User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 152 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 152

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 20, 2012
    9
    Stop judging the "Wii U version", because this is a normal version, like the 360/PS3/PC versions are. Assassin's Creed III is a great game, from the beginning to the end. Great multiplayer and everything else. Just a few problems, like the inconsistent story. For this version, there are many new features in the Wii U Gamepad. Even if you don't like the use of the new controller, you can use the Pro Controller to play classically. Expand
  2. Dec 24, 2012
    10
    This game totally rocks. The graphics maybe the same as the 360 and ps3, but with this versions what you see is what you get. On the Wii U, the map and horse calling is on the gamepad. But only on the Wii U can you play the game on the gamepad and not just the t.v.
    Some people may say you can do this on the 360 or ps3, remember the Wii U just came out and its up to the developer how they
    handle the games.

    This is a must buy on the Wii U
    Expand
  3. Nov 21, 2012
    8
    This is the best version of the game to have in my opinion. The game looks a little softer, maybe a tad more blurry, but it is the same exact game on the other consoles. I did have to use a controller instead of the pad after a while. Like most launch games the pad features did not do anything for me. There were a few glitches though and I don't remember the other versions having this much draw in. But this version seemed to run a tad better than the 360 version. I will take the performance instead of a slight graphical upgrade. But why an 8? Simply put the first 2 hours of the game is boring and the game pad ended up just being a gimmick. Collapse
  4. Nov 26, 2012
    8
    I've never played any other game in the Assassin's Creed series. While I'm probably sure the ideal version of this game is the PC version (For the graphics), I have to say I'm glad I bought the Wii U version. Being able to turn off the on-screen HUD and use the gamepad for your minimap, health bar, etc. is a little thing that makes a big difference to me. There are some glitches (which I understand are not Wii U exclusive), but the game is simply massive, so glitches don't surprise me. I just hope they get fixed, and that isn't something Ubisoft has a good track record of. Still I spent just about every waking moment over Thanksgiving weekend playing this game, so it must be doing a lot of things right. Expand
  5. Nov 28, 2012
    8
    Not sure why people expected anything different from this version just because it was on the Wii U. With it release being so close to the other versions, it's effectively not even a real port, but a true multiplatform release title. Of course it's the same game. But you know what? That's not a bad thing. It's the same entertaining game, even though it has some design and pacing issues, numerous glitches, and a highly unsatisfactory ending. If you have the game already and also happen to own an Wii U, there's no real sense in buying it again. However, if you have a Wii U and didn't buy it on another platform -- namely if you're a series' fan -- you should pick up this game. Just keep its flaws in mind. Expand
  6. Dec 26, 2012
    10
    This is as close as a flawless game as it gets, set in one of the biggest game worlds ever, with great graphics, addicting gameplay, fun-filled multiplayer, and just so many different things to do. Its great on the PS3 and 360, but if you have a Wii U I suggest you pick the game up on there, as the large minimap on the gamepad is very useful, and playing it just on the gamepad is extremely satisfying. This is a must-have as it is one of the best video games ever made. Expand
  7. Dec 14, 2012
    9
    AC3 it's just a copy of xbox 360/ps3 game..nothing all..Great game in all home console.. This is an excellent game also on wii u..maybe a little darkness than xbox360 o ps3 version but always a good action game
  8. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    Browsing the reviews here comes to show the amount of hate the Wii U is getting (by the usual fanboys). Firstly, let me just clear this up. This game looks the exact same compared to the PS3 version and the 360 version - some parts even look better. It runs slightly smoother and the texture detail seems improved. The Wii U gamepad functionality is more of a mixed bag. Unfortunately there's not a lot you can do with the gamepad - it only acts as a larger minimap. However, it has its uses. The gamepad really shines because you can play the entirety of the game on the gamepad, rather than on the TV, which is very handy. Expand
  9. Dec 26, 2012
    10
    Just finished the story and it is truly an amazing game! The gameplay is identical to the 360/PS3 versions as is the story. Multiplayer is also pretty fun. The gamepad wasn't really integrated well into the game, but the ability to play it solely on the gamepad could be helpful if there are others wanting to use the TV. This game is a must have for the Wii U.
  10. Nov 27, 2012
    5
    this game is the same as on the Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3 only shows the map and the goal and no more, is equal in every way than the other consoles
  11. Nov 29, 2012
    7
    Well. I've disliked all of the AC series since after the second one came out. Why? It's C.O.D., but with a better story and game play. They just kept taking the same graphics, same physics, and well, same everything and re-releasing it with a continued story, a new map and a few new weapons. Now, I love the story of AC, so that puts it at 5/10, and I gave this one two extra points because of it having a more interesting plot, and well, I freaking LOVE the naval battles. Now I'm not saying the AC series is bad, it's just repetitive and doesn't deserve a ton of respect for recycling the same game. Expand
  12. Feb 18, 2013
    2
    This game is really just a new coat of paint for previous games. There is no new innovation that makes the game more worth while. This game adds even more clunky mini game type parts that are unresponsive with poor controls and extremely shallow, shadow issues seem to ruin the possibility of thinking this game might have descent graphics. The controls work some time and in other times they will work so horribly that you won't have to retry just to figure out how to get the controls to work how they should have in the first place. The only thing that people have been enjoying is the story which is exceedingly convoluted and pandering to a certain conspiracy theory type of people. Expand
  13. Mar 8, 2013
    9
    8.5 actually. This is the best assassin's creed to date, period. I have played all of them and this one tops the rest. This does NOT mean that it's perfect, and there are things other AC games did better. As for pros, This game's story is amazing, i love the characters and the plot. The citys are vast and filled with things to do, no other AC cities compare. As for new additions, they are actually a welcome surprise: naval missions are suprisingly fun and rewarding, and the new moves and weapons add some spice. And yet this is not a perfect game. What this game does not contain is great mission design. The missions are frequently built on frustration than logic, and some side missions are annoying. plus, a glitch here and there, that's minor. Overall, This AC is the best AC because it succeeds in making you feel the experience better than any other AC game before. You won't regret playing it, trust me. Expand
