What Did I Do to Deserve This, My Lord!? 2 PSP

Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
Buy On
  1. It's funny, addicting, and well designed and is a real bargain for PSP owners looking for something off the beaten path.
  2. My Lord 2 includes everything worthwhile from its predecessor and builds on top of that grand foundation; there's simply no need to go back to the first.
  3. This game could be even harder than Chuck Norris. Well, that's typically NIS! Frustration never was so sweet, and the gameplay about building an own food chain around an ecosystem is very addictive.
  4. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    80
    With many new monsters, a vastly improved progress system, and the full original game (as a UMD-only unlockable), this is one worthy sequel--good enough that we might even be able to remember it entire name this time around. [Jun 2010, p.78]
  5. Although Nippon Ichi didn't develop What Did I Do to Deserve This, My Lord!? 2,-NIS America just published it-the game is still a natural, if steep, Nippon Ichi-themed progression in teaching me to think for myself.
  6. Edge Magazine
    80
    There's loads to do here. [June 2010, p.105]
  7. 80
    Even if you have the first game, you will be laughing out loud due to the awesome comedy that this game employs.
  8. Luckily, while the updates haven't exactly made it more "user friendly," they've cleaned things up just enough to make it a slightly easier to get into.
  9. Play UK
    78
    Devilishly addictive and challenging. [Issue#192, p.89]
  10. Easy to play in small and long doses.
  11. 75
    Still, if you're looking for a game you can come back to time and again, something you plan to beat over the course of a long period of time, My Lord 2 is a great option.
  12. It cannot be said enough, though: My Lord?! 2 isn't for the weak-minded or uninitiated. It's directly catered to hardcore gamers who have the patience and willingness to come back for second and third attempts at completing a stage.
  13. Games Master UK
    75
    A self-consciously retro and witty little strategy action game. [July 2010, p.96]
  14. What Did I Do to Deserve This, My Lord?! 2 for the PSP is a surprisingly deep and humorous real time strategy title well fitted for Sony's portable. Both a higher than average learning curve and surprising price point are overcome by a slew of game modes plus free version of the first My Lord offering.
  15. PSM3 Magazine UK
    73
    A brilliant, and occasionally very funny, strategy title. [June 2010, p.98]
  16. The formula is the same of the first chapter, so the title is highly enjoyable and deep. A homage to the 90's classics with a strong personality.
  17. 70
    Even though this is a sequel, the gameplay still feels fresh and unique. The downside is that the opportunity to smooth out the learning curve was largely passed by and casts a shadow over the whole experience.
  18. 70
    For its $20 PSN price tag, I'd definitely recommend My Lord 2 to hardcore SRPG fanatics in search of a good (yet brutal) challenge.
  19. What Did I Do to Deserve This, My Lord!? 2 is a good buy for those who loved the first game, but newcomers to the series should probably pick up the newly-discounted original game, as the complex and unpredictable gameplay certainly won't be for everyone
  20. This polished sequel will suit gamers who liked the first episode, and those who crave for new concepts and referential humor.
  21. There's a large amount of content here, and the high level of difficulty will keep you playing for a very long time if you're dedicated enough to stick with it. Players will either love or hate this game, so try out the demo to see where you fall.
  22. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    70
    An excellent and unique strategy game. [July 2010, p.107]
  23. Dungeon brawling in a new way: A nice PSP game with deep humour and a sick difficulty setting.
  24. The game has some seriously good ideas, but there's no question that it will only play to a limited audience.
  25. Like most games from the Nippon Ichi stable, though, it's not one for the majority - obscured as it is by obtuse mechanics and a sometimes-vicious difficulty level. Hurrah for them all the same.
  26. A fun and imaginative homage to Dungeon Keeper that's gone from impossibly to merely incredibly hard.
  27. What started as fun and witty quickly turned into an over-frustrating game that will piss off anyone without patience. If you want to learn the game, then play it. Otherwise, your hair will thank you for not pulling it out.

Awards & Rankings

#24 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2010
#31 Most Shared PSP Game of 2010
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Jun 26, 2015
    9
    Look, Daddy's conquered the world!

    The tittle is a spoiler. But since this game's not about story at all, so that hardly matters. It's a
    Look, Daddy's conquered the world!

    The tittle is a spoiler. But since this game's not about story at all, so that hardly matters. It's a game in its truest sense: entertainment to release stress, and yes, to kill some time too.

    Really now, what do we play game for? What's written in a typical game review?
    - Stunning graphic? Watch a movie. There's 3D, animated, and don't forget the best possible graphic: real life movies.
    - Intriguing story? Go read a book. Tons of great fictions out there.
    - Captivating music? Pop, rock, classical, hip-hop etc. you name it.
    - Bloody violence? True we can't do it in real life, but fighting games and anything related to FPS have been done to death already. I personally can't bear to shoot another enemy through a crosshair.

    Yet, we come to games for all of that combined, and the best element to glue them all together is an innovating and fascinating gameplay, which is exactly what this game delivers, plus some dark humor. It's the first game I know which inspires and encourages players out loud. There's no LV to grind. Instead, we'll have to spend the time for repetitive grinding and mining to actually learn how to play the game, as its difficulty is quite challenging. Once you get how it works to clear it though, you'll surely enjoy it.

    This is a totally underrated hidden gem.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    One of the best games on the PSP with infinite replay value for score hounds and unlimited possibilities for creative types who love nothingOne of the best games on the PSP with infinite replay value for score hounds and unlimited possibilities for creative types who love nothing more then to carve out their own dungeons of doom. A new genre unto itself between RTS and dungeon / maze making RPG mock-umentary -devilishly hard and massively underrated- Badman is a style of game where RPG goers can be the evil villain (like Techmo's Deception or My Life as a Darklord) or in this case, his evocation. Most critics are too dumb and impatient to play this one enough. Don't trust anyone that didn't finish it or play the expansions. Dark humor with plenty of inside jokes about JRPGs drive the storyline as you conquer the world. The variations of dungeon creativity have kept me up many a night, as just a few more twists and turns can be the difference between evolving slimes or dragons! Now let us all hope this game keeps going forward so that we can design more then just the dungeons for our JRPG heroes! If you enjoy creating mazes or dabble in creating your own RPGs, this game is perfect for practice. Retro perfection, twisted, hilarious and brilliant. One day people will look back on Badman as a cult classic that helped to define new genres in gaming. Never give up, try try again and the game will reward you as does an epic RPG with mutations and funny bumbling heroes. One of the best games of all time and very few are strategic enough to understand why. Full Review »
  3. Sep 26, 2016
    10
    A surprisingly intricate game where you play as the antagonist digging a dungeon, cultivating your Monsters like a farm, and building dungeonsA surprisingly intricate game where you play as the antagonist digging a dungeon, cultivating your Monsters like a farm, and building dungeons in Dig Dug like fashion. Full Review »