    10
    This a fantastic game. The story, while cheesy, is entertaining. The characters are well written, albeit a bit stereotyped. The combat is simple yet tactical and is very satisfying. This is also a long game that will entertain you for hours on end. The voice acting is pretty good and the ammount of content makes this a very good buy for any psp owner
  8. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    One of the best PSP games along with Persona 3 Portable. I must say they both have something in common, both are compilations of battles and social elements. The social side of course is much better in Persona, but those awesome tactical missions (some of them are puzzle-like I'd say) in VCII are better and more addictive than P3 mostly routine battles. Also the game has nice and stylish visualization and original setting. Oh yeah and I forgot to mention all of these great memorable characters from your squad. Expand
  9. Oct 4, 2013
    9
    This game is great, Valkyria Chronicles- on the go! The turn based FPS style is neat to. My only and worse complaint about this game is its not as good as the first one and the large maps from the first game have been shrink down to many "mini maps". But you can't really bring a PS3 and play it on the go, and even thought it is the most disappointing VC release, I highly recommend this to PSP fans and fans of the first game. Expand
  10. Oct 21, 2013
    9
    If your playing this after the first Valkyrie chronicles you will be disappointed by the story and characters. However, that dose not mean the characters or story are bad. The story is more anime in themes with many characters and in a school environment. Some people will like this others will hate it. over all the gameplay is the same as the first one with the expction of new class system. Also there are tons of missions to play expect to spend about 50 hours to clear the main story and other 30-40 for the dlc and class,paid missions. If you liked the first vc and like anime themes then you should really like vc2. Expand
  11. Dec 29, 2013
    9
    My favorite PSP game of all time. Such a perfect mix of real-time action and turn based strategy. Memorable characters (a bit of cheese story and dialog though). Music is great, fits the game very well. You really get attached to the characters over the course of their schooling careers. The tank customization is awesome. Just so fun!!!
  12. Sep 9, 2010
    0
    What a strange beast this game is, and I mean beast: there's a lot under the hood. I think my rating will go up with time as the tactical elements become more evident as the game progresses. On the other hand the characterizations, voice acting and general mood of the game seem to be trying to copy Persona 3. It doesn't work to the point that these elements of the game are actually offputting. It's a shame since the gameplay is excellent. What was Sega thinking? Collapse
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. Demanding. You'll love it and curse it at the same time. Much better with friends. [January 2011 p80]
  2. Jan 15, 2011
    81
    Valkyria Chronicles' transition to a handheld platform went surprisingly smooth. The developers preserved everything that made the original game so great, and added many nice little touches. The gameplay and even the key maps are the same as before, so fans of the series will feel right at home.
  3. Jan 13, 2011
    83
    A rewarding and deep strategy JRPG, not watered down by the translation from the home consoles version. If only the A.I. could've been better, then it would have been an absolute must buy for all PSP owners.