  14. Feb 7, 2013
    7
    Amazing graphics, great start for the game. But its still got the same old issues as any other game. And i really dont like connor. Hes whiny, and a bit stupid if im honest. I got really bored and shelved this game until i got nothing better to play, and thats going to be a while concidering the stellar catalouge of games out atm.
  15. Jan 25, 2013
    8
    AC3 brings a lot to the table with new mechanics, an amazing over world, a fun hunting distraction, and the WiiU version is just as good as any other. Being able to play on the Gamepad is a blast and with so much to do, you'll appreciate being able to play it in bed.
  16. Jan 18, 2013
    8
    This is a great game, but its without a doubt, the worst in the series. As a stand alone game, it feels more like a GTA sandbox than an AC one, with a protagonist of grayish morality that works with many factions (Assassins, Templars, British, Patriots), without developing a significant bond with any of them, each one represented by a set of quirky or interesting NPC that give you an errand, even the "traitor figure", the one that is friendly at first, introduces you to the world, betrays you and is confronted in the end (Dimitry, Gary, etc), can be seen in Charles Lee. To this, one must add the more horizontal focus on the game and the fact that the horse is your main transportation method. ENVIROMENT and SETTING: the colonial period as a setting is a bad choice, since firearms have been introduced in previous games, the time period brings nothing new, the architecture is the same in both Boston and New York, specially when it comes to viewpoints as they are the same goddamn church, and the only variation is the mast in beacon hill. The frontier can feel claustrophobic and slow at times specially during winter, since you are surrounded by vertical elements that you cant always climb. There are places that look gorgeous, like the fields of New York, but the game doesnt encourage their exploration, they are dead space. Even as a history element, it could be argued that Desmond and company must search in america because they are pinned there, but they seem to change locations with ease. MAP: the map has its problems, as certain mission only show up when discovered, and it is difficult to distinguish an explored place from an unexplored one. COMBAT: The main innovation is regenerative health and the different strategies for different enemies, however health only goes up outside of combat, and most enemies can only be attacked in one way, leaving no room for variation of combos. WEAPONS: Unlike previous AC games, most weapons are unlocked since the begining for you to buy, in the end you realize that the best weapons are acquired early on, and are even cheaper than most of them. Your FISTS are FREE and are EQUALLY EFFECTIVE. STEALTH: The AC franchise is known for the ability to blend in the crowd, but in this installment all the variety introduced in the last 3 games seems pointless, when your are chased by guards and decide to hide in a bench, well, or haystack, one will always stay behind and search your hiding spot, eventually finding you if you dont kill him, and if you do the others might see you, thus making it more effective to just kill them all in place. You can cross through whole buildings to evade platoons, but chances are there is another one on the other side, and such places require you to stop and look for them. You can pass near "Vigilantes" to stop them, but they are few and far in between. Only one NPC is required to blend. The detection rate has gone up so climbing rooftops can be hard withouth alerting the whole city. SHOPS: Since AC 2 there have been plenty of different shops each with its own merchandise, however in AC3, they all share the same inventory, and have to be discovered by entering them, all the shops in the world are basically one. SIDE-MISSIONS: These are the core gameplay of a free roaming game, and its where AC3 fails hard, as they interconect and the pacing of their introduction render some pointless, mainly due to relying on the crafting system which really only progresses with the story, for example Almanacs must be chased after, normally with a conga line of red arrows, collecting them unlocks RECIPES with high requirements and when you craft them they are DECORATIVE INVENTIONS, that you cant use in any way. Overall, the unlocks consist in outfits, but most of them dont carry the Assassin theme. In summary it feels that they build the game around the crafting, hunting and naval mission systems, rewarding you with the activity itself rather than a final prize. STORY: This game learned nothing from its predecesor, having instead 3 protagonists, the intro confuses more than anything and only shows how little development Desmond has, his sections are walking from one cutscene to another, where the delivery come from an obviously evil "ghost"?, they made the terrible mistake of using a character from a tie-in comic as a pivotal one, mr Cross, whose appearence is sudden and everyone seems to know him, and a lil' wiki check on him only comes up with better material for possible games. Haytham and Connor's history is disjointed and shallow in importance, the first one isn't the antagonist, an exists solely for a plot twist in the begining and to reinforce the templar/assassin dichotomy, as for the latter, he shifts both his alliance and his hatred of his situation so much that he just seems hateful for no reason. Expand
  17. Mar 5, 2013
    8
    I love this game, but there isn't enough to do after the main missions. There needs to be more and better assassination missions(I want to fel like a real assassin). I would like to have more exploration as well; more to do in the world and more places to explore in the outside world and the cities.
  18. Mar 14, 2013
    8
    Assassin's Creed III is a solid title for Wii U with some small but nice GamePad features and the solid gameplay that the series is known for, The Wii U version is very similar to the other versions of the game with no massive Gamepad functionality, It mainly provides you with a map which is still nice to have, the story is decent but a bit inconsistent with the main issue being the new main character called Conner, who is generally an uninteresting character who constantly changes his mind.. he just isn't very interesting and a lot of the supporting cast is uninteresting as well, Seeing all the great characters in previous AC games would make you think that would be the case here, but it isn't. Gameplay has some nice additions with it's fast dual wield combat and being able to traverse through the forests of the frontier with ease, the naval combat is a real standout here with some intense battles with great controls.

