Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. Feb 23, 2011
    83
    It feels antiquated, but give it a chance, and you're likely to enjoy it. Plus, more support for the series means more likelihood that the rest will somehow, someday reach our Falcom-starved fingers.
  2. Feb 28, 2011
    82
    This is an excellent release for the PSP. Two classic JRPGs re-mastered and made available in a single, well-priced package. Fans of Ys or the genre can't go wrong in picking this up.
  3. 80
    The combination of original gameplay, tied in with fantastic retro feel and original soundtrack makes this a must pick up for PSP owners.
  4. Mar 9, 2011
    76
    Ys Chronicles is an excellent gaming history lesson that will grow on you, should you allow it. However, this game simply isn't made of the same stuff that Felghana and SEVEN are. It feels antiquated and old-hat, but give it a chance, and you're likely to enjoy it.
  5. Apr 6, 2011
    72
    Ys I & II Chronicles may not be the first release of this two part adventure it is without a doubt the best version.
  6. Both Ys i and II are relatively short and light on story, but played in succession, they form a very decent retro RPG package. [April 2011, p.81]
  7. Feb 23, 2011
    70
    For those who want to see how it all started, Ys I & II Chronicles is the way to experience it. Ys I lasts just over five hours and Ys II boasts a little longer playtime at around eight, but with the game's fast pace, it doesn't outstay its welcome.
  8. Mar 28, 2011
    67
    Honestly, I don't know if you'll enjoy these original Ys games, but as an old school gamer that is still in love with the classics, I greatly appreciate being able to play them again. Your enjoyment will be limited by your ability to handle unforgiving combat and a red haired protagonist that has no voice.
  9. Feb 28, 2011
    67
    It was an interesting move by XSEED to release past Ys Games for those new to the franchise; unfortunately, the games certainly show their age, don't leave that great of an impression and aren't as enjoyable in comparison to Ys Seven or Ys: The Oath in Felghana.
  10. Feb 28, 2011
    66
    While the battle system is addictive and a time attack mode can extend gameplay, many gamers will be frustrated by retro relics such as the lack of a map for the sprawling dungeons and frequent backtracking.
  11. Feb 23, 2011
    65
    Only consider it if you know you're in the mood for an intentionally obtuse, old-school journey that'll have you searching for an online guide in the first five minutes – or if you just really want to see a man defeat his foes by slamming straight into them with his face.
  12. Mar 7, 2011
    60
    By holding back Ys I & II Chronicles from release until now, Xseed has caused the series to go out with a whimper, leaving Western gamers getting their first shot at Ys with a sour taste in their mouths.
  13. Feb 24, 2011
    60
    Despite its storied history and retro charms, Ys I and II is easily the weakest of XSEED's three PSP Ys releases.
  14. Feb 28, 2011
    42
    The sprites are big and pretty, the world is colorful, and the music is lively and fitting (though loops annoyingly in some spots), so even when I'm not engrossed it's still fun to look at. Makes me want to watch it play out on YouTube more than my console.
  15. Mar 4, 2011
    40
    Unlockable spells lend a little variety to the otherwise stale battles with moron squid-monsters and typical fantasy fodder. Beyond that, this is a stagnant role-playing game with nothing to offer anyone who isn't already obsessed with the original game, the 2001 PC remake this is based on, or the DS remake from 2009.
  16. Mar 30, 2011
    35
    Ys I & II deserve their honored place in history, but from now on, they should probably stay there.
User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Sep 17, 2011
    10
    I love the descriptions in other reviews calling Ys antiquated. Who would have thought a game made in 1987 would feel antiquated by today's standards.

    That aside, it's great to hear how troubled today's players are by its gameplay and storytelling. I'm sorry children, Adol doesn't talk much, and you're not going to be spoonfed what's going on during his adventures. You simply have to pay attention and use your imagination (and read the **** in-game books)

    I don't have a button to attack? Deal with it. It's hilarious how the only justification for this system being bad is "it's old".

    The level cap is too low? Oh dear me, I didn't know it was wrong to challenge people by putting the stats against you.

    If the only thing left to answer is, "Why re-release it?", it's called opening it up to a new platform. To anyone who actually bothered to play it on DS before comparing it, the visual differences are clearly noticable, and the PSP version has the remastered soundtracks/visuals as well as the old ones from the PC-88 and complete versions.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 3, 2013
    10
    Simply the best game ever. Screw those reviewers! It's a wonderfully told story with flawless gameplay and art. Every gamer should play it. Even your mom. Full Review »
  3. Mar 27, 2014
    10
    I never played Ys until I bought this on impulse a few months ago. I don't understand how reviewers can call this game antiquated or too old to be appreciated by modern standards. I loved the game(s). The soundtracks for both are among the best I've ever heard (with the ability to switch between 3 different versions!), the graphics are sharp and clean and the combat felt fresh and fast-paced compared to simply mashing the attack button in some modern action games. The first game was a little light on story, but it had enough there to satisfy, and the second game opened up and expanded everything about the first, creating a memorable experience that sticks with you.

    If you're unsure that you'd like the game or that it'd be too old now to enjoy, then I'd tell you not to worry. If you enjoy action games, you owe it to yourself to buy this game. You'll want to invest hours and hours into it and you'll certainly be happy that you did.
    Full Review »