User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 168 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 30 out of 168

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 20, 2012
    9
    Stop judging the "Wii U version", because this is a normal version, like the 360/PS3/PC versions are. Assassin's Creed III is a great game, from the beginning to the end. Great multiplayer and everything else. Just a few problems, like the inconsistent story. For this version, there are many new features in the Wii U Gamepad. Even if you don't like the use of the new controller, you can use the Pro Controller to play classically. Collapse
  2. Dec 24, 2012
    10
    This game totally rocks. The graphics maybe the same as the 360 and ps3, but with this versions what you see is what you get. On the Wii U, the map and horse calling is on the gamepad. But only on the Wii U can you play the game on the gamepad and not just the t.v.
    Some people may say you can do this on the 360 or ps3, remember the Wii U just came out and its up to the developer how they
    handle the games.

    This is a must buy on the Wii U
    Expand
  3. Dec 26, 2012
    10
    This is as close as a flawless game as it gets, set in one of the biggest game worlds ever, with great graphics, addicting gameplay, fun-filled multiplayer, and just so many different things to do. Its great on the PS3 and 360, but if you have a Wii U I suggest you pick the game up on there, as the large minimap on the gamepad is very useful, and playing it just on the gamepad is extremely satisfying. This is a must-have as it is one of the best video games ever made. Expand
  4. Dec 14, 2012
    9
    AC3 it's just a copy of xbox 360/ps3 game..nothing all..Great game in all home console.. This is an excellent game also on wii u..maybe a little darkness than xbox360 o ps3 version but always a good action game
  5. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    Browsing the reviews here comes to show the amount of hate the Wii U is getting (by the usual fanboys). Firstly, let me just clear this up. This game looks the exact same compared to the PS3 version and the 360 version - some parts even look better. It runs slightly smoother and the texture detail seems improved. The Wii U gamepad functionality is more of a mixed bag. Unfortunately there's not a lot you can do with the gamepad - it only acts as a larger minimap. However, it has its uses. The gamepad really shines because you can play the entirety of the game on the gamepad, rather than on the TV, which is very handy. Expand
  6. Dec 26, 2012
    10
    Just finished the story and it is truly an amazing game! The gameplay is identical to the 360/PS3 versions as is the story. Multiplayer is also pretty fun. The gamepad wasn't really integrated well into the game, but the ability to play it solely on the gamepad could be helpful if there are others wanting to use the TV. This game is a must have for the Wii U.
  7. Mar 8, 2013
    9
    8.5 actually. This is the best assassin's creed to date, period. I have played all of them and this one tops the rest. This does NOT mean that it's perfect, and there are things other AC games did better. As for pros, This game's story is amazing, i love the characters and the plot. The citys are vast and filled with things to do, no other AC cities compare. As for new additions, they are actually a welcome surprise: naval missions are suprisingly fun and rewarding, and the new moves and weapons add some spice. And yet this is not a perfect game. What this game does not contain is great mission design. The missions are frequently built on frustration than logic, and some side missions are annoying. plus, a glitch here and there, that's minor. Overall, This AC is the best AC because it succeeds in making you feel the experience better than any other AC game before. You won't regret playing it, trust me. Expand
  8. Apr 4, 2013
    9
    Assassin's Creed 3 is one of those game I recommend to play on the U even if it's just a port. The game is really good. The environments are lush and somewhat alive, character models are detailed and the combat system is great. This is an open-world game which means that there are tons to do and collect. I recommend it but be sure to play its past installments first if you're going for the story. Great game Ubisoft. Expand
  9. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    Fantastic game. Great voice acting, story, gameplay mechanics, immersion, graphics. Everything is top notch. People giving this a negative review/score have no idea what they are talking about. Somebody thought it was cool to start a "AC3 hate bandwagon" and a lot of people decided to jump on. Most of the negatives scores actually have completely wrong information and/or nitpicks that don't hamper the game. People also seem to hate the new protagonist called Connor, for some inexplicable reason. They are obviously stuck in the past with love for Ezio (protagonist from the last THREE games, may I add) that they cant fathom a new hero having a different personality and morals, values, passions. They simply don't understand him. Some people have also been complaining about glitches, even though I only encountered a couple small ones (I.e. floating weapon) throughout the whole game (keep in mind no game is perfect and these are miniscule). All in all, the game left me wanting more of Connor even after I completed the game (which took me 20 hours or so including side missions and collectibles). Expand
  10. Jul 3, 2013
    9
    I was never a fan of Assasins Creed but this one hooked me up. The other Assasins Creed Games are very repetive but this game is fun though the whole story which is very good COmpared to the XBOX360 and PS3 Version i would recommend buying this one on WiiU. The controler is very helpful Minimap Inventory and switching weapons made easy and not a pain
  11. Oct 17, 2013
    9
    Ac 3 is fantastic for bringing us great gameplay and story The wii u version in particular is my favorite version of the game The story is amazing ,the graphics are breathtaking and this is just a well made game Buy it now
  12. Nov 20, 2012
    0
    Stop judging the "Wii U version", because this is a normal version, like the 360/PS3/PC versions are. Assassin's Creed III is a great game, from the beginning to the end. Great multiplayer and everything else. Just a few problems, like the inconsistent story. For this version, there are many new features in the Wii U Gamepad. Even if you don't like the use of the new controller, you can use the Pro Controller to play classically. Collapse
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Jan 15, 2013
    88
    Almost identical to the Xbox and PS3 versions, but limited GamePad features are disappointing. [Feb 2013, p.75]
  2. Jan 8, 2013
    85
    Assassin's Creed III sure as hell provides one of the best gaming experiences so far on Nintendo's new console. Despite some technical issues the recall value and the hunt for Templars once again round out a great game.
  3. A massive, lovingly crafted game that's stuffed with things to do, but the limited GamePad functionality and linear mission design are disappointing.