User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 41
  2. Negative: 4 out of 41

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 3, 2011
    7
    pros: decent roster of characters, pretty good graphics, interesting story. cons: boring and dark gameplay and interface, loading times are annoying, too deep for psp, all the characters' melee are similar, beast isn't a playable character. OVERALL: fun for a while but sometimes too hard and an overall dull game.
  2. Jul 6, 2012
    6
    **** me do I feel bad about this but i'm going to review it as I feel fit. Its a good game, a really good game, but one I personally found quite boring in places and when compared to games like Marvel Ultimate Alliance it feels inferior. For a X-men fan this is one god of a game. But, when I played it I occasionally felt bored and just un-inspired. That said, this is a very small**** me do I feel bad about this but i'm going to review it as I feel fit. Its a good game, a really good game, but one I personally found quite boring in places and when compared to games like Marvel Ultimate Alliance it feels inferior. For a X-men fan this is one god of a game. But, when I played it I occasionally felt bored and just un-inspired. That said, this is a very small percentage of the game. Very small. For the rest I was pulled into this thrilling game and especially in-love with the cutscenes. Which it has to be said, are amazing and really capture what's happening. Gameplay is pretty awesome because of the powers/mutations at your disposal. Characters are also very well built and captures all of their different characteristics. So yeah, I did enjoy it. Also the top down view is perfect for this game. I do recommend this game, even with its flaws, and hope you buy it. Expand
  3. CharlesF.
    Oct 18, 2005
    10
    It's the best multiplayer game in the history!!
  4. DanM.
    Oct 15, 2005
    9
    Because of this game, I don't sleep at night, wanting to play as much as i can, to beat the game! It's killing me to know what's going to happen! Storm is the best character in the game!
  5. JoshJ.
    Oct 9, 2005
    10
    Amazing game.
  6. TidB.
    Aug 21, 2006
    9
    I really like this game, it's easy enough for a girlie girl to pick up and smack the crap out of some mean beasts but also hard enough for the boyfriend to be entertained whilst on the loo.
  7. RayP.
    Oct 25, 2005
    9
    This game is great. It sometimes has pauses for a second or two during gameplay but not enough to detract. The PSP has been missing a good RPG. This is a great addition to the library.
  8. ShadowThrone
    Nov 15, 2005
    10
    This is one of the best games out for PSP. It has lots of action a pretty good story line. graphics are great for the handheld system and has lots of diversity b/c of all the characters and their unique powers. This is a must get for PSP!
  9. DavidL.
    Nov 5, 2005
    10
    Wow, what a great game. This is an almost PERFECT translation of X-Men Legends 2 from the console versions (YES, even the graphics) with some more cool additions like new missions and characters. There is some lag in the framerate when loading, and the load times can be pretty long, but those are tiny problems when looking at the rest of the game. With its massive assortment of characters Wow, what a great game. This is an almost PERFECT translation of X-Men Legends 2 from the console versions (YES, even the graphics) with some more cool additions like new missions and characters. There is some lag in the framerate when loading, and the load times can be pretty long, but those are tiny problems when looking at the rest of the game. With its massive assortment of characters and its great story, this game gets my highest recommendation. Collapse
  10. AndyS.
    Oct 15, 2005
    10
    One of the most anticipated games of the Year!
  11. JohnC.
    Oct 15, 2005
    10
    As this game progressed, the game was filled with so much interested, i was off of my seat the whole time Sunfire's Flame Sword is the best..!
  12. AdamF.
    Oct 21, 2005
    10
    What a perfect layout of characters and gameplay all on a PSP...Great Freakin game!
  13. WayneK.
    Dec 28, 2005
    9
    I love the game. I now know how to overcome all the glitches. Definitely the best game Ive played in a while.
  14. Sep 20, 2013
    6
    At first I liked this game. There was a considerable effort made for it. Its a decent team based brawler with some cool maps and good artwork. What bogs this game down is the missions and ugly menus. At some point you will think you have cleared the first act, but you realize you don't know what to do next. You went through every map and killed bunch of monsters, and you realize you don'tAt first I liked this game. There was a considerable effort made for it. Its a decent team based brawler with some cool maps and good artwork. What bogs this game down is the missions and ugly menus. At some point you will think you have cleared the first act, but you realize you don't know what to do next. You went through every map and killed bunch of monsters, and you realize you don't understand the point of the game. Its very easy to get lost once your 2 hours+ in. At that point it ceases to be fun and you won't play it again. Expand
  15. Feb 18, 2012
    9
    A thrilling, large-scale adventure ported onto the PSP, Rise of Apocalypse shows what can be achieved with portable hardware. The variety of characters, abilities and side missions are incredible as is how faithful the game remains to its characters and their world. The story is meaty and well-told and the game has just enough length so that you get your money's worth but not so much thatA thrilling, large-scale adventure ported onto the PSP, Rise of Apocalypse shows what can be achieved with portable hardware. The variety of characters, abilities and side missions are incredible as is how faithful the game remains to its characters and their world. The story is meaty and well-told and the game has just enough length so that you get your money's worth but not so much that it becomes tedious. The one negative thing I can say about this game is that combat can become repetitive over time. Still, this is a great purchase for any PSP owner. Expand
  16. Feb 23, 2013
    7
    At first I thought: "WOW, a party-based RPG abot X-Men! That's awesome" But the game turned out to be pretty boring and very repetitive. All you do is crawling in similar looking locations (cities, temples, factories) and smashing similar looking enemies, lots of them. The combat system is mostly based on button mashing, no tactics or something like this. You have a squad of your favoriteAt first I thought: "WOW, a party-based RPG abot X-Men! That's awesome" But the game turned out to be pretty boring and very repetitive. All you do is crawling in similar looking locations (cities, temples, factories) and smashing similar looking enemies, lots of them. The combat system is mostly based on button mashing, no tactics or something like this. You have a squad of your favorite X-Men and you are allowed to change between them any time and in special points you are allowed to change your team. The main advantage of the game is that it has A LOT of awesome characters from the X-Men universe. The story is as always "Apocalypse wants to take over the world and you should stop him". Nothing new here. Overall the game is rather boring, it's some kind of Diablo-style game about X-Men. Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. It's impressive that Raven somehow managed to cram every little detail of the game onto a handheld, but aside from the portability, there isn't much new here. However, if you haven't played the game on consoles, you won't be sacrificing anything if you pick up the PSP version.
  2. Vicarious Visions have once again done an exceptional job in adapting a console game to a handheld system, yet for the first time ever, have made it virtually indistinguishable.
  3. The extra goodies offset the lower framerate and iffy multiplayer. The core problem still hasn't changed, though, and if you tire of the same thing easily, you're going to be even more turned off by what the PSP version offers.