Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Jun 23, 2014
    70
    This HD version of Abyss features some new missions, remastered graphics and the same hardcore gameplay of the original game.
  2. May 15, 2014
    70
    Engaging and very atmospheric adventure recreated from Nintendo DS to Wii U. Relaxing, challenging and fun to play.
  3. May 5, 2014
    70
    Abyss is a small game with limited appeal: tight, difficult controls, a grainy aesthetic, and not much variety in gameplay outside “get to the end of the level.”
  4. May 29, 2014
    60
    Abyss is a quiet anthem to the feeling of excruciating difficulty that went hand-in-hand with so many games from more than two decades ago, a minimalist effort designed to lure the players and make them die a thousand times before they reach a simple, yet very satisfying triumph.
  5. May 27, 2014
    50
    It is unfortunate that the difficulty curve is very high, because despite having a fairly simple mechanics it can satisfy minimally.
  6. May 19, 2014
    50
    Abyss is as “OK” as a game gets. Presentation and gameplay-wise, it’s very unmemorable, and there’s not really any particularly reason for recommending this eShop purchase, save for its very low price.
  7. Official Nintendo Magazine UK
    Aug 8, 2014
    45
    Lacks depth. [Aug 2014, p.86]
User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 8
  2. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. Jan 16, 2015
    7
    What a super little game, very low price on the eshop. I have had loads of fun completing this one, it can be hard at first, when you get usedWhat a super little game, very low price on the eshop. I have had loads of fun completing this one, it can be hard at first, when you get used to the controls it's fun. Even when completed I still go back to get better scores. Super value for money, worth getting for the peanuts price on eshop. Full Review »
  2. Dec 8, 2014
    5
    Personally I enjoyed the concept and even the art work of this game, and for less than 2 pound (which I what it should be worth) you cant goPersonally I enjoyed the concept and even the art work of this game, and for less than 2 pound (which I what it should be worth) you cant go wrong. It just lacks any depth to make it a classic even a cult classic. If your bored out of your mind and have a few pounds in your Nintendo wallet buy this game. In reality though in the end it left me with a feeling of mediocrity, not even close to being a good indie title but if you are a video game addict like me and enjoy a challenge go for this game Full Review »