    If you like the Assassin's Creed series you will most likely like this game, and if you are a Wii U owner getting into the series for the first time you will find enjoyable gameplay and a solid multiplayer component but it is not as good as previous AC titles. The American Revolution is a great setting for the game but it was not used as well as it could have been. Even so this is one of the best launch titles for Wii U and definitely worth a play.
    Expand
  19. Sep 19, 2013
    8
    ACIII is a good game with the potential to be a great game. Aspects such as combat and the story's setting are fun and intriguing, yet other aspects such as the open-world concept and controls are flawed. While visiting historic Boston is a treat, playing missions in the modern world is far less interesting. I found the characters interesting, but I felt no connection to the modern world crew. Stealth missions can be entertaining while blending-in with ordinary citizens, but it's not always easy to determine whether you're under cover or not. I think this game is worthy of a playthrough especially at a discounted price on any console; and given the WiiU's thin library, this is probably one of the best games available on the Nintendo console. Expand
  20. Apr 5, 2013
    7
    The Wii U version of the game is surprisingly exactly the same as the other versions, for a newly launched console that is impressive. After playing the other versions, I am impressed with how the port turned out. The game in general though doesn't live up to what most wanted. The gorgeous graphics and enormous environments are an absolute blast to look at and explore. However even with some day 1 patches and other patches over the past couple months, the game still plays very roughly. While the free-run works slightly better than it did, trying to get it to work out in the frontier up in the trees is even more finicky than up on the rooftops. Combat is basically attacking and countering over and over again until everyone's dead. Sure you could probably do some cool tricks, but most are pretty context sensitive. Missions feel like they weren't play tested, many times I was at a complete loss as to what to do. Multiplayer on the Wii U version is still pretty dead, not a whole lot of people play it compared to the Xbox and even Ps3 versions. Overall the games presentation is a massive step forward, but the gameplay has some issues to work out in AC4 Expand
  21. Apr 4, 2013
    9
    Assassin's Creed 3 is one of those game I recommend to play on the U even if it's just a port. The game is really good. The environments are lush and somewhat alive, character models are detailed and the combat system is great. This is an open-world game which means that there are tons to do and collect. I recommend it but be sure to play its past installments first if you're going for the story. Great game Ubisoft. Expand
  22. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    Fantastic game. Great voice acting, story, gameplay mechanics, immersion, graphics. Everything is top notch. People giving this a negative review/score have no idea what they are talking about. Somebody thought it was cool to start a "AC3 hate bandwagon" and a lot of people decided to jump on. Most of the negatives scores actually have completely wrong information and/or nitpicks that don't hamper the game. People also seem to hate the new protagonist called Connor, for some inexplicable reason. They are obviously stuck in the past with love for Ezio (protagonist from the last THREE games, may I add) that they cant fathom a new hero having a different personality and morals, values, passions. They simply don't understand him. Some people have also been complaining about glitches, even though I only encountered a couple small ones (I.e. floating weapon) throughout the whole game (keep in mind no game is perfect and these are miniscule). All in all, the game left me wanting more of Connor even after I completed the game (which took me 20 hours or so including side missions and collectibles). Expand
  23. Aug 7, 2013
    7
    A decir verdad, esta es la mejor versión de todas, con esto Ubisoft demuestra que si es posible hacer buenos títulos para Wii U. Entonces ¿Por qué le di un 7? Simplemente no es el tipo de juego que me gusta jugar, es la 9º entrega de una saga que saca dos juegos por año y esta siendo terriblemente sobreexplotada.
  24. Jun 14, 2013
    4
    This was a major step backwards, a failing for this up until now, pretty good franchise.

