NBA 2K18 Image
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 156 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Shape your MyPLAYER and write your own narrative, build your dream MyTEAM, take control of the league, or prove you're the best of the best by competing against players from around the globe.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
NBA 2K18 - The Art Behind NBA 2K18
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. 85
    NBA 2K18 is a welcome addition to the Switch library. It’s great to have realistic hoops back on a Nintendo platform, and 2K knocked it out of the park with their debut Switch title. It looks great, plays great, and if the kinks can get patched should be the start of a great franchise finally embracing a Nintendo platform.
  2. Sep 26, 2017
    85
    An excellent basketball game that still has to be polished to achieve the greatness of the PS4, Xbox One & PC versions.
  3. Sep 28, 2017
    85
    The ambition of bringing the whole NBA 2K experience to the Switch comes with some technical sacrifices, but if you're happy to choose portability over visuals, this version of NBA 2K18 offers everything you can ask for.
  4. Sep 28, 2017
    78
    The Switch version of NBA 2K18 is a small big miracle, it's a pity that the 30 FPS hit the game veterans so hard.
  5. Oct 12, 2017
    78
    Unlike with FIFA 18 you’ll get an almost complete package with NBA 2K18. Visually of course scaled down and with the “Neighborhood” as well as the story career confined to an online environment, Visual Concepts did their best to port the best basketball game on Nintendo’s hybrid system.
  6. Oct 6, 2017
    75
    The Switch version of NBA 2K18 is rough around the edges, but the strong collection of core modes that make the game a perennial contender from sports game of the year are all here. Despite the drop in graphical fidelity, connectivity headaches when in handheld mode, and barren online modes, you’ll have a hard time finding a better basketball sim experience.
  7. Oct 7, 2017
    40
    Quotation forthcoming.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 48
  2. Negative: 23 out of 48
  1. Sep 15, 2017
    10
    I can't believe how this game can runs there so well in the Switch, it look AMAZING!! I bought de Switch the last week and i was excited forI can't believe how this game can runs there so well in the Switch, it look AMAZING!! I bought de Switch the last week and i was excited for this game, but the truth is that i was worried about the final version of this game, but to see how Nintendo Switch runs this game so well I have been amazed. Expand
  2. Sep 16, 2017
    9
    Belo jogo, boa jogabilidade, o modo carreira é muito legal, faz você se sentir na pele do jogador, de como é o inicio da carreira. DestaqueBelo jogo, boa jogabilidade, o modo carreira é muito legal, faz você se sentir na pele do jogador, de como é o inicio da carreira. Destaque pra o alivio cômico transmitida pelo agente e pela colega de quarto. Expand
  3. Sep 26, 2017
    7
    Los de Take-two han logrado hacer un port en condiciones del NBA 2k18, sinceramente para ser un juego de baloncesto que puede llevarseLos de Take-two han logrado hacer un port en condiciones del NBA 2k18, sinceramente para ser un juego de baloncesto que puede llevarse portátil no se nota una gran diferencia con las versiones de consolas de sobremesa.
    Si se trabaja en la consola híbrida se pueden lograr grandes cosas, ojalá Electronic Arts aprendiera algo de como hacer buenos ports.
    Sin embargo hay algo que se carga los buenos juegos y ese algo son las políticas abusivas y en ese aspecto NBA 2k18 peca de agregar micropagos necesarios para tener una experiencia jugablemente digna.
    Expand
  4. Oct 16, 2017
    5
    Ok, at least we have basketball game on switch. However 30 fps is not the best way to play it. Also the size of the game (including save gameOk, at least we have basketball game on switch. However 30 fps is not the best way to play it. Also the size of the game (including save game file) is a problem. But the most negative thing is micro-transactions. If you want to build-up your player you will spent a lot (too much! ) time. It's crazy and it's greedy from developer (Gamers should not support such behavior! )

    My advice, wait for version 2k19 if there will be any. This one is not worth to buy it, at least not at full price.
    Expand
  5. Sep 17, 2017
    2
    Was super excited to play 2k on the switch wherever i wanted to, but the port is rushed and buggy. The first problem with 2k is its size, theWas super excited to play 2k on the switch wherever i wanted to, but the port is rushed and buggy. The first problem with 2k is its size, the download is 22.5 GB! For perspective zelda is less than 8, mario vs rabbids is 1.8, and mario odyssey is only 5.5 GBs. And since nintendo moved up the release date random as hell, good luck finding a physical copy yet. Now the start of the game was fine, I started myplayer, made my dude, and played through the intro just fine. But about 30 minutes in the cut scenes become unbearable. The animation runs at half speed, while the audio runs regularly, so you're left watching 30 seconds of slow motion silence every cut scene. These are unskippable cut scenes btw. So i went to MyGM, which was pretty fun for the ten or so hours i played it, until i hit a game breaking bug. When the owners son told me about the team moving to Seattle , I chose to lash out, and then got a loading screen of death. Every time i start the save now, i get a loading screen that never ends. I have more criticism of the actual game, which i still enjoy playing, but all the bugs and unplayable single player modes take precedent. Expand
  6. Dec 3, 2017
    0
    Buyer Beware: if you decide to get the Legend Edition you will not get your 20 weekly MyTeam packs. I have an ongoing case and 2K Support isBuyer Beware: if you decide to get the Legend Edition you will not get your 20 weekly MyTeam packs. I have an ongoing case and 2K Support is unable to resolve it. So essentially I just paid more money for some in case items and a poster. Keep that in mind if you're going to get that edition! The support staff is terrible too unfortunately. Expand
  7. Sep 19, 2017
    0
    The game looks ok, but HDR and better resolution is not the case here. I really prefer visual improvements like xbox one s and pS4 pro do, butThe game looks ok, but HDR and better resolution is not the case here. I really prefer visual improvements like xbox one s and pS4 pro do, but nintendo dont Expand

See all 48 User Reviews