    The colonial envrionment does not work. There are simply too few buildings for the parkour style of this game to work. They add tree-climbing, but that is rather artificial. With ridiculous clotheslines and other devices to try to bridge the gaps between the two.

    The story is awful, long and
    boring. You play the first few HOURS of the game, just walking between characters so they can tell you the plot. It takes multiple hours to even get free of the hand-holdy tutorial style of the early chapters. Enjoy the cruise to the new world ;)

    On the Wii U the game fails a little more. The gamepad ads nothing meaningful and is wasted.

    The story itself is really bad too.

    First off all, this is assassin's creed 3. Sequel to Assassin's creed 2. Yet, the lager plot has moved on during Brotherhood and Revelations to the point that I am lost. The little recap they do isn't sufficient or well done, and it leaves with the sense that this game series is about to get SERIOUS.... right until they drop you in the animus again and your realize that was all just sensationalized hype.

    The inclusion of guns and tomahawks doesn't work well either. The controls are poor (maybe a Wii U issue) to operate them. It's not intuitive and requires a button series combination that if done wrong, instead of reloaded weapon, you just drop it on the floor.

    Worst in the series.
    Expand
  25. Jul 3, 2013
    9
    I was never a fan of Assasins Creed but this one hooked me up. The other Assasins Creed Games are very repetive but this game is fun though the whole story which is very good COmpared to the XBOX360 and PS3 Version i would recommend buying this one on WiiU. The controler is very helpful Minimap Inventory and switching weapons made easy and not a pain
  26. Oct 17, 2013
    9
    Ac 3 is fantastic for bringing us great gameplay and story The wii u version in particular is my favorite version of the game The story is amazing ,the graphics are breathtaking and this is just a well made game Buy it now
  27. Feb 12, 2014
    8
    Not really what I wanted after beating AC4 last week, but I beat the game in only a week, so that's saying something. A great game, but not a perfect one.
  28. Jan 8, 2014
    8
    A well done action-adventure game. The visuals are very impressive, the story is great, the characters are memorable (and by that i mean Haytham Kenway), the music is good and it's just a lot of fun exploring the environments. However, the game has it's fair share of bugs, and Connor is rather forgettable compared to Haytham who is a well developed character. Aside from that, this game is worth-buying. Expand
  29. Nov 21, 2012
    0
    This is the best version of the game to have in my opinion. The game looks a little softer, maybe a tad more blurry, but it is the same exact game on the other consoles. I did have to use a controller instead of the pad after a while. Like most launch games the pad features did not do anything for me. There were a few glitches though and I don't remember the other versions having this much draw in. But this version seemed to run a tad better than the 360 version. I will take the performance instead of a slight graphical upgrade. But why an 8? Simply put the first 2 hours of the game is boring and the game pad ended up just being a gimmick. Collapse
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Jan 15, 2013
    88
    Almost identical to the Xbox and PS3 versions, but limited GamePad features are disappointing. [Feb 2013, p.75]
  2. Jan 8, 2013
    85
    Assassin's Creed III sure as hell provides one of the best gaming experiences so far on Nintendo's new console. Despite some technical issues the recall value and the hunt for Templars once again round out a great game.
  3. A massive, lovingly crafted game that's stuffed with things to do, but the limited GamePad functionality and linear mission design are disappointing.